We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great plce” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2141 North Fremont Street, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #10 of 53 hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersBronze level
Santa Maria, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great plce”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Have stayed here many many times, great prices, clean, big rooms. Very friendly staff. Off the main tourist area, but, very easy to get around to all the popular spots in Monterey. We visit the area two or three times a year and will continue to stay here.

Room Tip: all non smoking rooms.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deanza2141, General Manager at BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Thank you for your complimentary review of our property. As you stated we are close to local
attractions and offer spacious, ultra clean rooms. We sincerely appreciate your continued patronage. Please mention your Trip Advisor post so that we may thank in person. Happy holidays & safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    194
    196
    57
    15
    4
See reviews for
187
173
14
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We had an overnight stay in a 2 queen room. The hotel was older style but still clean with a reasonable amount of room. The room was very warm and we had to sleep with the overhead fan on all night. Staff were friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was provided and it suited our needs. Cereal toast, pastries, sausages,fried eggs,juice and coffee.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deanza2141, General Manager at BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you for your recent review of our property. We appreciate your complimentary comments and were happy to know that you had an enjoyable stay. It appears you were in Monterey during our heat spell since you found your room was warm. Thanks again for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

A friend and I were traveling up the California coast. We'd decided to stop for the night in Monterey. We didn't have a reservation but found this lovely hotel. It has a beautiful lobby with a koi pond. The staff was wonderful and took good care of us. The gentleman at the desk recommended The Old Fisherman's Grotto for dinner and it was very good.

The rooms are clean and very comfortable. It is right across the street from the grounds were the Jazz Festival is held. We happened to be there during the festival and could hear the music through the window! The prices for the room during the festival go up but it was well worth the money to have such a nice place to stay.

The hotel is near several restaurants and an easy drive to the Montery attractions. The hotel has a nice breakfast with hot and cold foods. We enjoyed our stay here even though it was just one night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deanza2141, General Manager at BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you very much for your thoughtful review of our property. Your detailed comments highlighted the best of what we have to offer guests. We appreciate your letting others know about your positive experience during your stay. We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Spotlessly clean, fresh-smelling, quiet, and courteous service. There were 4 of us in the room, and they kept giving us only 3 sets of towels, but were quick and pleasant about bringing us an add'l set. Right next door to Monterey Cookhouse restaurant, which was surprisingly good. The room had a safe, microwave, and fridge, which I believe are in every room. The pool looks very tiny and not too inviting, but since the weather was cold, we didn't even get near it. The hotel is not that close to the tourist attractions, but for the price, it was perfect for us.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deanza2141, General Manager at BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for your review and five out of five rating. We were happy to know you were "very pleased" with your stay. As you stated, we may not be in the center of town but we are only 3.54 miles from the Monterey Bay Aquarium and we were perfect for you because of our value!
Thanks again taking the time to post your comments. We sincerely appreciate your consideration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

My wife and her parents stayed at your wonderful hotel last weekend and had a wonderful time. The staff was very friendly and helpful. There customer service was above reproach, red carpet treatment from the time we checked in, until the day we left. Definately will stay here again when we come to Monterey!

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deanza2141, General Manager at BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your complimentary review of our property. We strive to deliver exceptional and friendly service. Thanks for letting us know you appreciated our accommodations and staff. We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you on your next visit to the Monterey Peninsula.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I booked this hotel for a birthday weekend getaway for my boyfriend. Unsure of what to expect we were most pleasantly surprised. The hotel and the room looked exactly as seen on-line.
the hotel's Plus, was the staff, Ms. Patti in particular. All of the staff were friendly, professional and courteously conscious of their guests at all times. Patti, was extremely delightful to talk with; she knows the area well, and referred us to quite a few nice places to dine. Her directions to the local attractions was extremely helpful. The free breakfast offered was also a plus. More than expected. The coffee was very good as well. It was offered through the day and evening. We look forward to our next stay in Monterey at the BW Plus Deanza Inn. Patti, THANK YOU and staff. :).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deanza2141, General Manager at BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you very much for your complimentary review of our property and staff. Your thoughtful words and enthusiasm were greatly appreciated. I am fortunate to have a great staff that are caring and want the guest to enjoy their stay. Thank you for telling me about your experience with Patti and the rest of my wonderful team. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Monterey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Amherst, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

While DeAnza is a little outside of the waterfront area, the hotel is quiet, clean and our room was huge. Sofa and easy chair were a plus. Firm but comfortable mattress. Staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was basic but offered eggs and sausages with sweet rolls. Coffee was surprisingly good. We are traveling down the coast of California and this was a pleasant, economical surprise.

Room Tip: ask for a king suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deanza2141, General Manager at BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you very much for your review of our property. Your complimentary comments regarding both the room and our afforable rates were appreciated. We are happy to know your stay with us was pleasant. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Monterey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn

Address: 2141 North Fremont Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Monterey
#8 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#9 Family Hotel in Monterey
#12 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only three and a half miles from the top attraction, Monterey Bay Aquarium, our Monterey hotel is a great value with reasonable rates. Cannery Row and Fisherman's Wharf are just a short drive. Guests at our Monterey hotel can choose to spend the day lounging at the beach or exploring the local city. Seafood reigns supreme at the local restaurants, and there's an abundance of shopping to be had. The Monterey Peninsula offers travelers everything necessary for a memorable vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus De Anza Hotel Monterey
Best Western Monterey
Monterey Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.