We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As close to the Heart Beat of the Ocean as One Can get” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monterey Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Monterey Beach Resort to your Saves list
Monterey Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2600 Sand Dunes Drive, Monterey, CA 93940-3838 (Formerly Best Western)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersBronze level
chicago, illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“As close to the Heart Beat of the Ocean as One Can get”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel (three stories) built a sea wall for high tide. I have stayed there twice. The first time I saw no reason for the wall. This past December, I did. The moon was full, close to earth, and we had 8' waves. They pounded the wall all night. We had an ocean side room and love every thumping minute of it! The hotel is, obviously, right on a really good beach, which (not so obviously) is part of a state park with dunes and good walking sand. Surfers come here also. The rooms are excellent, with one very, very large window each. There are two types of shades one can draw if the ocean lets you visually. The restaurant is quite good...serving interesting meals. The restaurant also has very large picture windows, and the lobby has floor to ceiling windows. The location is very, very close to all of the area attractions, and there are at least a million. Book ahead.

Room Tip: The ocean views are more expensive than the garden view, but if you can afford it (and it is not tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick S, General Manager at Monterey Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear umber,
Thank you for offering this review, as well as recognizing our unique relationship to Monterey Beach State Park and Monterey Bay.
We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    417
    491
    298
    159
    97
See reviews for
490
544
50
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sf bay area
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed for a long weekend here. Loved the view and the sounds of the crashing waves lulling you to sleep. The rooms were way below average, tired, and need updating! There are privacy screens that you can't see from the outside in during the day, but at night you can..so beware! We only ate at the restaurant for breakfast, and it was yummy, and again, with great views! If only they would update their rooms, this would be a 4-5 star resort!

Room Tip: If you want ocean views, make sure you choose a room 2nd-3rd story!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick S, General Manager at Monterey Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear soansari,
Thank you for taking the time to offer this review. It is always helpful to see our property from a guest’s perspective. Our goal is to continually address our deficiencies in service and product, and hope to improve the comfort of our guestrooms in the not-too-distant future.
I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back to Monterey Beach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turlock, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

we go here a once a year and every time we have an excellent experience. service is excellent. location is amazing just a couple miles from cannery row Monterey. get the ocean view room it is worth it. it just steps from the ocean.

Room Tip: Ocean View is woth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick S, General Manager at Monterey Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear noecis78,
Thank you so much for taking the time to offer this review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to your return to Monterey Beach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, CT
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

The location of this hotel is pretty excellent, I must admit. I'd never stayed in this part of the peninsula--we always stayed near Cannery Row. But the location on the beach was BEAUTIFUL. We took some great shots of the crashing waves at sunset.

That's about where my praise ends, however. The room was decently sized, but sparsely furnished and SUPER dated. The bed's mattress was something out of the 1980's, and the hotel uses one of those outdated quilts that is NOT white (making it difficult to ascertain its cleanliness) and the bed is layered with a blanket that has long-since begun the process of pilling and was a kind of puke-brown color (again making it difficult to ascertain its cleanliness). Now, the room wasn't filthy, at least not that I could see, but it didn't strike me as particularly clean either. That could have been due in large part to the dated-ness of everything in the room, however.

The staff at the hotel was satisfactory, though we didn't see them much and the line to check in was surprisingly long. We were also surprised to discover that we had to pay for parking, after the website where we booked the room had said that it would be free.

All in all, not a bad stay, though I'm not sure I'd choose this hotel again, as the prices were not super competitive and it was still a short drive into Cannery Row and the Aquarium.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick S, General Manager at Monterey Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear InLovewithThailand,
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We welcome feedback from our guests, and see it as a way to improve in product as well as service. We do recognize the need to update our guestroom product, and hope to address that this year. As to the inconsistency regards the parking charge, I would like to find out what website shows inconsistent information.
Please contact me at PSheridan@MontereyBeachResort.com to discuss.

Thank you again for your comments, and we hope to welcome you back to the resort following our renovation.

Patrick Sheridan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This hotel is located right on the beach in Monterey and the views are spectacular. Ocean view rooms are well worth the price, especially when you consider that you can pay more than double for an ocean view room pretty much anywhere else in Monterey/Carmel. As other reviewers noted, the rooms are pretty standard but nice and clean. Walking along the beach at night was a great experience - convenient and romantic.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick S, General Manager at Monterey Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear vicgould,

Thank you for taking the time to submit this review. I’m so glad you enjoyed your stay!

I hope you will have an opportunity to visit again soon. Please do not hesitate to contact me personally if I can be of any assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Monterey Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Beach Resort

Address: 2600 Sand Dunes Drive, Monterey, CA 93940-3838 (Formerly Best Western)
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#10 Green Hotel in Monterey
#16 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monterey Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monterey's only beach-front full service hotel, The Beach Resort Monterey boasts some of the most expansive views available of the Monterey Bay. Blending California beach casual with superior comfort and professionalism, the Beach Resort Monterey offers a relaxing alternative from the distractions of downtown, with the convenience of being only minutes away from the areas favorite attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Best Western, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Monterey Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Beach Resort Monterey Hotel Monterey
Monterey Best Western
Best Western Monterey Beach Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monterey Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.