We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A True Delight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar

Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar
400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940
(831) 372-2628
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 224 Restaurants in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Chowder, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar, suspended over the waters of Monterey Bay, is a stunning restaurant featuring sustainable seafood and approachable, contemporary American cuisine. The ideal location for celebrating the Central Coast and the spectacular coastal region, Executive Chef Waller's commitment to fresh, sustainable seafood is reflected in the creative menu which features a variety of seafood options, both raw and cooked, as well as appetizers, soups, salads, large platters meant for sharing, and wood-fired dishes. A creative cocktail menu is served alongside an impressive wine list highlighting Monterey County vintners. The high-energy bar, bustling open kitchen, and dramatic outdoor patio personifies a relaxed, fun and joyous atmosphere.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A True Delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Typically hotel eateries lack charm, good food and service but not here. Schooners is THE place to go. We had a truly delightful meal at a fair price. Sharon kept all in line, Alex and Ryan were great servers and the chiapino was the best ever. Want a great meal go here but make reservations.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey_Plaza, Food & Beverage Director at Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Bretjina,

I am happy to hear that Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar was a true delight and that you
enjoyed the service and the food. The Cioppino is one of my personal favorites. I hope you have
the opportunity to return if your travels bring you back to Monterey.

Sincerely,

Lars Stokkebye
Food & Beverage Director
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    657
    291
    103
    43
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Drexel Hill, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
78 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Overrated, Poor Service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We were staying at the Monterey Plaza Hotel so we decided to eat at the hotel after driving down from San Francisco and spending the afternoon at the aquarium. Since we did not know our timing, we did not make reservations and did not mind that we were told the wait was 35 minutes. The 35 minutes came and went and we still waited. The hostess seemed to be seating regulars as soon as we walked in the door. When they finally decided that they better seat us, they shoved two round tables together for our party of four. I asked the hostess what was wrong with the nice table that I had watched sit empty for the last hour.

She then asked if I was a guest at the hotel, looked me up to confirm that we were at the hotel and after a few minutes seated us there. Hotel guests seem to get the better water views. It turned out that the table had an air conditioning vent right over it so we were uncomfortable during the meal anyway.

The food was just average so I would suggest you go somewhere else.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey_Plaza, Food & Beverage Director at Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Dave,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback. I am disappointed that your dining experience at Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar was not to your expectations.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the lack of customer service you received at the hostess desk and that your window request was not fulfilled and unacceptable wait time. I can assure you that these matters have been discussed with our hostess desk and restaurant management.

I would appreciate the opportunity to talk to you directly. If you could please call me at 831-645-4004 or contact by e-mail at lstokkebye@montereyplazahotel.com, it would be helpful.

Sincerely,

Lars Stokkebye

Food & Beverage Director

Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food & service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Sarda was the best server! Full of great advice on local attractions! She pointed me in the direction of a fabulous wine tasting room. Food was served promptly and with a warm smile!

Visited June 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Portal, CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect Milestone Birthday Dinner Celebration!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We have stayed at the hotel for 16+ years and have always dined in Schooner's numerous times during our stay. This trip was very special as Susie was celebrating her "39th Birthday!" Chefs James Waller and Gonzalo Sanchez made our dining experiences most pleasurable. The food here is to die for. Adhering to the "Safood Watch" creed, Chef Waller utilizes resources from local growers and seafood providers. Couldn't get food any fresher. Breakfast has a super variety to satisfy most any taste buds, as well as lunch, and Chef Gonzalo Sanchez has added his special Nachos munchie, served over homemade chips, plus now you can get the Angry Prawns for lunch. Got to try these two dishes! Dinner offers a wide variety as well; e.g. Lamb Chops, Braised Short Ribs, and the Roasted Stuffed Whole Lobster, all top our list of favorites. Lars Stokkebye, Director of F&B, and Colleen Kelly, Service Manager, makes sure everything meets your expectations. My special dinner requests; e.g. reservation time, flowers, table decorations, champagne, personalized cake - all were handled in the best guest service possible. Our dinner servers, Nicholas on Saturday and Jennifer on Sunday were great. Monterey offers so many dining choices, but make sure this is on your list, you won't be disappointed. The bar area offers beverages of every conceivable imagination and great service, complete with an outdoor seating area right over the bay itself with views that will take your breath away. Relax, enjoy, unwind, you are on vacation!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Yummy breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Our bed and breakfast package included breakfast at Schooners and it was fantastic - great service very tasty food and a nice ambience - not your typical hotel restaurant.

Visited June 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar also viewed

Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
 
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.