We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Up to snuff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chart House

Chart House
444 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-1433
831-372-3362
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Chart House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 267 Restaurants in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Drake Avenue
Chico, CA
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Up to snuff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Another fine Charthouse restaurant. The chain's standard is reliably excellent. The chopped spinach salad was uniquely good and the crab cake was a baseball of deliciously spiced crab with no distractions. Six diners, all very happy with their meals.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    299
    143
    54
    16
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Go there and sit in the window for a really great view. Service a little pushy. Food mediocre. I had scallops which were good but spoiled being served with tough beans. My husband, the sea bass served with a mixed salad on the same plate, which seemed a strange combination in a fine dining restaurant.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We celebrated our 34th anniversary at the Chart House. The staff went above and beyond making our special day even more special. It was a sweet surprise to see the top of our menu reading Happy 34th Anniversary Mr. and Mrs. ********.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Love this place. Great view and wonderful service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

We are very happy everytime we come eat here. Service very good. Very attentive and the food is the best!
Great view of the bay! Theyake you feel special when you visit!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Incredible experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Stayed at the Victorian Inn in Monterey where MIchele recommended the Chart House for dinner. She told them it was for a special mother/daughter outing and they got us seated immediately, 5:45, even though they originally had told her they couldn't seat anyone until 9:00. We were treated royally - beautiful roses on our table, great view of the bay. Our dinner was incredible - macadamia nut encrusted mahi that was a delightful taste treat. They even treated us to a free molten lava dessert. Memorable food and experience!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chart House also viewed

Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
 
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Chart House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chart House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.