We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getting Better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Verde Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Casa Verde Inn to your Saves list
Casa Verde Inn
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2113 North Fremont Street, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 13 Monterey B&B and Inns
Chino Hills, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Getting Better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The new owner is fixing the rooms, so it will get better. I stayed the remodeled room with new carpet and beds. Flat TV was plus!!! After the stay, I had a brief talk with the owner, he said new furnitures are coming. I am expecting better room when I come back this area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    8
    5
    4
    15
See reviews for
7
11
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012 via mobile

I know this place might not look your best at first but they are under new management and under construction! They are trying there best to stay open while fixing one room at a time. Give this place some time to be all nice and ready and I bet it will be the best you'll ever experienced.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

Me and a friend arrived in Monterey and managed to get a room at this hotel last minute, we thought for the price we should be getting a decent room (we were wrong) We went to the office and got our key but when we got to the room we couldnt actually open the door, had to go back to the main office and get someone to help with opening the door. The staff were friendly.

The room was small, dark and felt unclean. After having been out for an evening meal we came back to the room (we managed to open the door ourselves this time) and went to bed. In the early hours of the morning the TV turned on by itself at a really high volume which scared me and my friend to bits.

The location of the hotel was ok, thankfully though we were only spending one night here.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Eww, is all i can say.. Before going to bed i grabbed a flashlight and checked the bed. Omg, Bedbugs everwhere running.. Large larve on the sides of the matresses..
Nasty.. Stay away!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

looked for a last minute place to stay. Would not recommend this place to anyone. The front desk staff was nice. however, can't say that about the foul smelling room. The sheets and tub and toilet were clean, the carpet filthy. There were signs of wear and tear everywhere. There was a very noisy group of men staying there and we were kept awake until after 2am. at $95 a night, I will be happy to spend more and go elsewhere next time I visit the area. lesson learned..We were also surprised to find out there is no wi-fi here. it's a norm for this day and age.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

If you are financially strapped then that may be the only excuse to stay at this hotel. It is filthy and falling apart. All night long people were yelling and banging against the walls. The second night there were police everywhere. THINK VERY CLEARLY BEFORE RESERVING A ROOM HERE.

ps: They have nice flowers outside the rooms.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011

We had read reviews in 2007 of a bed bug problem but was assured that it was long in the past. Woke up today to a bug crawling on my boyfriend's neck when he went into the bathroom and then discovered two more under the mattress. Luckily we were checking out that day but to all those potential future guests, I highly recommend that you find other accommodations.

There are other complaints that I could mention but really, what else needs to be said after listing bed bugs as the primary complaint?

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Verde Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Verde Inn

Address: 2113 North Fremont Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa Verde Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Casa Verde Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Verde Hotel Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Verde Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.