We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair acomidations” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Bay Park to your Saves list
Bay Park
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1425 Munras Ave., Monterey, CA 93940   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Getaway in Monterey!
Ranked #50 of 54 Hotels in Monterey
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    44
    33
    21
    17
See reviews for
40
45
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We have been staggered by some of the good reviews for this property. There must be some big variations in room standards here. The reception is a bad start.....dark, dingy, old fashioned. Our room we had confirmed since late in 2012 was for 3 adults with 2 queens and a rollaway. We were shocked to be told it was not available. So even though they had accepted and confirmed our reservation for a room with this bedding we were greeted with "oh no...we can't put a rollaway in those rooms, it's a fire hazard". They offered no solution. The woman on the front desk called a "manager" and kept switching between English and Spanish in front of us which was very ignorant and unprofessional as she actually spoke good English. Even though the hotel was like a ghost town they refused to give us a second room. We ended up having to accept a king room with a rollaway....the filthiest, dirtiest, oldest rollaway we've ever encountered. The rollaway turned up later and being late and with the hotel not caring about our situation we were stuck. We had to put the filthy rollaway mattress on the floor and cover it in towels as the base was ancient, filthy and sagging and made it worse.

The curtains in the room only went half way down the window. We didn't realise until during the night that the bottom half of the window had only been painted with something so that during the night the room was flooded with light.

The electrics were bizarre and dangerous looking too. If you don't have a car this hotel is too far out. We had to get taxis everywhere which was expensive. Also, enjoy the view over the boarded up petrol station outside your window.

Only highlight was the restaurant was good. So many better options in beautiful Monterey, This place has seen better days

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pottsville,Pa.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I traveling with tour group were taken to the Bay Park---best advice we can give---don't Go there!Room was deplorable,smelly,terrible room.pet friendly,looked as though pets used carpets not grass! We had to check out immediately and find another hotel ,no way could we spend the night there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwforestparkinn, Guest Relations Manager at Bay Park, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
I am very sorry to hear that the hotel did not suit you as well as it might have. Of course we want all of our guests to enjoy their experience at our hotel and really apologize that this was not the case for you.

Best regards,

Andrea Chavez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

There are many cheap motels around, but this one stands out in quality. Huge rooms, big windows in the rooms where you can look out and actually have a view, nice restaurant inside the hotel, walking distance to a mall. All that for the price that is only slightly bigger than the cheap motels around it! Nice value.
Beds are comfortable, rooms are large, TV is there... everything for a night comfort, not much beyond, but quite satisfactory and a good choice if you want to stay in the area.

Room Tip: Higher floor for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwforestparkinn, Guest Relations Manager at Bay Park, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for sharing your great experience with us on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your return in the future!

Best Regards,

Andrea Chavez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed here in 7/4/13 . The room is clean. The furniture is contemporary as well as the restroom ( I guess they have remodeled the hotel recently). It is also located near the highway 1 and a shopping center (2 minutes drive). It is very convenient! To my surprise, there is gas station next to the hotel ( I do not mind because I need to fill up my gas tank before leaving for San Francisco). The only complain is that the lights in hallway are not that bright and the Fan is a little bit loud. Overall, I am satisfied with the hotel.

Room Tip: Pick a room not facing the gas station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwforestparkinn, Guest Relations Manager at Bay Park, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Simon Y,

Thank you for reviewing your experience with us on your recent stay at Bay Park Hotel. We are so pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay. We're glad that you found our services and amenities to be of real benefit for your travels. We are very thankful you shared this with us and with others. We look forward to your next visit in beautiful Monterey, CA.

Best Regards,

Andrea Chavez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We found the Bay Park quite satisfactory.
Pets were welcome .
Room was nice .
Price was reasonable.
Food was quite good for a Motel restaurant.
Staff was nice .
Will stay here again.
I have been coming to Monterrey all my life.Jazz festival every Sept.
I've stayed at properties of every stripe I was pleasantly surprised to find this place.

Room Tip: On the Highway one side it is a little bit noisy.My Girlfriend opened the window and left it open al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwforestparkinn, Guest Relations Manager at Bay Park, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Hello PaulnTina_13,

Thank you for sharing your great experience with us on Trip Advisor. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Bay Park Hotel. We look forward to your return in September for the Jazz festival!

Kindly,

Andrea Chavez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

They are regular hotel rooms and were remodeling some things in rooms like new windows and paint (May 2013). They just put in new beds which were very comfortable. Good location and very close to Pebble Beach and
Carmel as they are the furthest up Munras Ave. (Motel Row) towards Carmel. Rates go up four fold for special event times like the AT&T golf
tournament and August around the Concours De Elegance car show. Good clean basic Hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the pool and not facing Highway 1. They are doing some remodeling Spring 2013 and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwforestparkinn, Guest Relations Manager at Bay Park, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Ricardo H,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Bay Park Hotel. We are pleased that our amenities met your expectations. We did, indeed, install new windows and paint rooms. Thank you for providing that information in your review. We have more great things coming to Bay Park Hotel in the near future so we hope to see you back soon.

Best Regards,
Andrea Chavez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.0 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Mariposa Inn and Suites
Mariposa Inn and Suites
#32 of 54 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 stars 593 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 54 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 stars 1,535 reviews
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
3.1 mi away
Unscripted Monterey Bay
Unscripted Monterey Bay
#38 of 54 in Monterey
3.5 of 5 stars 1,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Park

Address: 1425 Munras Ave., Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 54 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Park 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bay Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Park Monterey
Bay Park Hotel Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.