We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort Monterey

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort Monterey to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort Monterey
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2600 Sand Dunes Drive, Monterey, CA 93940-3838   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #33 of 53 hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersBronze level
Yellow Springs, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Just returned from a week long stay at the Best Western Monterey Beach Resort. The view was truly amazing, wildlife abundant, secluded yet a hop-skip-and a jump from Downtown Monterey, (even a lovely pubic walking/running/biking path to get there). Friendly helpful staff and prompt response to requests. Restaurant food was both creative and delicious, but a bit pricey. Rooms were comfortable and clean - be sure to book a beach front and be lulled to sleep by the sound of waves. This is the only hotel in Monterey that is on the beach and I wouldn't trade the location for a five star hotel any day. This lovely hidden gem is definitely on my list to return to.

Room Tip: During their updates, insure your room is booked away from the construction area. Also, the sea wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort Monterey, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Deb, we appreciate your wonderful review of our hotel. More importantly, we are happy to hear that you had such a fantastic week-long stay with us. We hope you enjoyed your time in Monterey, and we look forward to having you as a guest again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,202 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    345
    403
    249
    126
    79
See reviews for
404
427
42
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

Got a good price for two nights, bed very comfortable, excellent 42 inch tv, and high end lather bath amenities, all better than i expected for the price. Only thing that makes drags it down is motel style bathroom but that's expected at this price point.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort Monterey, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear you had such a great visit. We thank you for taking a moment to leave us your feedback and we hope you enjoyed your time in Monterey. We hope you have a chance to visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Mids
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

You couldn't ask for better views, out hotel room door opened out onto the Pacific, truly stunning for the price!

All the public areas - outdoor seating, bar, pool, hot tub were all very well presented. The rooms themselves were fairly functional, but why spend too much time in them, the beach is just outside!

The staff were all very helpful and for what we paid we were more than happy.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort Monterey, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and our fantastic beach location. We appreciate hearing guest feedback and we hope you have a chance to visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

You can't do much better than the views that you will have from the ocean front rooms! Great setting with comfortable but somewhat dated rooms. This is our second visit and we will be back... There is nothing like the sound of the rolling waves to lull you to sleep.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort Monterey, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for sharing your hotel experience with us. We love hearing from return guests and we are happy to hear that our fantastic view keeps you coming back to stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Lake County, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

My husband and I had a fantastic time this October at the Beach Resort. We love this hotel so much that we make it our destination hotel vacation spot every year. Besides the beautiful locations, the staff is very friendly and helpful (especially, Genevieve, Mitch, Vivian, and Sashi). There is so much to do in this area and then you can just have a relaxing day at the beach, which is super beautiful with divine sunsets. The combination of the gorgeous hotel, the great staff, and then having a tasty breakfast watching the dolphins, seals, and pelicans cannot be beat. This hotel makes a wonderful home base. You can just hang out and listen to the surf and watch the mesmerizing ocean and wildlife all day. The manager, Juan Ramirez, told us about future plans to even improve the hotel so we can hardly wait to return next year. We recommend this hotel to all our family and friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort Monterey, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Judy, we are so fortunate to have you and your husband as guests year after year. We thank you for taking the time to leave us your review. More importantly, we are glad our staff makes you feel so welcome and that you enjoy our beautiful location. We indeed are in the beginning stages of hotel improvements, so we hope this makes your future stays even more better. We look forward to seeing you again and we appreciate your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

This is the third time I've stayed at this hotel and I never get tired of it. The biggest draw for me is that it's right on the beach which I had a wonderful run on today! Saw otters and dolphins in the surf as well. Great wifi, friendly staff and very comfortable beds. It's an older hotel, but is very clean and updated. Only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is that I have been unable to get an ocean view room. Also close 10 minute drive to Cannery Row, aquarium and other tourist sites. I'll be back again next year for sure!

Room Tip: Reserve well in advance to get an ocean side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort Monterey, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for being a return guest of ours! It's always nice to hear when guests like to come back due to their hotel experience with us. We thank you for taking a moment to leave us your review and we look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Unfortunately we only had one night in the Best Western during our California road trip, but chose it because of its fantastic location - right on the beach. If you like going to sleep to the sound of the surf, this is the place for you.
Pros:
Fantastic location with awesome views of Monterey bay and the penninsular.
Easy to find and just a short drive from Monterey itself.
Fourth floor restaurant serves excellent food with a terrific view.
Our sea front room was spacious, clean and comfortable - slept very well.
Cons:
We stayed in 8 hotels in California/Nevada/Arizona and this was the only one where we had to pay to park ($17 a night)! Even in LA and SFO the parking was free and considering it is well out of town, this is a bit of a cheek.
It was also the only hotel where we had to pay extra for breakfast. My eggs and bacon came cold and I had to send it back - not great for $7.
The hotel is showing its age and is suffering from the exposed location and salt atmosphere.

If you don't mind a little shabby and being out of town, then the location makes this hotel an excellent choice for a quiet and relaxing stay. Not that cheap when you factor in the parking and breakfast though.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort Monterey, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Stephen, thank you for being a guest of ours and for taking time to leave us your thoughtful feedback. We are glad you enjoyed our excellent beach location and comfortable room accommodations. Like you, we wish you could've had a longer stay. We appreciate you sharing your concerns as well and please know that we take all of our guests' comments into careful consideration. We hope you have a chance to visit Monterey and stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort Monterey

Address: 2600 Sand Dunes Drive, Monterey, CA 93940-3838
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Monterey
#13 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort Monterey 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monterey's only beach-front full service hotel, The Beach Resort Monterey boasts some of the most expansive views available of the Monterey Bay. Blending California beach casual with superior comfort and professionalism, the Beach Resort Monterey offers a relaxing alternative from the distractions of downtown, with the convenience of being only minutes away from the areas favorite attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Beach Resort Monterey Hotel Monterey
Monterey Best Western
Best Western Monterey Beach Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort Monterey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.