We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the beach!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monterey Tides

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Monterey Tides to your Saves list
Monterey Tides
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2600 Sand Dunes Drive, Monterey, CA 93940 (Formerly Unscripted Monterey Bay)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 15% Off Rates
Ranked #38 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“On the beach!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights mid week.

The hotel is in a great location if you like being near the beach. It is on the sand - perfect for a nice walk at sunrise! It gives close access to fishermans wharf for whale watching bay tours etc. but most things are a short drive away.

The hotel lobby and dining areas are very clean and modern and the view from the ocean side rooms is spectacular. The room furnishings are a little dated, but very clean and comfortable. Complementary wifi worked fine.

The staff are polite and professional and breakfast on the 4th floor restaurant was good. Great view of the bay while you eat.

The only points to note are:

Parking charge is $15 per night
The ocean is loud (as you would expect) if you are in an Oceanside room
The room window looks out over the walkway/balcony so it's hard to properly enjoy the view with people walking past your room peeking inside!

On the whole we had a lovely stay here.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank C T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh H, Hotel Manager at Monterey Tides, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
I’m glad we could be part of your vacation in such a positive way. I will definitely share your compliments with our team. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,724 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Came for four days with a group of quilters. The staff and facilities far exceeded my expectations. The conference room was well appointed and the view spectacular. We could watch dolphins, seals and otters from our windows. Get a beachside room if you can so you can fall asleep listing to the surf. We were minutes away from all of Monterey and Pacific grove.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ma2doc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh H, Hotel Manager at Monterey Tides, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thanks for joining us. I’m so glad you were able to catch a glimpse of the wildlife! Just the other day we saw a gray whale from the lobby. We look forward to your next group visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Great beach front property with easy access to beach. Love listening to the sounds of breaking waves as I slept. Clean rooms with comfy beds. Appreciated the complimentary aromatherapy soap, shampoo, conditioner and lotion.

We had a pleasant check-in experience. Alden made a good first impression by being friendly and knowledgeable. He provided us a map and made suggestions on where to dine and what to see since we were not familiar with the area.

I would definitely vacation here again!

Room Tip: On the first floor, the beach is just steps away from your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VictoriaP92563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh H, Hotel Manager at Monterey Tides, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thanks for letting everyone know about your experiences with Alden. You’ve even further validated the team’s decision to make him Employee of the Month! Please come back and visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, CA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The hotel is right on the beach. No highway to cross. If you get the ocean view rooms, you look right out on the ocean. Our room was a bit small, but comfortable. Clean and very quiet. I have seen the complaints of others. Look. The hotel is on the beach. It can get cold out. It can get windy. Sand can blow on the deck and into the rooms. It could have been configured better so that each room has a private lanai, but if it had been you would be paying over $500 per night to stay there. You get excellent views of the ocean and the Monterey Peninsula from the hotel. I sat in the lobby one afternoon and watched dolphins surfing, seals, sea otters, and lots of birds. The restaurant upstairs serves a decent breakfast. Service was slow on the one weekend day we were there, much better on the less crowded weekdays. The parking fee is $15 per night, a pain considering you are parking outside and your car is a target for seagulls and pelicans. Just mentally add that price to that of the room. You get complimentary wi-fi in the room. There are restaurants in walking distance, more an easy drive away. The staff was at all times friendly.

So why the bad reviews? I think it has to do with expectations. This isn't a five star property. The rooms are small, the furnishings dated, the bathroom door hard to close. It is on a California beach with all that entails, wave noise, bird droppings, cold sea water, wind, fog etc. If you are expecting Kauai, forget it. It's not like that. Even in the summer. It isn't the hotel's fault.

But it is on the beach, and it is a decent place, the staff is great, it's inexpensive for the location, and for that I give it a rating of four.

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms are ocean front. They have a view of the ocean. If you are on the first floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulie47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh H, Hotel Manager at Monterey Tides, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you for sharing your evaluation of our location. As you’ve pointed out, the positives of staying directly on the beach far outweigh the negatives. The reason our guests continue to join us year after year is because we offer great service, delicious food, and the best views in town. Also, please stay tuned for exciting guest room upgrades. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Location is good and that was all. The Bathroom was filthy. The Microwave and the coffee maker was not maintained well , it was dirty. The front desk behavior was shocking. They should not say that the guest will run away without paying the charges. The terrible rating is mainly for this. I won't recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anil V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh H, Hotel Manager at Monterey Tides, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you for your review. Please accept my apologies that you did not enjoy your stay. While we consistently get great feedback about our housekeeping and front desk teams, we are always looking for ways to improve our communication and our service. I’m very disappointed to hear you had an encounter with our staff that fell short of your expectations. I would greatly appreciate a moment of your time to discuss the specifics of your experience. I can be reached at 831-394-3321 or hhedin@montereybeachresort.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Monterey hotels

Portland, OR
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Really nice hotel right on the beach. Lobby is very comfortable, and you can order room service to the lobby for snacks or a beer while watching the harbor seals, dolphins, and pelicans play in the water outside. The restaurant on the 4th floor has a similar view and the food is better than average. I had the bacon wrapped scallops appetizer and they were fabulous, bacon wrapped yet crispy, scallops perfectly done.

Room (king bed on the "garden" side) was comfortable, spacious, clean. Despite facing the highway, it was very quiet. Actually the entire facility was very well maintained. Beautiful outdoor pool and spa area. One of the best things: the bike trail to downtown Monterey is located just across the street. They also rent bikes there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kcportland2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh H, Hotel Manager at Monterey Tides, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thanks for sharing your experience. We really appreciate you taking the time to inform your fellow travelers about the resort. I’ll be sure to pass on your compliments to the chef!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh, Lancashire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed for only 2 days on our trip down the west coast. It was our friends Ruby Wedding Anniversary & when we informed the staff, they brought 2 lovely bottles of wine for us! The staff were efficient & unobtrusive. The restaurant food was delicious (not the cheapest though & the lighting was a bit too low!). The setting was fantastic - right on the beach - & the rooms spacious & in keeping with the surroundings. We watched a variety of surfers & sea-birds, & were treated to a fantastic display by the dolphins.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MDKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh H, Hotel Manager at Monterey Tides, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
I’m glad you enjoyed your visit. Our restaurant, lobby, and ocean-view rooms are all great for watching the wildlife. The dolphins are like celebrities in Monterey! We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
2.4 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
2.1 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 1,372 reviews
2.1 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Monterey Bay Lodge
Monterey Bay Lodge
#33 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 stars 471 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Tides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Tides

Address: 2600 Sand Dunes Drive, Monterey, CA 93940 (Formerly Unscripted Monterey Bay)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#11 Green Hotel in Monterey
#15 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monterey Tides 3.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your quintessential California escape awaits at Monterey Tides. Unwind to the hypnotic acoustics of ocean waves, savor fresh fare at Café Beach, our seaside restaurant, dip into our refreshing pool and explore nearby Old Monterey. Set your wanderlust free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Monterey Tides reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Beach Resort Monterey Hotel Monterey
Monterey Best Western
Best Western Monterey Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing