We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel Right on the Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monterey Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Monterey Beach Resort to your Saves list
Monterey Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2600 Sand Dunes Drive, Monterey, CA 93940-3838 (Formerly Best Western)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersBronze level
Tel Aviv
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Hotel Right on the Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

We stayed here for one night and really liked this hotel. We booked in late and were told that there was only one room available and it would be noisy because of a party taking place in the room next door and on the deck outside. Were also warned that the room was next to the elevator. Therefore we were offered an $80 discount and parking was included. We had a room with 2 queen beds and a roll away. The rooms are nicely decorated with a beach feel. With the roll away it was a bit of a tight fit. The bathroom was new and modern looking.
By the time we got back from dinner, there was no sign of the party next door.
The best thing about this hotel is that it is right on the beach, you just can't get closer. The lobby is also very nice.The drive into town only takes a few minutes. We ate at Gianni's Pizza which was good and prices were reasonable. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don D, General Manager at Monterey Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 27, 2011
I’m glad you all enjoyed your stay! I’m also glad you discovered Gianni’s. It’s one the best pizza parlors in town. Hopefully you will have a chance to visit us both again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    477
    289
    154
    94
See reviews for
480
524
50
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

Best Western Beach Resort Hotel, Monterey, CA. I wrote this review for AAA right after staying at the hotel but never saw it on their site. We stayed there in June 2010, so it is possible things are better now, but given the number of problems I tend to doubt it---and I'd never stay there again even if told it had improved.

This hotel is on the beach in Monterey and that should say it all---but doesn't. We enjoyed walking out of our room onto Monterey Bay beach, loved the sunsets and the lights of Monterey at night in the distance. We really wanted to love this place, but the problems kept mounting and we finally gave up and left early.

Quick summary followed by more detailed experience:

Pricing is misleading; condition of premises seems nice at first but we had door lock failure, sticking door, rocking toilet, defective electrical outlet, haywire TV, undrinkable tap water; the toilet area is ridiculously small and not private. The hotel arranged a wedding reception just outside our room without mentioning it to us and the reception continued in the lobby upstairs until midnight.

We booked through AAA, were told while the agent was on the phone with BW Beach Resort that an ocean side room was possible at the advertised prices of $99 for the first night and $126 for the next three nights, but we needed to check availability at arrival. When we arrived an ocean side room “became available” but was an additional $30, prior information notwithstanding. Parking (in a painfully tight lot) is an extra $10/day. So after the first night we paid $166 per night, not $126. When we saw the beach we decided this was still a great deal. We tried to start out early our first morning there, intending to drive down to Point Lobos before the crowds. We went to find coffee in the hotel lobby, were told that we had to wait until the restaurant opened and pay for breakfast---no complimentary coffee (except for the undrinkable stuff in the room). When we went back to our room we found we were locked out because the door lock was broken. Front desk sent an employee to break into our room (no kidding, he broke into it the same way car thieves get into cars), then replaced the lock and gave us new key cards. (The maintenance guy turned out to be the nicest employee we met; the front desk staff is unfriendly and apathetic.) Even after all of this the door never worked well. On our third day at the hotel we came back to the room in the afternoon to find that a wedding reception was taking place---loud music and all---literally a few feet outside our room. The reception continued until after midnight, moving up to the lobby area directly above our room, so we were treated to thumping music and pounding high heels overhead until after midnight. The hotel should at the very least warn guests and give them the option of declining a room set within the party zone.

The toilet was not secured to the floor and rocked from side to side. I've never seen anything like this before in a hotel. The toilet and shower stall are separated from the vanity area by an open slat closet door, so the toilet area has little privacy. The only way to close the bathroom door is to either stand in the shower stall or wedge between the toilet and the wall in order to get around the door. Anyone with even moderate disabilities would simply need to leave the door open while using the toilet. The shower is very nicely tiled and spacious, but the shower door is only half length so shower water sprays all over the rest of the bathroom. Our room had a very nice kitchenette area but unlike other motels they don't supply glasses, silverware, etc. Nice big screen TV, something we really did appreciate---but the brightness and volume fluctuated randomly, requiring constant fiddling with the also erratic remote control. Tap water is undrinkable and tastes of chemicals. The hotel puts bottled water next to the sink at $2.95 each. No complimentary breakfast, not even complimentary coffee for guests except for the in-room packets (see water problem above---to make poor quality in-room coffee with no creamer requires $2.95 bottled water purchase). There is a restaurant, but it's expensive by our standards (entrees $25 and up, $10 for a glass of wine) and no discount for guests. Good restaurants right on Fisherman's Wharf are more reasonable.

All in all we are surprised that we would find ourselves convinced that staying at a hotel in such a spectacular setting for $166 per night was simply a rip off, but it most certainly is. We were so disappointed in the hotel we gave up on the beautiful beach, cancelled the remainder of our reservation. This experience also put us off booking at any Best Western (and I also quit AAA after 30 years for calling this a 3 diamond hotel and getting the pricing so wrong).

Room Tip: The highway side might actually be better than the beach. An upper floor might be nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don D, General Manager at Monterey Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 24, 2011
Please accept my apologies that your stay was not enjoyable. It sounds like we left you with a not so great impression if you are taking the time to post your review almost a year and a half after being our guest. I can tell you that the hotel has recently changed management and so many of the issues you mention are being addressed as I write this response. We are redesigning every aspect of the hotel from the décor, service standards, amenities, and reservation system. I think you’ll find us to be a very different hotel in the future if you ever decide to give us another chance. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

I agree with others. The beauty and value of this place are in the location. You can't get any closer to the water. To hear the waves crashing all night is so peaceful. It is definitely NOT a "resort" but is rather a beachfront motel. If you are clear about what you are getting, you will not be disappointed. It is clean. It is nice enough. Stopped here on a drive up the coast and would do it again, just to be that close to the water for a decent price in Monterey.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don D, General Manager at Monterey Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 24, 2011
Thanks! Come back and see us anytime you need to escape the LA craze!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

We stayed here one night on our trip down the coast. The views were amazing! You can't get any closer to the ocean! We even watched dolphins swim by in the late afternoon!
Monterey is a fun area. Definitely take the quick drive down to Cannery Row. There are numerous restaurants and attractions. Parking can be pricy, but some of the parking lots offer cheaper parking after 5 or 6 PM. Some also offer free parking for the first hour or two.
After a great dinner, we went back to the hotel and split a bottle of wine, while sitting in the lounge chairs, just listening to the ocean.
If you are going to Monterey, this hotel should definitely be on you list!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don D, General Manager at Monterey Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 24, 2011
There’s really no other place like our place if you want to get up close and personal with sounds of the ocean and see the dolphins in the surf. I’m glad you all had such a nice time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

I don.t know what to say really.
If you want an all mod cons, purely clean, state of the art hotel then get a posh one in Monterey. This one smells of sand salt and sea weed ( it is on the ocean).

This was all about the view and the fact that within two minutes walk of the third floor you could be walking with sand between your toes.
It's not the most most modern hotel, they've had a multi million pound makeover recently which i think they spent on tv's for every room. We only stayed for two days and did not switch the TV on at all, just watch and listen to the sea, t was fantastic, we had a 22 day trip to the states and it was not the best hotel we stayed in but of the 22 days this is the first one we would re-book for a visit. Get past the first 15 minutes of "it's not as nice as i thought it would be" and you will just love the scences. Sound of the sea, smell f the sea, noise of the waves, sight of a Monterey bay sunset and the feel of the sand between your toes.

Go to Monterey Aquaraium, it's amazing, give yourself at least four hours!

Room Tip: Get a sea view room, it will make all the difference to your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don D, General Manager at Monterey Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 24, 2011
Thanks for the recommend! We really appreciate your letting others know about our lovely setting. I hope too much of our sand didn’t wind-up in your luggage!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

Our room was right above the beach - just go down the stairs, walk a few steps and you're on the beach. We fell asleep to the sound of crashing waves. The rooms are nothing out of the ordinary but they are clean and spacious. The service by the entire staff is very good. One thing to note - it is a bit of a drive (guessing three miles) to Cannery Row and the other sites in the area but the rate for a nice room right on the beach in Monterey more than makes up for the drive

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don D, General Manager at Monterey Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 24, 2011
I’m glad you enjoyed your stay! Come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

It is all about the location- literally, right on the beach- you can hear the ocean from all the rooms. The location is incredibly beautiful, serene, and peaceful- on our arrival, we watched a school of porpoises swim by from the balcony. The rooms are surprisingly well appointed for this type of hotel, though the bathroom is quite small with only a slatted door that really does not provide any privacy. There are no towel bars in the sink area. Also, the wireless never really worked during my entire 3 day stay, and even the internet in the business center was incredibly slow.
I was here for a work conference, and I would give their conference services 5 stars. Very attentive, great food, excellent service.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don D, General Manager at Monterey Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 10, 2011
Thank you for letting everyone know about your experience. Please accept my apologies for the wifi being spotty. We are changing our service provider and increasing our network speed to make sure everyone has a good signal. I’m really glad you enjoyed the conference. Our Banquet team is great and it’s nice for them to get some kudos!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Monterey Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Beach Resort

Address: 2600 Sand Dunes Drive, Monterey, CA 93940-3838 (Formerly Best Western)
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Monterey
#15 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monterey Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monterey's only beach-front full service hotel, The Beach Resort Monterey boasts some of the most expansive views available of the Monterey Bay. Blending California beach casual with superior comfort and professionalism, the Beach Resort Monterey offers a relaxing alternative from the distractions of downtown, with the convenience of being only minutes away from the areas favorite attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Monterey Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Beach Resort Monterey Hotel Monterey
Monterey Best Western
Best Western Monterey Beach Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monterey Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.