We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Quiet, Friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2141 North Fremont Street, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #10 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersBronze level
Palo Alto, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Clean, Quiet, Friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed here to run a local running race. The hotel is clean, quiet, and the staff was friendly. The free breakfast in the lobby is good; there are several food options. The bed linens and pillows were extra crisp and pretty luxurious. The hotel is next to a Denny's. It's a short drive to Cannery Row and Fort Ord National Monument. One downside is there is some sort of adult establishment across the street.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deanza2141, General Manager at BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your recent review of our property. We appreciate your mentioning the quality of the breakfast as well as the comfort of the linens. We are grateful you took the time to post your comments and were happy to receive a 4 out of 5 rating.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    202
    58
    17
    4
See reviews for
192
177
14
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Bruno, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

After I told my wife we spent under $90/night to stay here, she was pleasantly surprised - and so was I after staying here.

The room was clean and spacious. Heater worked great. And the bathroom was a good size too. The hot water was insanely hot but in a good way.

King bed was really comfortable and there was a sofa sleeper in the room too. I tried to get my 4 yr old to sleep on it but she wanted to sleep with mommy and daddy for the night.

I read the reviews about the continental breakfast so when I went downstairs to check it out, I wasn't disappointed at all. There is a Denny's next door so if you want an inexpensive meal, you can easily walk right over. On the other side of the hotel is a restaurant called Monterey Cookhouse and they have great food and excellent service.

The walls are thin but I sort of expected based on earlier reviews. It was MLK holiday weekend but it wasn't noisy or crowded. Not a lot of traffic on the main road (Fremont St) either.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deanza2141, General Manager at BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you very much for your complimentary review of our property. We appreciate your taking the time to provide a detailed account of your stay. We strive to deliver both a great value and
quality accommodations. Your comments let us know we are providing both to our guests. Thanks again for your consideration and five out of five rating.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, CA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Forget staying close to Cannery Row or the Aquarium and stay at the De Anza Inn! It's just a short drive to all the major sites and you can save a lot of $$$. The parking is free, the adequate breakfast is free, the WiFi is free, and our room was large, quiet, and comfortable. Couldn't ask for more--Well, maybe have more tables for eating breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deanza2141, General Manager at BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and the five out of five rating. You mentioned many of our top amenities and also the great value we provide. Most guests appreciate being only 3.54 miles from the Monterey Bay Aquarium. We hope you will choose to stay with us on your next visit to the Monterey Peninsula. Thanks again for your time and consideration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, ca
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The people who work here, from the front desk to the cleaning staff, are very friendly and accommodating. This made us so comfortable that we extended our stay! Hotel is not really within walking distance of downtown (about 2 miles). it is within biking distance. Nevertheless, with the great customer service and reasonable prices, this hotel is very much worth it!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deanza2141, General Manager at BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your complimentary review of our property. Your enthusiasm about the service and experience you had during your stay was greatly appreciated. We are happy you chose to extend your stay and look forward to the opportunity to welcome you on your next visit to Monterey. We are grateful you took the time to post your comments. Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We decided to pick this hotel because of the reviews, we didn't need luxury and had amenities we wanted. The way our gps took us in was a bit interesting but as soon as we spotted the hotel we were impressed. The hotel is clean and well maintained. Check in was quick and very friendly. We got a room on the 2nd floor right by the lobby but never once heard any noise. The room was very large with table and chairs.

After our last hotel my daughter was thrilled she could access Wi-Fi in the room! big plus! Also this hotel has direct TV with tons of channels to chose from.

It seems like it is outside Monterey but it is only 1 exit down and only took about 10 minutes to get into the area. There is a Safeway about a mile down and a Denny's right next door. Breakfast was a basic continental, fruit, instant oatmeal packets, 4 types of cereal, juice etc. Perfectly okay for what we needed.

The beds were very comfy and the only real complaint I could see was the water out of the tub faucet was very strong but as soon as we flipped to shower it was very weak. Plus got very hot when the toilet was flushed. Not a big deal. Just took longer in the shower to rinse my thick hair.

Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: Very small hotel all rooms I am sure are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deanza2141, General Manager at BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Thank you very much for your complimentary review of our property. We appreciate your taking the time to post your detailed comments and felt the review title, "Fantastic Budget Hotel" said it all. We hope you will stay with us again on your next visit to Monterey. Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

This is a modern well appointed hotel in that hotel/commercial fringe zone of the town. Suitable for an overnight stop. The staff were extremely polite and efficient and the room was very comfortable, big and quiet. There is no dining in the hotel but a very good diner, the Monterey Cookhouse, close by saved the day. Otherwise the location is a cultural desert. The breakfast was a joke. THREE tables in a corner of the lobby and plastic and cardboard food. The eggs were probably cooked the day they opened and reheated every morning. If you value just quiet, sleep, clean, one night, it's quite OK.

Room Tip: The front rooms overlook the main road so side or back rooms might be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deanza2141, General Manager at BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for your recent review of our property. Most of our guests appreciate our convenient
proximity to local attractions and the value we offer not being in the center of town. I am sorry you were disappointed with the breakfast. Unfortunately, we do not have a full kitchen and must microwave scrambled egg patties & sausage links fresh daily. We do appreciate your 4 out of 5 rating given the words used in your review title. Thanks again for your time and consideration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn

Address: 2141 North Fremont Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#8 Green Hotel in Monterey
#9 Family Hotel in Monterey
#20 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only three and a half miles from the top attraction, Monterey Bay Aquarium, our Monterey hotel is a great value with reasonable rates. Cannery Row and Fisherman's Wharf are just a short drive. Guests at our Monterey hotel can choose to spend the day lounging at the beach or exploring the local city. Seafood reigns supreme at the local restaurants, and there's an abundance of shopping to be had. The Monterey Peninsula offers travelers everything necessary for a memorable vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus De Anza Hotel Monterey
Best Western Monterey
Monterey Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.