We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2141 North Fremont Street, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #9 of 53 hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersBronze level
Atwater, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

My family and I stayed here on March 9, 2013. Needed a quick get-away from home and found the reviews on here to be better than all of the other hotels along the same price. The room was clean and some what updated. The beds were super comfy and actually slept great. The bathroom had plenty of towels and was clean.

The only downside to this hotel is the location. It backs up to an apartment complex which we found out at 3:30 am to be a problem. My entire family was awoken by very loud people from the apartment complex screaming and laughing and yelling. I even sleep with ear plugs and the noise still woke me up. The windows are old, which also helped the problem because newer windows would not have let that much noise into the room. There was a lot of condensation on the inside of the windows the next morning. My suggestion would be to request a room on the road side to avoid this problem. Maybe a little road noise is better than having being awoken by drunk people at 3:30 am.

The "breakfast" left something to be desired. I wouldn't even call it continental. It had some dry cinnamon roll things, some cereal and stuff like that. We ended up going to Denny's next door which was really convenient.

All in all, I will probably stay here again based on the rooms and the price. It seemed perfect for my family of 4.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deanza2141, General Manager at BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for your review of our property. I apologize for the noise issue you experienced during your stay. As you can tell from the other posted reviews, noise facing the back of the property is not generally a problem. I am glad to know that this would not stop you from staying with us in the future since you appreciate the quality of the room and the reasonable rate for your family of four.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    192
    192
    51
    13
    4
See reviews for
180
170
14
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vernon BC Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We usually stay at the De Anza when we are in Monterey and have never been disappointed. The staff are very professional and helpful. The rooms are clean and very large. We stayed in 304 and this room on the top floor comes with lots of windows and a couch. The king bed is one of the most comfortable we have experienced, as well as the comfy duvet and pillows. Complimentary breakfast in the lobby area starting at 7am, seating is limited though.

The location of the property gives easy access to many restaurants in and around the area. And along with the very good price makes this one of the best values in Monterey.

Room Tip: Would recommend Room 304.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deanza2141, General Manager at BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for your review of our property. You posted all the reasons we are such a great place to stay. The quality of the guest rooms, the professional staff, our close proximity to attractions
and our great value. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Monterey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Had a great stay here toward the end of Jan......very nice room, friendly staff and a great great hot tub and pool area, The breakfast was great for free, and the Denny's next door provided 24 hour snack options ( as well as other nearby establishments.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deanza2141, General Manager at BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you very much for your recent review of our property. We sincerely appreciate your taking the time to post your comments and sharing your experience with other travelers. Your title, "A great place to stay at a great price!!" says it all. Thanks again for your time and consideration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington Dc, District Of Columbia, Usa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Great hotel. Perfect location for my job and lots of restaurants in walking distance for dinner. Everyone was very professional and courteous. I will definitely stay there again next time I'm in Monterey.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deanza2141, General Manager at BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for your complimentary review of our property. We have a loyal following of corporate business for the reasons you mentioned. We realize not everyone that is traveling is on vacation, however, you still want to enjoy your stay. We sincerely appreciate your time and consideration .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

There were many hotels on Fremont st, but we chose Best Western De Anza because we trusted the name more and believe they carry a higher standard of cleanliness. Being that I'm pregnant and have a sensitive sense of smell, I was happy It didn't smell weird or musky in hotel or room. Very clean. No complaints, just wish it was closer to aquarium for the price. Dennys next door, bowling alley on other side.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deanza2141, General Manager at BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Thank you for your review of our property and 5 out of 5 rating. We are proud of the quality accommodations and value we provide our guests. We can offer such a great value due to our location just 3.54 miles away from the Monterey Bay Aquarium. Thanks again for taking the time to post your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We spent one night here in October, 2012, when we drove down the coast. We chose it because it was less expensive than staying in Carmel-by-the-sea but convenient to Carmel. We had planned to go to the Monterey Aquarium, but ran out of time because we decided to return to Carmel the morning after we checked out. This hotel is just a 5-minute drive down the road from Carmel. Our room was clean and comfortable and the continental breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deanza2141, General Manager at BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you very much for your review of our property. We appreciate your mentioning our close proximity to local attractions and the quality of the room. We hope to welcome you on your next visit to Monterey. Thanks again for your consideration
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We had made reservations and the booking was fixed - for 28 people - and we had a printout of the booking with us, when we arrived at the hotel at 6 p.m. . Only the front desk person said he couldn´t find our booking in the system. And the printout did not help either as the hotel was booked out. The front desk however was helping us with finding another hotel, which was the Holiday Inn Express in Monterey - see there - .There isn´t much to write about the Best Western De Anza Inn as we didn´t get the chance to check in. This is just to warn everybody to reconfirm the reservation at this hotel to make real sure...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deanza2141, General Manager at BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
I was sorry to hear of your reservation issue from September 2012, however, I believe you have posted your review to the wrong property. Please contact me directly so I may determine how you arrived at our location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn

Address: 2141 North Fremont Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Monterey
#8 Green Hotel in Monterey
#9 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#15 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only three and a half miles from the top attraction, Monterey Bay Aquarium, our Monterey hotel is a great value with reasonable rates. Cannery Row and Fisherman's Wharf are just a short drive. Guests at our Monterey hotel can choose to spend the day lounging at the beach or exploring the local city. Seafood reigns supreme at the local restaurants, and there's an abundance of shopping to be had. The Monterey Peninsula offers travelers everything necessary for a memorable vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus De Anza Hotel Monterey
Best Western Monterey
Monterey Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.