We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great all-rounder!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2141 North Fremont Street, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #10 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersBronze level
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great all-rounder!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We were on a road trip, so for us the location was great - just off the main highway East of downtown and a scenic short drive into Monterey/Pacific Grove along the State Beach. The room was very comfortable, parking behind the hotel convenient and reached by elevator and breakfast basic but adequate and included fresh fruit. It was not busy when we were there, but with 3 small tables around the corner from the check in desk, I imagine it would be inadequate at times.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deanza2141, General Manager at BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for your complimentary review of our property. I was happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and found the room comfortable. As you pointed out we are conveniently located with
easy access to area attractions. Thanks for taking the time to post your comments. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    198
    58
    15
    4
See reviews for
189
174
14
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

we stayed here on 14th Apr 13. Staff was super friendly.We were two families with kids and felt very comfortable at this location. Rooms are nice and little bigger than usual Best Western hotels. Breakfast was good. Having access to apples/oranges in lobby 24X7 was a plus for kids. ( they love oranges) We will definitely recommend this to families.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deanza2141, General Manager at BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We sincerely appreciate your taking the time to post your comments and for the "A+ staff" rating. We hope you will consider another stay at a future date. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This wasn't worth a plus in my opinion. The room was ok, a typical Best Western, but the drain stopper was missing so try to bathe a toddler when the water keeps running away...

The look of the hotel is pretty ordinary.

But worst of it all was the breakfast, the worst I ever had in a Best Western hotel. Breakfast is served in the lobby and there is NO room there, just about 3 tables. Everything is cramped on 2 little tables and the options are very limited. There was no coffee when we arrived and it took the staff about 15 minutes to get fresh coffee. There was no high chair for our son. It was really a pityfull breakfast.

I also pitied the fish in the lobby, swimming around in almost no water, I wonder how long the live in those circumstances.

Really the worst Best Western ever.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deanza2141, General Manager at BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of our property. Trip Advisor allows businesses an opportunity to provide readers with the other side of the review. Please let me elaborate. We have a front desk agent on staff 24 hours a day to assist guests with request such as, a stopper for their bathtub or a highchair for their child. While I agree seating is limited in the lobby, we do provide trays so guest can enjoy their complimentary breakfast in their rooms or out by the pool. Most guests appreciate our lovely koi pond and enjoy watching the beautiful fish. Rest assured, the fish are properly cared for, the water levels appropriate for their size and many tranquil years of life ahead of them. I do appreciate your taking the time to post your review and giving me a chance to respond. I only wish you would have let us know of your issues during your stay and allowed us to assist you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Havasu City, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We drove in from Arizona. From the moment we drove up we knew we made the right choice. When we walked in the lobby it was very clean. Jaime was behind the counter. She made everything so easy and she was very polite. She gave us room 301. We walked into the room and got to say one thing. VERY CLEAN.... The décor was nice. The bed was a king size and very comfortable. We stayed two nights. We were so happy the way we were treated there I wanted to let the manager know, when we talked to her we could tell that she cares about your stay and is totally committed to Best Western De Anza. Highly recommended....*****

Room Tip: Third floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deanza2141, General Manager at BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you very much for posting your complimentary review and recommendation. We sincerely appreciate your taking the time to let us know how happy you were during your stay. Our entire staff makes every effort to insure each guest feels welcome and knows how grateful we are for their patronage. Thanks for letting us know we are doing a great job! Safe travels please come back and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 2 night, but we liked it very much. The room was huge, very clean, hotel staff very firendly, very good value. The price was very good, so why paying at least double just for staying closer to the beach?
Nice organic toiletries, the only comment that we have is just the strong bleach smell in the towels and beddings. But overall a great experience!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deanza2141, General Manager at BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you for your complimentary review of our property and five out of five rating. We appreciate your taking the time to let others know about your enjoyable stay with us. I am not sure what would have caused the bleach smell you experienced, however, I am investigating the issue.
We use only green, chemical -free Vaska laundry products and just had the yearly inspection
on our Nu-Tek Ozone laundry system. Thanks again for posting your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I stayed at the hotel one night. We had a large room but behind the thin wall there were young people with their friends. In fact only the closed door separated us. I would not choose the same room. Reception was very helpful. The beakfast room was very small, visitors sat outside to have their breakfast. Not so good experience. Could it be possible to arrange a better space?

Room Tip: Avoid large king size bed room in the second floor if you want sleep well or check that the other r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deanza2141, General Manager at BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for your review of our property. It appears from your comments that you did not contact the front desk regarding the noise issue. We have a front desk agent on staff 24 hours
a day to assist guest with any issues that arise during their stay. It may have been possible to move you, based on our occupancy level. Thank you again for taking the time to post your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

The hotel is located in strip mall heaven, not close to anything of interest to a traveler. But it was a lovely hotel. The room itself was plush, large, clean. The beds were huge, the room was attractive, and there was plenty of space for our family of four. The breakfast was standard. There was no place to sit so we took our food to our room. We were pleased with our experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deanza2141, General Manager at BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for your review of our property and complimentary comments about our guest rooms.
As stated in previous responses, are claim to fame is not our location but the quality of the rooms and our great value. We appreciate your 4 out of 5 rating and consideration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn

Address: 2141 North Fremont Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#8 Green Hotel in Monterey
#9 Family Hotel in Monterey
#14 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only three and a half miles from the top attraction, Monterey Bay Aquarium, our Monterey hotel is a great value with reasonable rates. Cannery Row and Fisherman's Wharf are just a short drive. Guests at our Monterey hotel can choose to spend the day lounging at the beach or exploring the local city. Seafood reigns supreme at the local restaurants, and there's an abundance of shopping to be had. The Monterey Peninsula offers travelers everything necessary for a memorable vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus De Anza Hotel Monterey
Best Western Monterey
Monterey Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.