We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for your money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Unscripted Monterey Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Unscripted Monterey Bay to your Saves list
Unscripted Monterey Bay
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2600 Sand Dunes Drive, Monterey, CA 93940-3838 (Formerly Monterey Beach Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 54 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersBronze level
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good value for your money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Great location at The beach, Nice rooms, clean, Nicely decorated, big tv. The ocean at night can be a little bit noisy.overall, We had a Great stay. Reception personnel was very friendly. Not located in city center so a Car is probably best.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Unscripted Monterey Bay, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thank you for a great review! We are pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We sincerely appreciate your comments and feedback. We do apologize for any noise issues you encountered. It can be difficult for light sleepers being so close to the ocean. We hope that you'll join us again soon, and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    503
    307
    160
    101
See reviews for
507
565
52
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

The only hotel I booked myself having trawled TA for somewhere close enough for SFO and for us to visit Salinas, Monterey and Carmel.
We were not disappointed and it proved to be ideal for us at the end of our fly drive trip. You know what you are getting with Best Western franchises and they rarely (never so far for us) fail to deliver. Large room overlooking the pool with all the amenities we want as travellers. Only slight downside was worn and sticky carpet but again for one night ok. This hotel is on Monterey Bay and right on the beach at intersection with US1. Perfect night’s sleep and no road noise, nor from the sea either! Must have slept well! Free Wi-Fi throughout hotel and moderate $17 secure parking charge although I never saw the barrier go down.. Drinks in the bar overlooking the ocean were good and inexpensive. Nice looking pool used by a number of other guests but no disturbance to us. Decent 12 noon checkout time.
Overall it would be the ideal stop if driving north from LA to SFO as an overnight stop but in our case it was a gentle drive to SFO via Skyline Boulevard for our flight home.
Recommended as a good stop over beside the US1.

Room Tip: Choice is Ocean view or pool view. Guess which one is at a premium?
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Unscripted Monterey Bay, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thank you for a wonderful review! We are happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay, and time in Monterey. Being so far from home, we love hearing that you were comfortable and were able to enjoy our amenities. Sleeping near the ocean certainly has it's benefits, and we are pleased that you slept so soundly. We hope that you'll join us again whenever you visit the States, and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed in a second story ocean view room - well worth paying the bit extra to have that beautiful, amazing view. The room was a two queen, nice flat screen TV, good bathroom arrangement (especially traveling with grown up son and husband). Very comfortable beds, and the only noise we heard was the roar of the waves. The staff was excellent, very attentive. We ate breakfast both days of our stay and the menu had great variety and was very well prepared. The pool was nice, very clean and warm. There were lounge areas up off of the beach, and a shower to wash the salt water off. We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend, and stay again there.

Room Tip: 2nd, 3rd and 4th story ocean side for the very best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Unscripted Monterey Bay, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thank you for an outstanding review! We are elated to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We sincerely appreciate the time you took to provide your comments and feedback. We are pleased that you and your family were so comfortable in the room, and the rest of the hotel. We hope that you'll join us again soon, and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I'll start by saying the location of this hotel is spectacular, it's a shame the hotel doesn't do it justice.

The good points:
The staff on check in were very good.
The location.

The bad points:
$17 a night parking!
Rooms very tired, in need of updating.
Cleaning standard is poor (our bathroom was horrible, had pink stains all over the walls/ceiling)
Air conditioning not effective.
If you are on the 3rd floor you will not get any sleep as you are right below the bar so you will be kept awake by noise most of the night.
Pool is dirty.

I would not stay here again, which is a shame given the location.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Unscripted Monterey Bay, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. We sincerely apologize for the challenges you faced during your stay here with us. We hope that you'll give us another chance to make up for the issues you encountered. It sounds like the room you were in was quite noisy, and we hope that you'll request a quieter room next time. We look forward to the opportunity to make up for your previous experience upon a future visit. We hope that you'll give us another chance, and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Stayed here two nights while attending a wedding. Perfect ceremony location on the beach just
steps from the hotel. Banquet room, food, drinks, et al, was also very good. We had a ground
floor room looking up at Route 1, but was ok with us, as we were busy with the wedding activities
so no time to look at the beach, tho our access was only steps away from our room. Only negative of this room was it is next to the maid service equipment room and is noisy around
8:00am. No negatives re the maids, however, as they were terrific. All in all, a good Best
Western Plus.

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor rooms on the north end of building unless you want easy access to the beach whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Unscripted Monterey Bay, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for a great review! We are happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay, and time at the wedding. Monterey is certainly a beautiful place to get married! We do apologize for any noise issues you encountered during your stay. We hope that you'll join us again soon, and we look forward to your return to the Best Western Plus Monterey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Me and my husband just spent one night here as part of our honeymoon. We had great expectations with this hotel being a Best Western plus as we had just spent 2 nights in one in Santa Barbara and it was lovely. The only plus we could see by the end of our stay was the location. It does have amazing views of the sea which was the main reason for choosing this hotel.
We arrived at the hotel approx 3pm to be told that our room wasn't quite ready. Subsequently the bar didn't open until 4pm so it was a case of just hanging around until we were notified.
We were given a non ocean view room on the second floor. Our room over looked the car park. The decor was a little shabby and tired looking. This hotel is pet friendly so maybe that contributed to the shabbiness. The room looked clean but it had a very strong bleach smell that seemed to linger. The shower was weak compared to other hotels we have stayed in. There was a coffee maker in the bathroom with a sign saying not to use it the same time as the hair dryer! There was a fridge and safe in the room which was good and there was bottled water. I have to admit, the bed was quite comfy. There is a $17 a night parking fee which is quite steep. From what I could see there was nowhere else to park either. To be honest, we were glad we were only staying for one night.
All the hotels we have stayed in during our trip have acknowledged that it is our honeymoon but the Beach Resort did not. The next day when checking out we told the girl on reception that we were disappointed that we weren't given an ocean view. The girl explained that it was a busy time for them being Memorial weekend and though I appreciate that,we had booked our honeymoon almost a year ago so we were hoping for some kind of a perk.
The Beach Resort definitely relies on its location. The hotel itself is just average. The views of the sea and beach are spectacular but unless you have an ocean view room I don't really see the point of staying here.
If we were to come back to Monterey we wouldn't choose this hotel, instead we would try one in town.

Room Tip: If you do decide to stay here book an ocean view room unless you don't mind looking at a car par...
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Unscripted Monterey Bay, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay. We were unaware of the fact that it was your honeymoon, and sincerely apologize if you felt like we didn't make it special! We can assure you we have every intention on treating our guests with the highest quality guest service, so the treatment you received was not the norm. We hope that you'll contact the hotel to further discuss the challenges you faced, and hopefully come up with a solution. We look forward to the opportunity to make up for your previous experience, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Unscripted Monterey Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Unscripted Monterey Bay

Address: 2600 Sand Dunes Drive, Monterey, CA 93940-3838 (Formerly Monterey Beach Resort)
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#10 Green Hotel in Monterey
#18 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Unscripted Monterey Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into Monterey’s only beachfront resort and approach the front desk where our charming staff will check you into one of our 196 spacious rooms. What will you do next? That’s entirely up to you. At Unscripted Hotels, we offer engaging alternatives to the typical hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Priceline and EasyToBook so you can book your Unscripted Monterey Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Beach Resort Monterey Hotel Monterey
Monterey Best Western
Best Western Monterey Beach Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Unscripted Monterey Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.