We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food! GREAT VIEW!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Torito Mexican Grill

El Torito Mexican Grill
600 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940
(831) 373-0611
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #143 of 267 Restaurants in Monterey
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Fresno
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good food! GREAT VIEW!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

A very nice inexpensive dinner. The food is $8-15 per person, and pretty good. But the view is terrific! Sitting right on the water in Monterey Bay, one can watch the waves, the otters, the sunset, sailboats and yachts. The setting is just great!! And as a customer you can park for free. I would definitely go back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    107
    53
    34
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best Mexican food by far”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Loved the food, great views of the sea and smiling staff. Best Mexican food on the whole of our road trip and we ate Mexican in San Francisco. Palm Springs and Vegas

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“good food, good price and incredible view of the sea at night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

if you like mexican food then go to this place. Good quality and the view of the sea at night is great as your table is just over the sea. The service was perfect even when we arrive really in the last moment almost when they were starting to close up.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris County, NJ
Top Contributor
741 reviews 741 reviews
321 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 204 cities Reviews in 204 cities
2,335 helpful votes 2,335 helpful votes
“Great view, great food, great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stopped here at sundown on a Tuesday night. We got a great table overlooking Monterey Bay. We both had tacos with a side of guaccomole. It was the best guaccamole that we had ever tasted. The service was great and the price was reasonable.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atwater, California
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Go for the view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Don't eat dinner here, but definitely got for drinks and appetizers which are typical of El Torito. Be prepared to fight for a table in the bar. Really fair prices nd better at happy hour.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Torito Mexican Grill also viewed

Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
 
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to El Torito Mexican Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Torito Mexican Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.