We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You are paying for location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Unscripted Monterey Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Unscripted Monterey Bay to your Saves list
Unscripted Monterey Bay
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2600 Sand Dunes Drive, Monterey, CA 93940-3838 (Formerly Monterey Beach Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 54 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersBronze level
Berkeley, CA
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“You are paying for location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The hotel is right on the beach. No highway to cross. If you get the ocean view rooms, you look right out on the ocean. Our room was a bit small, but comfortable. Clean and very quiet. I have seen the complaints of others. Look. The hotel is on the beach. It can get cold out. It can get windy. Sand can blow on the deck and into the rooms. It could have been configured better so that each room has a private lanai, but if it had been you would be paying over $500 per night to stay there. You get excellent views of the ocean and the Monterey Peninsula from the hotel. I sat in the lobby one afternoon and watched dolphins surfing, seals, sea otters, and lots of birds. The restaurant upstairs serves a decent breakfast. Service was slow on the one weekend day we were there, much better on the less crowded weekdays. The parking fee is $15 per night, a pain considering you are parking outside and your car is a target for seagulls and pelicans. Just mentally add that price to that of the room. You get complimentary wi-fi in the room. There are restaurants in walking distance, more an easy drive away. The staff was at all times friendly.

So why the bad reviews? I think it has to do with expectations. This isn't a five star property. The rooms are small, the furnishings dated, the bathroom door hard to close. It is on a California beach with all that entails, wave noise, bird droppings, cold sea water, wind, fog etc. If you are expecting Kauai, forget it. It's not like that. Even in the summer. It isn't the hotel's fault.

But it is on the beach, and it is a decent place, the staff is great, it's inexpensive for the location, and for that I give it a rating of four.

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms are ocean front. They have a view of the ocean. If you are on the first floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh H, Hotel Manager at Unscripted Monterey Bay, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you for sharing your evaluation of our location. As you’ve pointed out, the positives of staying directly on the beach far outweigh the negatives. The reason our guests continue to join us year after year is because we offer great service, delicious food, and the best views in town. Also, please stay tuned for exciting guest room upgrades. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    503
    307
    160
    101
See reviews for
507
565
52
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Location is good and that was all. The Bathroom was filthy. The Microwave and the coffee maker was not maintained well , it was dirty. The front desk behavior was shocking. They should not say that the guest will run away without paying the charges. The terrible rating is mainly for this. I won't recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh H, Hotel Manager at Unscripted Monterey Bay, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you for your review. Please accept my apologies that you did not enjoy your stay. While we consistently get great feedback about our housekeeping and front desk teams, we are always looking for ways to improve our communication and our service. I’m very disappointed to hear you had an encounter with our staff that fell short of your expectations. I would greatly appreciate a moment of your time to discuss the specifics of your experience. I can be reached at 831-394-3321 or hhedin@montereybeachresort.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Really nice hotel right on the beach. Lobby is very comfortable, and you can order room service to the lobby for snacks or a beer while watching the harbor seals, dolphins, and pelicans play in the water outside. The restaurant on the 4th floor has a similar view and the food is better than average. I had the bacon wrapped scallops appetizer and they were fabulous, bacon wrapped yet crispy, scallops perfectly done.

Room (king bed on the "garden" side) was comfortable, spacious, clean. Despite facing the highway, it was very quiet. Actually the entire facility was very well maintained. Beautiful outdoor pool and spa area. One of the best things: the bike trail to downtown Monterey is located just across the street. They also rent bikes there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh H, Hotel Manager at Unscripted Monterey Bay, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thanks for sharing your experience. We really appreciate you taking the time to inform your fellow travelers about the resort. I’ll be sure to pass on your compliments to the chef!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh, Lancashire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed for only 2 days on our trip down the west coast. It was our friends Ruby Wedding Anniversary & when we informed the staff, they brought 2 lovely bottles of wine for us! The staff were efficient & unobtrusive. The restaurant food was delicious (not the cheapest though & the lighting was a bit too low!). The setting was fantastic - right on the beach - & the rooms spacious & in keeping with the surroundings. We watched a variety of surfers & sea-birds, & were treated to a fantastic display by the dolphins.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh H, Hotel Manager at Unscripted Monterey Bay, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
I’m glad you enjoyed your visit. Our restaurant, lobby, and ocean-view rooms are all great for watching the wildlife. The dolphins are like celebrities in Monterey! We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkview, West Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was one leg of a 2-week vacation for my husband and me. Despite this being a large, very busy hotel, we had an enjoyable and relaxing 3-day stay.

Our room was on the very end of the west side, oceanfront, giving us a great view of the sunset each evening. Loved being able to walk out to the beach, away from the busy-ness of the wharf, cannery row & other attractions. The room was smallish, but not a problem. We were there for Monterey, not for the hotel.

We did take a dip in the pool and use the hot tub, both welcome amenities after a day of sightseeing. The restaurant upstairs was also better-than-average, for those who don't want to drive off-site for dinner.

Overall, good accommodations for the price. If you like a more casual, laid-back vibe, this hotel fills the bill.

Room Tip: West end, oceanfront!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh H, Hotel Manager at Unscripted Monterey Bay, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thanks! There’s no better way to relax after a long day than jumping in our heated pool or jacuzzi. I’m glad you had such a nice time in Monterey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel is at the apex of Monterey Bay. We walked the sand. Watched pelicans dive into the surf. Picked up shells, saw seals & otters. ... and ate at the very nice restaurant on property. A lovely two days. Will definitely visit again! ... oh, and the rooms are comfy & clean too :)

Room Tip: Get an ocean view. It's worth the extra bucks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh H, Hotel Manager at Unscripted Monterey Bay, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thanks for joining us on your trip to the coast. I’m happy you were able to see some of the wildlife activity. Next time, feel free to grab a pair of our lobby binoculars for close up views. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Location is just awesome located on a quieter part of the bay.
Carpet in room was dirty so asked to change room, which was arranged very quickly; same problem in other room - may be due to fact that it is a pet friendly hotel? Staff were very apologetic and arranged for carpet to be cleaned whilst we were out and paid for our dinner at the hotel. Excellent response to our initial angst but would expect clean carpets at any hotel including those that are pet friendly.
However the location is a real plus so this is the reason why I have scored very good rather than average/poor

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh H, Hotel Manager at Unscripted Monterey Bay, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you for sharing your feedback. Please accept my apologies that your initial room assignment fell short of your expectations. I appreciate you informing us about the issue, and I’m pleased to hear our staff was able to make things right. We hope you will consider joining us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Unscripted Monterey Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Unscripted Monterey Bay

Address: 2600 Sand Dunes Drive, Monterey, CA 93940-3838 (Formerly Monterey Beach Resort)
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#10 Green Hotel in Monterey
#18 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Unscripted Monterey Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into Monterey’s only beachfront resort and approach the front desk where our charming staff will check you into one of our 196 spacious rooms. What will you do next? That’s entirely up to you. At Unscripted Hotels, we offer engaging alternatives to the typical hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Priceline and EasyToBook so you can book your Unscripted Monterey Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Beach Resort Monterey Hotel Monterey
Monterey Best Western
Best Western Monterey Beach Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Unscripted Monterey Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.