We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An (almost) great family hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monterey Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Monterey Beach Resort to your Saves list
Monterey Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2600 Sand Dunes Drive, Monterey, CA 93940-3838 (Formerly Best Western)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersBronze level
Henderson, Nevada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“An (almost) great family hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

For our money, this great-valued beachfront stay with the family met our expectations. The lobby features a giant view of the ocean, a lounge and a fireplace, and fun place to mingle. The hotel staff were all nice and friendly, from the front desk to the restaurant. The ocean view rooms are magnificent, with beach access a few feet from our room. You are a few miles from all the action in Monterey, but for us it made it nice and quieter.

The restaurant was nice, but it would've been nice to have a second, more economical restaurant option on property. Also, the pool never seemed to have towels stocked. Although they prefer you not bring your room towels, I'm not about to drip dry in overcast weather. If you stay there plan on bringing a backup towel to the pool.

The biggest issue with the hotel was all the smokers. The hotel bills itself as a smoke-free hotel, with designated smoking areas by the beach wall. But it was like a tobacco convention, people smoking right in front of our room, smoke coming through the walls, and cigarette butts all over the place. I'm a live and let live kinda guy, but after a day or so I finally called the front desk to rat out my neighbors. The front desk sounded genuinely concerned and assured me they were looking into it. If I was the hotel manager I'd take a proactive approach and put warning notices on doors.

One more thing, get ready to shell out $17/day for parking. While some complain about the fee, I just factored it in to the overall cost per night when picking a hotel. If anything, a bigger complaint should be that tiny lot on the east side. The property seems aged, but they maintain it well. Overall, you get what you pay for and more.

Room Tip: If you on a budget, stick with the garden view. Get your ocean views from the lobby or by walking ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick S, General Manager at Monterey Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Mr Henderson,
Thank you for writing such a thorough review. Your idea about “no smoking” signs in the rooms, as well as in corridors is a good idea. Also, we have just placed an order for more pool towels, so we should be able to keep up with the demand in the future.
I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay, and hope to welcome you back to Monterey soon.
Thank you again,
Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    478
    289
    154
    94
See reviews for
480
526
50
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eagan, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

If you like the ocean waves crashing outside your door, this is your place! The room was clean, the beach was beautiful and the breakfast was great with an outstanding view. We booked the breakfast rate which was a great value but not once but twice had to complain to get the breakfast charges removed. Also, they charge for parking which wasn't disclosed to us when we booked by phone.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick S, General Manager at Monterey Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear trafficsignalguy,
I am sorry to hear that we did not handle the breakfast package charges correctly. I will look into our process to make it better for future guests.
I am happy to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Monterey.
Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here a few times, during the year. This recent stay was beautiful as always. It is a nice hotel with friendly staff. The restaurant upstairs is a great place for breakfast with good service. We sat and and watch the dolphins in the early evening from upstairs. It's so beautiful, great location. The beach begs you to take walk on it. So inviting.Many photo opportunities. Sunrise and sunsets from the ocean front rooms are spectacular! We will continue to stay here during upcoming events that bring us to town.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick S, General Manager at Monterey Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear lilyfarmer,
Thank you so much for this review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to your return,
Regards,
Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keaau, Hawaii, United States
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Very noisy, the plumbing bad--bath tub water didn't drain.one of our families had to move room because of bad drainage in bath tub. When moved to another room they experienced very abruptive neighbors. Which were complained to management their room were comped.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick S, General Manager at Monterey Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Sandi –
I am sorry to hear that your stay was not as enjoyable as you would have liked. We do plan to take care of our “plumbing issues” in our room renovations this autumn.

Thank you for your comments,

Regards,

Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

This was just an overnight stop on our way north and the view was a very pleasant, serene one. Our room was clean and had all the necessities though was a tad tight for three people. Beds were comfy and the shower was great! Breakfast in the morning was not included at this Best Western but the restaurant upstairs had good service and very good food. Overall a good experience and would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick S, General Manager at Monterey Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear kurtzb,
Thank you for choosing the Beach Resort Monterey. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Regards,

Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

We booked a 2nd floor room and it was amazing! The views were spectacular. You will walk out of the hotel literally right
onto the beach. The restaurant had good food but again the view was just stunning. The pool area is at the front of the hotel, and due to its location, doesn't get much sunlight. The room was nice size and comfortable. This was a tremendous value given the location.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick S, General Manager at Monterey Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Tracy,
I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your return.

Regards,

Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Monterey Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Beach Resort

Address: 2600 Sand Dunes Drive, Monterey, CA 93940-3838 (Formerly Best Western)
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Monterey
#15 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monterey Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monterey's only beach-front full service hotel, The Beach Resort Monterey boasts some of the most expansive views available of the Monterey Bay. Blending California beach casual with superior comfort and professionalism, the Beach Resort Monterey offers a relaxing alternative from the distractions of downtown, with the convenience of being only minutes away from the areas favorite attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Monterey Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Beach Resort Monterey Hotel Monterey
Monterey Best Western
Best Western Monterey Beach Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monterey Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.