We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My experience at El Castell Motel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of El Castell Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added El Castell Motel to your Saves list
El Castell Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2102 North Fremont Street, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 54 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersSilver level
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“My experience at El Castell Motel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

When we fists checked in we had a really nice services specially it was fast the what I like the most; the rooms where ok, the only thing the it might effect the guests' stacia the sound filtrates through the windows and it can get really loud inside the room. So I guess they need to work in the issue because there is a lot a movement and sound around that motel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJ P, Front Office Manager at El Castell Motel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for your review of El Castell Motel. I'm glad to hear that your check-in process was quick and painless. I appreciate the tip about the sound issue, we are always making improvements and our guest's feedback is more than helpful. Other than that, we hope you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you upon your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    167
    78
    25
    19
See reviews for
145
118
15
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Nice little hotel in Monterey CA. The girl who checked us in was lovely, nothing was too much trouble for her. We stayed for two nights and we were very comfortable. Rooms were nice and clean. There is a pool for guest use. There is also a simple complimentary breakfast which was very good. Only drawback was that it was a way out of town so a taxi ride was essential. Would we recommend? Definitely, a little gem of a place.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The room was clean and well adjusted. The staff was friendly and affable. It was a very pleasure to find a good breakfast with hot waffel. It is a place very quiet and I'm very satisfy.
I would recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJ P, Front Office Manager at El Castell Motel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review! We are pleased that you enjoyed our Belgian Waffles.We will soon be adding some eggs and fruit to our continental breakfast for more variety. We are so happy that you found your stay with El Castell Motel to be pleasant and look forward to next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

This motel was better than most 3 star hotels, room almost 4 star hotel standard, except size. Where to start, location excellent, secure parking, wifi works top notch, king size bed, flat tv, fridge, microwave, hairdryer, 2 cards instead of keys, super clean, good toilet...I really don't have any bad sides to this motel. Breakfast decent, cereals,muffins and stuff. My girl and me were super surprised in positive way. Highly reccomended.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJ P, Front Office Manager at El Castell Motel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for your fantastic review and high rating of our motel! We, here at El Castell Motel, work very hard to meet all of the needs of our guests to ensure a pleasant stay. We are overjoyed that you found our amenities to be more than satisfactory. Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and we look forward to seeing you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Our family of 4 (two adults, two young children) stayed 2 nights mid-week in April 2013. We were impressed with the price for our room ($75/night). Our room was clean and had been remodeled with new linoleum and bathroom fixtures, but could have used new carpet. The room was on the end next to a street so we did hear some traffic, so if you need extreme quiet, ask for a room away from the street... but for us with a noisy toddler, this was perfect. We enjoyed the pool, which is not entirely indoors but shelters you from the direct weather, though we did have to go request pool towels at the front desk. Didn't try the breakfast at all, instead we walked across the street to Denny's. You will need a car to visit the beach or any of the family-oriented Monterey attractions, but everything was a short drive away.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJ P, Front Office Manager at El Castell Motel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
I am so pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us here at El Castell Motel!
We have recently renovated and we are constantly improving our facilities and rooms to ensure our guest's comfort during their stay. We truly appreciate your review of our motel and look forward to the next time we're able to host you during your trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

we stay for one night ,it was nice and clean rooms very quiet.... price was good, only breakfast was poor; it needs some fruit, eggs and yogurt . the service was ok . need more smiles ,..I recommended it . location is very good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJ P, Front Office Manager at El Castell Motel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for taking time to share your experience with others. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are in a process to improve breakfast by adding some fruits, eggs and yogurt. We will encourage our staff members to create more accommodating environment. We are looking forward to accommodate you for your next trip in Monterey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The lady in the from office was so rude , just the way to talk to the customer especially if they made messes you know because of there kids eating breakfast. It just really bother me cause I'm in guest services and you don't treat your customers that way. But other then that the stay was nice and i stay for 4 days with my family.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJ P, Front Office Manager at El Castell Motel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at El Castell Motel. We are glad that you and your family enjoyed four days stay with us. Your suggestion is valuable and we will encourage our breakfast serving staff to be more polite and friendly with guests. We will also make sure to give excellent customer service to our guests. We look forward to accommodate you for your future trip in Monterey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Castell Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Castell Motel

Address: 2102 North Fremont Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — El Castell Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The type of the rooms include 1Q bed, 2Q beds and family suites. Rooms with a kitchenette are available as well. We are a 100% smoke-free hotel.Amenities include refrigerator, microwave oven, iron, iron board and hair dryer.The facilities also include free continental breakfast in the morning, free wired/wireless access to internet, free local & long distance calls, an indoor pool and guest laundry.It is close to restaurants, Safeway, Monterey Fairgounds, Monterey Downtown and many other attractions like Del Monte, Monterey Bay Aquarium, Monterey Convention center, Cannery Row, Pebble Beach, Fisherman's Wharf, Moss Landing, Mazda Laguna Seca Raceway, Carmel village and Monterey Wine County.Nearby major schools include California State University Monterey Bay (CSUMB), Monterey Peninsula college (MPC), York Academy and Santa Catalina School. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your El Castell Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Castell Hotel Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Castell Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.