We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crew makes this trip a blast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Princess Monterey Whale Watching

Princess Monterey Whale Watching
96 Old Fisherman's Wharf #1, Monterey, CA 93940
831-372-2203
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 72 Activities in Monterey
Type: Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Princess Monterey Whale Watching has been in the cruise business for over 30 years. We are the Monterey Bay's leading company in narrated ocean and bay tours, specializing in natural history and biology of marine wildlife, especially whales! Our whale watching trips run year-round and are fully narrated by marine biologists/naturalists, all with 10 or more years experience on the Monterey Bay.
Piqua, Ohio
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Crew makes this trip a blast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

I want to thank the crew for making our whale watching experience a total joy. We saw Humpbacks and Dolphins. Crew was glad to use your camera a take your picture for you. I feel they went out of there way to get us to the whales. Dolphins were a delight. If you are staying in Monterey Bay it's a short walk to Fishermans Wharf to catch this boat.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    55
    17
    10
    13
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The was my first time attempting a whale watching excursion. It's a 50/50 chance you will see any whales or anything when you take this type of adventure. But I was happy I suffered through all the motion sickness for this 2 1/2 - 3 hr trip. It was gorgeous. Though I really would have liked to see a humpback whale, the killer whales we say was just as pleasing. One of the best experience in my life. Warning: if you get motion sickness easily, you might want to start taking those motion sickness pills the nigh before. Also, it is VERY cold on the water, so if you're not use to low temps you should layer your cloths. Awesome trip.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Cork
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Saw two humpback whales!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We had a great trip on the Princess boat out of Monterey. It was a bit rough - not choppy but long rolling waves. The sun came through the clouds and about an hour out we came across two whales rising and diving together. They popped up on either side of the boat. it was so exfciting. The crew could not have been more attentive. The running commentary was knowledgeable and interesting. We were delighted with our trip, Monterey Fisherman's Wharf and the fascinating Museum of Monterey (MOM). Do visit..

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedarville, Michigan
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Wonderful Opportunity”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This is a great opportunity to see whales. Wonderful narration by a knowledgable naturalist. Found several pods of whales and followed them for a while. We were even abe to see the krill they were feeding on.
We were able to sit on benches on the bow of the ship. Dress in layers as it gets cool once you are in the ocean.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Incredible”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Went out whale watching and the trip was fantastic. They knew exactly where to head for to get the best possible chance of seeing some whales. We came across 2 humpback whales. They won't get too close to the whales so as not to disturb them, which is the right thing to do. But the whales came to us, they were just feet away from the boat. Basically the whales started showing off, it was a fantastic sight. Each cruise has a marine biologist on board for the commentary and ours was hilarious she did an amazing job. One word of advice, take plenty of layers as it was freezing cold. It was hot back in Monterey and the sun was shining but out at sea it was foggy and very cold. There are a few companies in Monterey who offer whale watching but Princess Monterey are by far the best. The had the most modern boats and the crew were great.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Princess Monterey Whale Watching also viewed

 

Been to Princess Monterey Whale Watching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Princess Monterey Whale Watching, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.