We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay for the beach location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Unscripted Monterey Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Unscripted Monterey Bay to your Saves list
Unscripted Monterey Bay
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2600 Sand Dunes Drive, Monterey, CA 93940-3838 (Formerly Monterey Beach Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 54 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dallas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Stay for the beach location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed at this hotel based on reviews, location, and price. Front desk personnel were all very friendly. The lobby area is big with wide open views of the Pacific Ocean. We were assigned a room downstairs originally, but I asked for a different room, preferably on the second floor for two reasons - the original room looked dirty and the door didn't close very well. The room we finally stayed in was on the second floor and was cleaner, with bigger blankets, and yes, the door closed easily. We have stayed at various hotels close to the beach and we basically experience the same thing over and over again - the rooms are usually older, and yes, there will be sand almost everywhere, especially in the bathroom tub. The bathtub in our room didn't drain very well. I assume it's because it has accumulated lots of sand in the drain. Other than these, we really stayed at this hotel for its location and the price we were paying. We're not staying there forever. We enjoyed the beach, the sand, Monterey hangouts, and the restaurant upstairs. We will most likely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: The windows facing the beach are by the hallway. Always use the sunshade during the day for privacy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Unscripted Monterey Bay, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for the review. We apologize for any inconveniences you may have encountered with your room during your stay. Since we are the closest hotel to the Pacific coast in Monterey, we do have some of the characteristics that come along with coastal accommodations. We will look into making some changes regarding the slow drains and hard-to-open door. We have different room packages available like garden view and ocean view rooms. Perhaps another type of room would better suit your vacation needs. We would love to have you and your family stay at our hotel in the future. We appreciate your thoughtful input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    503
    307
    160
    101
See reviews for
507
565
52
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Golden, Colorado, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

When I arrived the staff was welcoming and helpful in explaining amenities and the location of restaurants etc. Glenn at the Front desk was helpful answering questions. The Room I stayed in was immaculately clean and inviting. Room Service was overpriced. The food at the Cafe Beach Restaurant was reasonable. The cheeseburgers, garlic fries and strawberry chicken salad were wonderful. The panoramic views of the ocean and the sound of the waves was renewing. The staff provided quality service and added to an enjoyable visit.
Walking on the beach taking in the sea air and sea life was serene. I appreciated Joaquin at the Restaurant explaining the history and environment of Monterey. I would stay here again and again for business or with family.

Room Tip: The 2nd, 3rd and 4th floors are great. Construction is ongoing so ask where the work is conducted t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Unscripted Monterey Bay, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for the fantastic review. We are thrilled that you had an amazing stay at our accommodations during your business trip. The Cafe Beach Restaurant inside our hotel is so unique to the area so we are pleased that you liked the cuisine as well as the ambiance. Next time you dine with us, visit Sandals Lounge for specialty cocktails and gourmet pizzas--our lounge also overlooks the breath-taking beach scene. We will definitely let Joaquin and Glenn know that their kind assistance was thoroughly appreciated. Thank you for choosing Best Western Plus for your business accommodations. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The location of this hotel and the perfect seaview are great, but the quality of the total offering is, certainly in relation to the price far too low! The hotel is far from clean and our room did not smell good at all. The small rooms are noisy and and the paid parking a car on a very unclean parking cost is a shame. The restaurant at the top floor also has a great view, but the price/ relation is low.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Unscripted Monterey Bay, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for the response. We apologize for any inconveniences you may have encountered during your stay. Our seaview is the perfect backdrop for a vacation to Monterey, however, the ocean smell can be a bit overpowering for some guests. We do have larger rooms that would be ideal for your next visit. Again, we do sympathize with any inconveniences you found within our hotel. We would love another opportunity to show you just how special your experience can be while staying with the Best Western Plus in Monterey. Please visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanford, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed at the Best Western Plus Monterey in June for two nights. The plus side of this hotel is that it is right on a beautiful beach. The ocean on the beach is clean and blue. If the beach is top on your list then this hotel will not disappoint. We had an ocean front room and we literally only needed to walk out our hotel room and down the steps to the ocean. Perfect and easy!
The other plus of this hotel is that the staff was very nice and the grounds were very well kept and just gorgeous views of the ocean from almost anywhere in the hotel.
However, the room was below average for a hotel. The room was really tiny and the bathroom was very squished. There was a fridge in the room but it didn't work. And there was no microwave, this proved to be really inconvenient when we wanted to heat up our dinner one night. For two adults and two kids we found this room to be almost too tiny to overlook. The quality of the room I would rate as poor. The furnishings were outdated, the carpet was tattered and the door had to be slammed in order to shut properly.
The pool area was nice but the fence surrounding the pool was rotted and falling apart. The hot tub was cracked and had mold and was not kept very hot. (We are HUGE on hot tubs!)
The pool was "heated," but it was still only about 78 degrees. Still quite a chill.
Overall if the beach is what you are looking for this place is one of the best I've stayed at. Although if your big on quality and heated pools and HOT hot tubs...you might be disappointed.

Room Tip: An ocean view room makes the big difference between a beachfront hotel and a cheap, rundown motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBRHotelManager, Manager at Unscripted Monterey Bay, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thank you for your review. We sincerely apologize that we were unable to live up to your expectations. We would love to hear more about your experiences and hope that you'll contact the Front Office to discuss them further. We will certainly look into the maintenance issues you came across, and address them with our team. We hope that you'll join us again soon, and we look forward to your return to Monterey!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia Station, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This property was fantastic. It was wonderful to walk out the back of the property and listen to the waves hitting the beach. It was wonderful to wake up early a.m. and stroll the bay. While I personally did not dine on-site, all my guests enjoyed breakfast in the on-site restaurant. This property is secluded from the "chain hotels" in city center and does require a vehicle for tourist destinations such as Fisherman's Wharf, Cannery Row, and best of all the 17 mile drive. If back in Monterey, we would stay here again. You can't put a price on relaxation which this property delivered!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick S, General Manager at Unscripted Monterey Bay, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Kelli P,
Thank you so much for your great review - I am happy to hear that you & your guests enjoyed the property, and we hope to be able to welcome you back in the future.

With warm regards,

Patrick Sheridan
general Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel in monterey its on a nice location and has beach access also has pet friendly rooms we checked in our check in was quick friendly and. A pleasure our room was a king size bed ocean view room we also got a couple discounts upon checkout. The staff is friendly courteous and professional . The room was very nice we will definitely be staying here again when in monterey its our new spot thanks again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick S, General Manager at Unscripted Monterey Bay, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Paul,
Thank you very much for your 5 star review - I am happy to hear that you will be returning to the Beach Resort in the future.

Life is Better at the Beach,

Regards,

Patrick Sheridan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, Ca.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Our first choice is always Best Western Beach Resort. We have stayed there for approximately 15 yrs. We love it. There is the beach, restaurant and lounge with fireplaces and lots of window views. We can walk the beach for miles and We love the sounds of the waves at night.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick S, General Manager at Unscripted Monterey Bay, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Robert,
Thank you so much for your great review - I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, and look forward to your return.

With warm regards,

Patrick Sheridan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Unscripted Monterey Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Unscripted Monterey Bay

Address: 2600 Sand Dunes Drive, Monterey, CA 93940-3838 (Formerly Monterey Beach Resort)
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#10 Green Hotel in Monterey
#18 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Unscripted Monterey Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into Monterey’s only beachfront resort and approach the front desk where our charming staff will check you into one of our 196 spacious rooms. What will you do next? That’s entirely up to you. At Unscripted Hotels, we offer engaging alternatives to the typical hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Priceline and EasyToBook so you can book your Unscripted Monterey Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Beach Resort Monterey Hotel Monterey
Monterey Best Western
Best Western Monterey Beach Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Unscripted Monterey Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.