We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Monterey Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Old Monterey Inn to your Saves list
Old Monterey Inn
500 Martin St., Monterey, CA 93940   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off Midweek Rates
Ranked #1 of 12 Monterey B&B and Inns
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Our Treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here four times over five years - each time has been a delight. The present owner has made it an even more delightful event. Being creatures of habit, we always stay in the same room. It has always looked fresh, newly painted, and no dust anywhere. Breakfast in our sitting room next to the fire is always a treat. Due to an emergency at work, I had to call to cancel at the last minute after the cancellation deadline. I fully expected to 'eat' the cost of the trip but the owner allowed me to schedule out two weeks later. At $600/night, that was no small gesture. For intimacy, this is our favorite stay; rivaled for us only by Hotel Del in San Diego, and the concierge floor at Grove Park Inn in NC.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    24
    8
    7
    5
See reviews for
14
277
16
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Camarillo, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed in the Rookery room for four nights, including Christmas. We enjoyed our stay immensely. The setting was very pleasant; the common area was warm and inviting, especially with all of the Christmas decorations. We were very impressed with the staff. All were extremely friendly and informative. The breakfast setting encouraged an atmosphere of pleasant discussion with the other guests. We came away with a definite feeling of "family" with staff and other guests.
Ward L.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
270 helpful votes 270 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The new owners Katy and Lawrence both have been, and are in the process of making many lovely improvements to an already wonderful Inn.

New paint on the interiors in Ashford Suite, Mayfield and Garden Cottage; new very soft high thread count sheets on the incredibly comfortable feather beds; new larger sinks in some of the bathrooms; new fabrics on some of the chairs, new furniture pieces, new gas starters for some of the fireplaces, etc.

The half-acre garden belongs in Home & Garden magazine, it is tended with meticulous care. The lawn is a lush velvety green, the paths are raked and smooth, and the various flowers, ferns, trees etc., all healthy and properly trimmed.

The Inn was tastefully decorated for the holidays, making it warm and welcoming with lots of white lights gracing the exterior at night, while in the living room there is a huge tree, and a crackling fire in the fireplace on those crisp cool winter nights.

Everett, Yesme, Araceley and others on staff are very gracious and welcoming, helpful, well-mannered and go out of their way to be of assistance, and keep things running smoothly in the immaculate 3 story house.

Katy made me feel welcome as soon as I arrived. Her husband Lawrence did as well, immediately taking my suitcase up to the 2nd floor Library room where I would be staying for 4 nights.

The Library room was charmingly lined with books, and spotlessly clean with an inviting king sized bed with navy & maroon duvet and comfy pillows, 2 chairs, windows on three sides that let in plenty of light, and a wonderful fireplace.

There were nice amenities in the bathroom, and a new bathrobe to wear as well.

Breakfast each morning was excellent. From the orange juice, to the choice of different teas or coffee, to the hot and fluffy artichoke & mushroom strata, or the delicious granola with fresh strawberries, or the cobbler with fresh fruit, flaky croissant, cornbread, eggs with green chilis.

In all my years of coming to the Inn, these were the best breakfasts of all. The breakfast items are the same, but the recipes have been tweaked and improved with less sugar, sauteed mushrooms, high quality fresh fruit, etc. and it is really a treat.
All of it was so good each morning that I devoured every bite and was happily full.

Everett made reservations for me at a very good italian restaurant in Carmel. He also made some delicious fresh cookies in the afternoon. (He's going to go to Culinary School soon - how lucky for all of us as guests that he can experiment with such success here first!)

The housekeepers made my room up beautifully with fresh sheets and clean towels every day.

It was great to go out during the day, and have such happy anticipation at "coming home" to the charming English Tudor style Inn.
With the Del Monte Shopping Center just five to ten minutes away, and Carmel and Pebble Beach about a fifteen minute drive, and the famous Aquarium maybe 15 - 20 minutes away, the Inn is really perfectly situated in Monterey.

Owners Katy and Lawrence are very hands-on, and their obvious care and commitment to making this Inn one of the best B&B's in the USA clearly shows in every decision:)

Room Tip: My personal favorite is the Brightstone suite in the back with its queen bed and gracious sitting ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

My stay here was beyond lovely! I was treated exceptionally well, and I've never had more comfortable and relaxing accommodations away from home. I stayed at the Tattershall during the first week of December so the Christmas decor added to the ambiance. The 'lobby' area was so relaxing: the warm fire, the jazzy classical Christmas music and the wine and hors d'oeuvres served late afternoon was perfection and provided the right closure to the day.

Breakfast was very delicious and abundant- guests could dine in the dining room with the other guests or guests could opt to have it delivered to their room. Please take note that as of this writing, breakfast is vegetarian due to the size of the inn (gov't regulations)...but don't panic!! Vegetarian does not mean they serve tofu and oatmeal. Breakfast is high-end and extremely fresh and local (delicate parfaits, chocolate croissants, baked eggs, cheese blintzes, etc) and is a crowd-pleaser. The menu is displayed the night before at the reception table.

The amenities were beyond what I expected: lush toiletries, abundant snacks, hot water for tea available during practically all times, robes and slippers and even spa treatments you could choose from and other packages for couples.

Attention to detail is taken quite seriously. Every effort was made to make sure that I was comfortable and that any reservations/excursions/outings were accommodated since their reputation in the area means they are able to offer their guests a little more exclusivity.

The location is in a very residential neighborhood so it was very quiet at night!

Room Tip: My preference is off-season for any trip. I practically had the whole inn to myself and was given a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

My husband and I were given a generous gift certificate for this lovely place and used it in late August of this year. As others have noted, and we totally concur, everything from the room to the food to grounds was absolutely perfect!! We were very impressed with the type of care that went into everything, very unusual these days with the pervasive "do-it-yourself" mentality. Our stay was very restful and pleasant. It was heartwarming also to meet others at the breakfast table and get to know them, not by email or even cell phones but by actually talking to them. That's the type of atmosphere you find there. Don't forget to walk around the area, it is beautiful and you might just see a deer or two!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Just spent another memorable weekend at the "Inn". Each visit we are impressed with the rooms, the staff and the food. Every room is unique and tells its own story. The grounds are magical, peaceful and serene. The weather has been perfect for each visit. Try to take in as many sites as you can the scenery is spetacular.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

My husband and I recently celebrated our 33rd anniversary at the Old Monterey Inn. We spent one night in the Library Suite and two in the Ashford Suite which has a lovely sitting room. There is every attention to detail at this property down to the champagne for our anniversary that welcomed us to our room. The innkeepers, Katy and Larry are the consummate hosts. Katy serves the most delicious gourmet breakfasts.Yummy cookies will greet you in the afternoon when you return from a day of shopping, sightseeing, etc. Wine and light appetizers are served in the evening. The Inn had wonderful little note cards with directions printed on them for local restaurants, shopping and sightseeing. The staff was very helpful and knowledgeable with regard to restaurant reservations, directions and any thing you needed help with. A nice extra touch is a refrigerator for the guests that is stocked with juices, soda, yogurt and waters. You can also buy a discounted VIP ticket to the Monterey Aquarium at the front desk. I would return again in a heartbeat!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Monterey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Monterey Inn

Address: 500 Martin St., Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and discover the most romantic bed and breakfast in Monterey, CA. Our Monterey B&B features luxurious rooms and suites with comfy beds, fireplaces and spa tubs. Enjoy a delicious gourmet breakfast or stroll the breathtaking gardens of our Monterey luxury inn. A peaceful and secluded atmosphere only minutes to everything in downtown Monterey. Experience what true luxury and comfort can be at our unforgettable Monterey bed and breakfast, a Select Registry property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Old Monterey Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Monterey Hotel Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Monterey Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.