We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2141 North Fremont Street, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn a $50 Gift Card
Ranked #8 of 53 hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Francisco, ca
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great service!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The people who work here, from the front desk to the cleaning staff, are very friendly and accommodating. This made us so comfortable that we extended our stay! Hotel is not really within walking distance of downtown (about 2 miles). it is within biking distance. Nevertheless, with the great customer service and reasonable prices, this hotel is very much worth it!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deanza2141, General Manager at BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your complimentary review of our property. Your enthusiasm about the service and experience you had during your stay was greatly appreciated. We are happy you chose to extend your stay and look forward to the opportunity to welcome you on your next visit to Monterey. We are grateful you took the time to post your comments. Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    167
    167
    45
    10
    4
See reviews for
158
149
13
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We decided to pick this hotel because of the reviews, we didn't need luxury and had amenities we wanted. The way our gps took us in was a bit interesting but as soon as we spotted the hotel we were impressed. The hotel is clean and well maintained. Check in was quick and very friendly. We got a room on the 2nd floor right by the lobby but never once heard any noise. The room was very large with table and chairs.

After our last hotel my daughter was thrilled she could access Wi-Fi in the room! big plus! Also this hotel has direct TV with tons of channels to chose from.

It seems like it is outside Monterey but it is only 1 exit down and only took about 10 minutes to get into the area. There is a Safeway about a mile down and a Denny's right next door. Breakfast was a basic continental, fruit, instant oatmeal packets, 4 types of cereal, juice etc. Perfectly okay for what we needed.

The beds were very comfy and the only real complaint I could see was the water out of the tub faucet was very strong but as soon as we flipped to shower it was very weak. Plus got very hot when the toilet was flushed. Not a big deal. Just took longer in the shower to rinse my thick hair.

Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: Very small hotel all rooms I am sure are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deanza2141, General Manager at BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Thank you very much for your complimentary review of our property. We appreciate your taking the time to post your detailed comments and felt the review title, "Fantastic Budget Hotel" said it all. We hope you will stay with us again on your next visit to Monterey. Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

This is a modern well appointed hotel in that hotel/commercial fringe zone of the town. Suitable for an overnight stop. The staff were extremely polite and efficient and the room was very comfortable, big and quiet. There is no dining in the hotel but a very good diner, the Monterey Cookhouse, close by saved the day. Otherwise the location is a cultural desert. The breakfast was a joke. THREE tables in a corner of the lobby and plastic and cardboard food. The eggs were probably cooked the day they opened and reheated every morning. If you value just quiet, sleep, clean, one night, it's quite OK.

Room Tip: The front rooms overlook the main road so side or back rooms might be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deanza2141, General Manager at BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for your recent review of our property. Most of our guests appreciate our convenient
proximity to local attractions and the value we offer not being in the center of town. I am sorry you were disappointed with the breakfast. Unfortunately, we do not have a full kitchen and must microwave scrambled egg patties & sausage links fresh daily. We do appreciate your 4 out of 5 rating given the words used in your review title. Thanks again for your time and consideration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Maria, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Have stayed here many many times, great prices, clean, big rooms. Very friendly staff. Off the main tourist area, but, very easy to get around to all the popular spots in Monterey. We visit the area two or three times a year and will continue to stay here.

Room Tip: all non smoking rooms.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deanza2141, General Manager at BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Thank you for your complimentary review of our property. As you stated we are close to local
attractions and offer spacious, ultra clean rooms. We sincerely appreciate your continued patronage. Please mention your Trip Advisor post so that we may thank in person. Happy holidays & safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We had an overnight stay in a 2 queen room. The hotel was older style but still clean with a reasonable amount of room. The room was very warm and we had to sleep with the overhead fan on all night. Staff were friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was provided and it suited our needs. Cereal toast, pastries, sausages,fried eggs,juice and coffee.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deanza2141, General Manager at BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you for your recent review of our property. We appreciate your complimentary comments and were happy to know that you had an enjoyable stay. It appears you were in Monterey during our heat spell since you found your room was warm. Thanks again for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

A friend and I were traveling up the California coast. We'd decided to stop for the night in Monterey. We didn't have a reservation but found this lovely hotel. It has a beautiful lobby with a koi pond. The staff was wonderful and took good care of us. The gentleman at the desk recommended The Old Fisherman's Grotto for dinner and it was very good.

The rooms are clean and very comfortable. It is right across the street from the grounds were the Jazz Festival is held. We happened to be there during the festival and could hear the music through the window! The prices for the room during the festival go up but it was well worth the money to have such a nice place to stay.

The hotel is near several restaurants and an easy drive to the Montery attractions. The hotel has a nice breakfast with hot and cold foods. We enjoyed our stay here even though it was just one night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deanza2141, General Manager at BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you very much for your thoughtful review of our property. Your detailed comments highlighted the best of what we have to offer guests. We appreciate your letting others know about your positive experience during your stay. We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Spotlessly clean, fresh-smelling, quiet, and courteous service. There were 4 of us in the room, and they kept giving us only 3 sets of towels, but were quick and pleasant about bringing us an add'l set. Right next door to Monterey Cookhouse restaurant, which was surprisingly good. The room had a safe, microwave, and fridge, which I believe are in every room. The pool looks very tiny and not too inviting, but since the weather was cold, we didn't even get near it. The hotel is not that close to the tourist attractions, but for the price, it was perfect for us.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deanza2141, General Manager at BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for your review and five out of five rating. We were happy to know you were "very pleased" with your stay. As you stated, we may not be in the center of town but we are only 3.54 miles from the Monterey Bay Aquarium and we were perfect for you because of our value!
Thanks again taking the time to post your comments. We sincerely appreciate your consideration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn

Also Known As:
Best Western Plus De Anza Hotel Monterey
Best Western Plus De Anza Hotel
Best Western Monterey
Monterey Best Western
Address: 2141 North Fremont Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Monterey
#7 Green Hotel in Monterey
#17 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only three and a half miles from the top attraction, Monterey Bay Aquarium, our Monterey hotel is a great value with reasonable rates. Cannery Row and Fisherman's Wharf are just a short drive. Guests at our Monterey hotel can choose to spend the day lounging at the beach or exploring the local city. Seafood reigns supreme at the local restaurants, and there's an abundance of shopping to be had. The Monterey Peninsula offers travelers everything necessary for a memorable vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Best Western, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.