We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Monterey Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Old Monterey Inn to your Saves list
Old Monterey Inn
500 Martin St., Monterey, CA 93940   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Monterey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Perth Western Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

What a gorgeous property. We stayed in November, travelling with friends and mother in law. The rooms were amazing, just as we had expected from the website. The hosts were friendly and informative, and we really enjoyed breakfast with the other guests. The grounds are beautiful and the misty rain made it even more romantic. We travelled from Australia and would definitely stay again. Thank you Katy and team.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    26
    8
    7
    5
See reviews for
16
292
18
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oakton, Virginia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

A fairy tale getaway...every corner of the inn has something special. Gorgeous grounds, private patios, beautifully decorated rooms, gourmet breakfasts, wine and cheese with music in the afternoons, chocolates as you leave. I stayed in The Library, spending delightful hours reading in front of the fire. Katy and the staff did everything to ensure guests were comfortable and happy. A five star experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

My boyfriend and I just spent two nights at this lovely inn and it met or exceeded our expectations. We had a room with a fireplace and jacuzzi-style tub. The first morning we had breakfast in bed and the second morning we joined other guests in the beautiful dining room. Both breakfasts were delicious.

Our hostess Katy and her staff were charming. Saturday afternoon we spent a little time in the living room where we enjoyed wine and cheese. There was a piano player entertaining us as well.

Don't forget to wander outside - the gardens are lovely.

We then headed off to our romantic bonfire at Carmel Beach. Katy will set it all up for you, complete with blanket, picnic basket with goodies and everything for smores including the sticks!

One of the nice features is that this 1929 property is in excellent condition yet hasn't been "modernized" as many places often are - so it is still quite quaint! I can't wait to go again next year :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We have stayed in many bed and breakfasts across the globe and found Old Monterey Inn at the top of the list - beautiful grounds, lovely room, elegant and comfortable home with lots of special touches - piano player during the wine and appetizer hours, coffee and cookies available, breakfast could be brought to your room or you could go to the dining room, chocolates as a thank you gift as we left - we will look forward to coming back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We could not have stayed at a better place for this long planned trip. Katy and her staff made sure our stay was comfortable and gracious. We enjoyed our mornings meeting interesting people as we shared gourmet breakfasts at a table set with colorful china complete with lit candles and a fireplace. We compared notes on restaurants and where the best sightseeing spots were. The inn is located in a residential section of Monterey and was a great place to base our day trips from. The Library Room has its own balcony overseeing the gorgeous English style garden and was extremely quiet. Everett made excellent dinner reservations and was extremely helpful with our agenda during our four day stay. Overall - great place for a return visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We recently had the privilege of spending two nights at the Old Monterey Inn. A fantastic few days-- from our welcome to our departure. We loved the gardens on the grounds, amazed at the beautiful blooming flowers in early Feb., and only wished we had arrived during a season we could have spent more time outdoors. Recommendations from our host Katie were always helpful. Breakfast was really great both days, but I was craving just a little bit of bacon with the French Toast (an understandable commitment to no meats for meals). Cheese and wine each afternoon was really nice, plus the tawny port available 24-7 was hard to beat. I would suggest varying the wine selection from Chateau Julian, but again, the desire to support the local vineyard was understandable. Overall-- felt our time at Old Monterey was nearly perfection, and the room was fairly affordable-- we enjoyed the wood burning fireplace in the Rookery.

Room Tip: We looked a couple of the suites, looked very nice-- but again, happy with space in the Rookery. Thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Each and every detail at this beautiful Inn was attended to with care!
From the moment that we booked our special event from the beautiful and true to life website, to the assistance of finding an officiant (and photographer and florist), we enjoyed and appreciated the coziness of the lovely Garden Cottage, the stunning gardens, the delicious, well-presented breakfasts, the helpful and friendly staff, the decadent massages, we could go on and on... We enjoyed a restful, relaxing, beautiful, peaceful and romantic experience at the The Old Monterey Inn. Katy, her staff, and her Inn exceeded our expectations! Thank you for making our special day so beautiful and memorable....
Frank & Angela
Ontario Canada

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Monterey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Monterey Inn

Address: 500 Martin St., Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and discover the most romantic bed and breakfast in Monterey, CA. Our Monterey B&B features luxurious rooms and suites with comfy beds, fireplaces and spa tubs. Enjoy a delicious gourmet breakfast or stroll the breathtaking gardens of our Monterey luxury inn. A peaceful and secluded atmosphere only minutes to everything in downtown Monterey. Experience what true luxury and comfort can be at our unforgettable Monterey bed and breakfast, a Select Registry property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B and Odigeo so you can book your Old Monterey Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Monterey Hotel Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Monterey Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.