We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Price, clean rooms, fun trip.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Castell Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added El Castell Motel to your Saves list
El Castell Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2102 North Fremont Street, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersSilver level
Atascadero, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Price, clean rooms, fun trip.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The hotel room was bigger than we expected. The rooms were clean, and nice. No complaints.. The indoor pool was a favorite for the kids. The breakfast was o.k, it could have offered more, they just had bread waffles, and cereal for a main dish, no fruit or anything non carb. related. It was pretty packed in the morning at breakfast, so get there early.

Room Tip: The pool was great for the kids. Rooms in the back two stories were a bit loud with car noise at nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    134
    68
    22
    18
See reviews for
114
94
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Where do I start? We have 3 kids so I usually go for a less expensive hotel...but this was awful!! When we got there at 12:30am. The.guy was in the back sleeping, took 10 mins of ringing the bell in the cold to get him up. He said nothing about breakfast, said your room's that way,' and pointed. The walls are SO thin we could hear EVERY word our neighbors said, let alone being awoken at 7am to their morning sex. : / the lights have timers, and kept going off, the TV also had a timer and vol controlled, it was so far from the beds we couldnt hear ot at full vol, the shower had no pressure and barely got warm. The woman who cleaned up at breakfast cleaned the floor than the table!! Eeew..with the same rag. She was cleaning around ppl while they were still eating and trying to make their waffles. My son was holding 2 packaged pastries trying to decide which he wanted. She took one from him, put it back and said, only one. The pool is not fully enclosed, wasnt very 'heated'. There was not enough parking for everyone. The door was so hard to open, only my husband could do it. It IS conveniently located...but there are like 6 better hotels on the same street. I would def. Recommend to keep looking...this place was just awful. Like I said, I am a thrifty hotel person...but this was NOT worth the $319.00 for 3 nights.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Up stairs room was newly painted and upgraded. Great bed, new bathroom fixtures. Clean carpet.
At check in, was charged an extra five dollars because I used Booking.com and did not call the motel directly. My credit card was not charged even though I gave the card info. to Bookings.com. The clerk proceeded to charge my card and added an extra 5 dollars... $97.00 total including 10% tax. Indoor pool was clean but not very warm. We hoped for February it would be useable. The breakfast was all sugars; no fruit no protein. No dvd player or music channel on the television.There is a low clearance to drive to the back of the motel. The sign said 7 feet clearance. It was way less and scraped the top of my truck. I told the desk clerk that the pipe obviously has been struck several times and had been bent down for a long time. He just said "sorry". (My truck is 6' 9"). The pipe hangs down a good 6 inches lower than the actual clearance, making it ever lower. The metal pipe should be replaced with a plastic one and raised to the stated height.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Room is very clean and new.beds are soft. Hot water is ok but no hot water in face basin.wifi is steady and fast.where is indoor pool? No coffee machine in room. Have microwave in room. No microwave in breakfast place. Breakfast coffee is good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We found this place by accident and for under $50 a night it was an absolute bargain. The hotel is undergoing renovations and the rooms and facilities are very good. The staff are also very attentive. Not so keen on the breakfast (waffles) but I did have coffee and toast/muffins which was within the nightly rate. Close to restaurants and attractions. Carol Bonnie Scotland.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rural Valley, PA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

excellent complimentary breakfast including waffles, Limited seating though. We met a wonderful couple from England sharing a table for breakfast. swimming pool, vending machines. clean rooms, friendly staff. Just a short drive to attractions, great value. would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Etiwanda, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We brought our family to the Monterey Aquarium and spent the night at El Castell Motel. It was clean, quiet and very comfortable for our family. We as well had their continental breakfast which served a variety of breakfast choices. They were in the middle of a remodel and demolision to their indoor pool (which we intend to stop by and use on our next stay in Monterey). Very close to the Aquarium and to the freeway.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Castell Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Castell Motel

Address: 2102 North Fremont Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Monterey
#17 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — El Castell Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The type of the rooms include 1Q bed, 2Q beds and family suites. Rooms with a kitchenette are available as well. We are a 100% smoke-free hotel.Amenities include refrigerator, microwave oven, iron, iron board and hair dryer.The facilities also include free continental breakfast in the morning, free wired/wireless access to internet, free local & long distance calls, an indoor pool and guest laundry.It is close to restaurants, Safeway, Monterey Fairgounds, Monterey Downtown and many other attractions like Del Monte, Monterey Bay Aquarium, Monterey Convention center, Cannery Row, Pebble Beach, Fisherman's Wharf, Moss Landing, Mazda Laguna Seca Raceway, Carmel village and Monterey Wine County.Nearby major schools include California State University Monterey Bay (CSUMB), Monterey Peninsula college (MPC), York Academy and Santa Catalina School. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your El Castell Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Castell Hotel Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Castell Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.