We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chart House

Chart House
444 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-1433
831-372-3362
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Chart House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 225 Restaurants in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Entertaining clients, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Drake Avenue
MA
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We celebrated our 34th anniversary at the Chart House. The staff went above and beyond making our special day even more special. It was a sweet surprise to see the top of our menu reading Happy 34th Anniversary Mr. and Mrs. ********.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    301
    144
    54
    16
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Love this place. Great view and wonderful service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

We are very happy everytime we come eat here. Service very good. Very attentive and the food is the best!
Great view of the bay! Theyake you feel special when you visit!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Incredible experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Stayed at the Victorian Inn in Monterey where MIchele recommended the Chart House for dinner. She told them it was for a special mother/daughter outing and they got us seated immediately, 5:45, even though they originally had told her they couldn't seat anyone until 9:00. We were treated royally - beautiful roses on our table, great view of the bay. Our dinner was incredible - macadamia nut encrusted mahi that was a delightful taste treat. They even treated us to a free molten lava dessert. Memorable food and experience!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Very nice experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Great dinner for our anniversary.
Reservations made through Open Table. Got seated right on time. Had a chance to sit at the bar for 1/2 hour before dinner and was treated to great service with excellent drinks and appetizers (try the calamari and friends). Dinner was terrific. The food was prepared perfectly. Service was excellent- friendly and helpful. Even though it was a busy Saturday night with full booking, we were not rushed at all and made to feel very relaxed and comfortable. Very much enjoyed our dinner experience at this restaurant.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Not the best steak in the world, but good. GREAT views!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We were up here on our honeymoon, and had a gift card to the Chart House. We were staying at the Monterey Bay Inn, so we just walked to the Chart House (5-10min walk at most, I even did it in 4 inch heels, so it's close!) They had special menus printed for us that said "Congratulations to the new Mr & Mrs" which I thought was really cute, and they gave us their "best table" which was on a corner by this huge panoramic window with stunning views of the bay. The inside of the place is really nice, and the food was great...I've had better steaks, but it was still really good and the service was top notch.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chart House also viewed

Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
 
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Chart House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chart House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.