We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right on the beach!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Unscripted Monterey Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Unscripted Monterey Bay to your Saves list
Unscripted Monterey Bay
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2600 Sand Dunes Drive, Monterey, CA 93940-3838 (Formerly Monterey Beach Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 54 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersBronze level
Portland, OR
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Right on the beach!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

This is the third time I've stayed at this hotel and I never get tired of it. The biggest draw for me is that it's right on the beach which I had a wonderful run on today! Saw otters and dolphins in the surf as well. Great wifi, friendly staff and very comfortable beds. It's an older hotel, but is very clean and updated. Only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is that I have been unable to get an ocean view room. Also close 10 minute drive to Cannery Row, aquarium and other tourist sites. I'll be back again next year for sure!

Room Tip: Reserve well in advance to get an ocean side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Unscripted Monterey Bay, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for being a return guest of ours! It's always nice to hear when guests like to come back due to their hotel experience with us. We thank you for taking a moment to leave us your review and we look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    504
    308
    160
    102
See reviews for
507
566
53
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Unfortunately we only had one night in the Best Western during our California road trip, but chose it because of its fantastic location - right on the beach. If you like going to sleep to the sound of the surf, this is the place for you.
Pros:
Fantastic location with awesome views of Monterey bay and the penninsular.
Easy to find and just a short drive from Monterey itself.
Fourth floor restaurant serves excellent food with a terrific view.
Our sea front room was spacious, clean and comfortable - slept very well.
Cons:
We stayed in 8 hotels in California/Nevada/Arizona and this was the only one where we had to pay to park ($17 a night)! Even in LA and SFO the parking was free and considering it is well out of town, this is a bit of a cheek.
It was also the only hotel where we had to pay extra for breakfast. My eggs and bacon came cold and I had to send it back - not great for $7.
The hotel is showing its age and is suffering from the exposed location and salt atmosphere.

If you don't mind a little shabby and being out of town, then the location makes this hotel an excellent choice for a quiet and relaxing stay. Not that cheap when you factor in the parking and breakfast though.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Unscripted Monterey Bay, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Stephen, thank you for being a guest of ours and for taking time to leave us your thoughtful feedback. We are glad you enjoyed our excellent beach location and comfortable room accommodations. Like you, we wish you could've had a longer stay. We appreciate you sharing your concerns as well and please know that we take all of our guests' comments into careful consideration. We hope you have a chance to visit Monterey and stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Front Desk staff was very friendly and helpful, room was good. The view from the Lobby is AWESOME. Great food and service in the restaurant. If you want a great ocean view and a long walk on the beach this is the place to go.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Unscripted Monterey Bay, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Teasha, thank you for being a recent guest of ours and for taking a moment to leave us your comments. Our beach view is indeed awesome and we are so pleased you thought so too. We hope you enjoyed your time and invite you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Great location, the rooms aren't as up to date as I had thought, but the staff is friendly! It is a great location, easy to get to other parts of Monterey. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a beach front hotel!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Unscripted Monterey Bay, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Maile, we thank you for being a guest and for taking the time to leave a review. We are glad you enjoyed our great beach location and enjoyed your time in Monterey. We welcome you back should your future travel ever bring you back this way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gleneden Beach, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

The hotel is wonderful, the lounge overlooks the Monterey Peninsula and is breathtaking. The pool is heated and the property is one to visit. We visit California often and try to make this one of our stops. You can walk the beach, bike the trails, even walk to the aquarium if you are up to an adventure.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Unscripted Monterey Bay, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Carol, thank you for your kind review of our hotel. We are glad to have you as a return guest and we are happy to hear that you enjoy so many aspects of what our location has to offer. We appreciate your review, and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We spent a wonderful weekend with 3 of our grandchildren at the Best Westen Beach Resort in Monterey, CA. We have been going to this hotel for over 30 years and are always impressed with the staff and the amenities of the hotel. The restaurant has a great view and the food was great. The service matched the food. We love hearing the surf break all night long, it soothes us to sleep. our children and now our grand children love this hotel. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Unscripted Monterey Bay, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Robert, our sincere thanks and appreciation for being such a loyal guest of ours over the years! We thank you for taking a moment to leave us your kind review and we most certainly look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennett Square, PA USA
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

My husband and I had a most unfortunate stay at this disaster of a "hotel". ....this facility is set up as a motel with doors opening to the outdoors.

On the plus side ~ the location is very nice. Located right on the beach, the ocean surf is just steps away from the building. Also, the maintenance, housekeeping and bellboy staffs were excellent.

Now for the negative side....
Having flown from the east coast, we arrived at the hotel in the late afternoon after a long drive from SFO. We were given an ocean view room (#262) and were told that there were some renovations taking place on the garden side of the building so we might hear a little noise. A little noise??? I awoke to jack hammering as well as sawing going on in the room immediately behind ours around 8:30-9:00 am the next morning. I was not a happy camper when I went to the front desk to inform them of this rude awakening. Their response was along the lines of, "well, weren't you informed that there would be construction going on?" Excuse me??? Hotels are supposed to be places of peace and solitude, not major construction sites. The front desk was by no means apologetic, but did say they would move us to a new room around noon time. Also, the block of rooms where #262 was located had an unsightly plywood sub-flooring outside of the rooms. We had difficulty getting the heating unit to work when we checked in, so maintenance came to our room immediately and took care of the problem. I asked the front desk to be sure that the heating unit worked in the new room they were going to move us in to. They guaranteed it would.

Three hours later we were moved to room #214 (ocean view) on a much quieter side of the hotel. Because the weather was quite chilly I attempted to turn on the heating unit. Guess what? It didn't work! Maintenance came to the new room and informed me that they needed to replace the entire unit. So much for trusting the front desk when they promised the heat would work.... This maintenance man was also very nice and replaced the unit within 15 or so minutes. After that everything was fine with this new room.

Both rooms are extremely outdated as far as furnishings are concerned. Carpeting was frayed and pulling away from the corners and long walls. Also, the vent in the bathrooms of rooms #262 & #214 were plugged with lint and dust. Not very clean IMHO.

We also had a most unpleasant run-in with the bartender in the hotel. We had brought our own can of adult beverage into the LOBBY to meet friends for a drink (which our friends did order from the bar at the far end of the lobby). We were by no means sitting in the bar area so did not think this was a problem until the bartender came over and told us to leave because personal beverages were forbidden in the bar; we could go outside on the deck to drink them. Had they used a little decorum, they would have kindly asked us not to drink our own beverages in the bar after we finished these. They could have even poured our beverages into a glass and let it go at that.

Parking fees of $17 per day are excessive as there is nowhere else for guests to park their cars in this extremely remote location.

My husband filled out a comment card on line with the hotel and only received a generic response. He wasn't too happy with their lack of concern.

Personally, I think this hotel should shut down during renovations. It got our visit in CA off to a very poor start due to the loud construction and most insensitive staff working behind the front desk and bar.

Please stay elsewhere until this facility gets their act together.

Room Tip: Select another hotel if you want a good room and pleasant stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Unscripted Monterey Bay, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Hello, thank you for being a guest of our hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our great location, but we are sorry that the rest of your experience did not reflect that same sentiment. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience/disturbance you experienced while our hotel undergoes construction. We are working on updating our space for the benefit of guests like you. We do appreciate your feedback and we appreciate you bringing your concerns to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Unscripted Monterey Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Unscripted Monterey Bay

Address: 2600 Sand Dunes Drive, Monterey, CA 93940-3838 (Formerly Monterey Beach Resort)
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#10 Green Hotel in Monterey
#18 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Unscripted Monterey Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into Monterey’s only beachfront resort and approach the front desk where our charming staff will check you into one of our 196 spacious rooms. What will you do next? That’s entirely up to you. At Unscripted Hotels, we offer engaging alternatives to the typical hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, EasyToBook and BookIt.com so you can book your Unscripted Monterey Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Beach Resort Monterey Hotel Monterey
Monterey Best Western
Best Western Monterey Beach Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Unscripted Monterey Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.