We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Castell Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added El Castell Motel to your Saves list
El Castell Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2102 North Fremont Street, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersSilver level
Littleton, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I am very particular where I stay. I would highly recomend this motel to everyone. Price very reasonable and room very clean. The only issue I had was accessing the wifi. Breakfast had a very good variety

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    126
    63
    21
    18
See reviews for
109
87
6
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Stayed for two nights with hubby and 7 year old.
To be perfectly honest the only thing I have to moan about is the fact that the young man on reception kept several people waiting whilst he was talking on the phone ( business or pleasure, he really should of ended the call sooner) .
The rooms were clean and tidy, and the pool came in handy for my son in the afternoon, the breakfast was also very nice.
All in all it was a comfortable stay and value for money...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Small but comfortable. Very clean and bed was comfortable. About four doors down was a party, but they quit about midnight and weren't so overly loud that we wanted to complain. All in all it was a nice place to stay; we'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuba City, California, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This was all in all a great place to stay. Not far from any attractions. The only problem is that the bed me and my wife slept on was noisy every time we made any movement. They said a new one is coming, but of course, we'll be gone. Otherwise, it was pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights on 4th and 5th July. Overall a pleasant stay. The room was well suited to our party of 5. We had a double room and a family room in one suite. The furniture was looking a little tired and only having one toilet was a problem especially as it was in the same room as the shower. Beds were very comfortable and the linen clean and changed daily along with towels. Breakfast was a little disappointing.....very basic and not much space. Both mornings I had to request for milk as the dispenser had run out. Value for money.....I would say average. Next time I would prob look for 2 separate rooms rather than the suite.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed here for a noght while visiting the neighboring attractions. The hotel is very basic, but this is what we were looking for. The room and shower were clean and fresh. Breakfast rich and tasty.

The one negative point I have - they did not have a rollaway bed, which meant all three kids had to share one queen bed. Not the end of the world, but you'd expect a hotel to be prepared for such a request.

Still, bottom line - recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

this place was fine for a quick stop- room was clean- bed was comfortable- staff was very friendly. It was very close to the airport and other amenities around town. At $69.99 you cant go wrong.
The only complaint was my closet doo rhad been kicked in by someone and had a huge hole on the bottom that no one had repaired.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Castell Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Castell Motel

Address: 2102 North Fremont Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — El Castell Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The type of the rooms include 1Q bed, 2Q beds and family suites. Rooms with a kitchenette are available as well. We are a 100% smoke-free hotel.Amenities include refrigerator, microwave oven, iron, iron board and hair dryer.The facilities also include free continental breakfast in the morning, free wired/wireless access to internet, free local & long distance calls, an indoor pool and guest laundry.It is close to restaurants, Safeway, Monterey Fairgounds, Monterey Downtown and many other attractions like Del Monte, Monterey Bay Aquarium, Monterey Convention center, Cannery Row, Pebble Beach, Fisherman's Wharf, Moss Landing, Mazda Laguna Seca Raceway, Carmel village and Monterey Wine County.Nearby major schools include California State University Monterey Bay (CSUMB), Monterey Peninsula college (MPC), York Academy and Santa Catalina School. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your El Castell Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Castell Hotel Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Castell Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.