We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy we decided on Isabellas!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Isabella's on the Wharf

Isabella's on the Wharf
60 Fisherman's Wharf, Monterey, CA 93940
831.375.3956
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #86 of 257 restaurants in Monterey
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Sandy, Utah
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Happy we decided on Isabellas!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Deliciousness paired with the perfect ambience equals 'we'll be back'. We ordered the macadamia, coconut crusted Mahi. Loved every bite! Everything was delicious, including our free dessert which had an interesting addition on the side purely for dramatic effects, which was a tiny piece of dry ice in a small cup with water. Another nice touch was the live accordion playing romantic Italian music. We truly enjoyed ourselves!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

66% Recommend
    66
    68
    22
    16
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fair Oaks, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Another memorable experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We have been customers at Isabella's since 2010 and have never been disappointed. The owner, Tene Shake, has been on site several times and is very charming and courteous to all. He genuinely takes pride in the food and service. We had dinner here after renewing our wedding vows and the service was wonderful. We've never had a bad meal - everything has been delicious, from ravioli to seafood to chicken to beef. At this recent visit, they were out of a few menu items, so they gave us free dessert. Always a pleasure dining at Isabella's!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiddletown, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“New family favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

My daughter and I took the grandgirls to Monterey to the aquarium and wharf. We tasted all the clam chowder's all the way to the end to decide which place we were going to take the girls. We were so glad we decided to go to Isabellas. The service was perfect, the food was far better than anticipated. They had free (decadent) desserts with our entree's that came with a cup of dry ice for the halloween season. The girls got such a kick out that. We were all given long stemmed roses when we left and the price was very affordable for the meals we got. Our yearly trip tradition is the "Fishhopper" the family favorite. But the next night when we ate there we had wished we were at "Isabellas" So this will be our new family favorite for our yearly trip to the Monterey Bay Aquarium ;o)

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We came here after a whale watching trip for dinner & were seated right away. Everyone's food looked so good but I definitely have had better fish. I did a trio with Sea Bass, Salmon & Halibut, the Sea Bass was the only one I ate. The macadamia nut crusted fish that my friend got was excellent & thankfully big enough to share. The atmosphere was happy & relaxed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Lovely view of the wharf and water”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Nice choice of seafood and pasta. Free desserts for all four of us ! Delicious food and nice atmosphere. Very reasonable.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Isabella's on the Wharf also viewed

Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
 
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Isabella's on the Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Isabella's on the Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.