We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful grounds” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mission Basilica

Mission Basilica
Rio Road and Lasuen Drive - In Carmel, Monterey, CA
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 98 things to do in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“beautiful grounds”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I wanted to see the Carmel mission because it is where J. Serra is buried. The parking was crazy, but a wedding was going on so I guess that's not really the norm here. The grounds were well kept, with ongoing work to establish new exhibits. There is an active school on the grounds, which was different than many missions I have visited. The link to Fr Serra was very cool, and it was neat to see the remnants of his influence (fragments of the original cross, wood from the tree at his landing site, his original casket and his room are all preserved here.) Typical gift shop, friendly staff. All in all a pretty standard mission visit with the added historical information of the death of the founding father of California's missions.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    28
    4
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
WAPAKONETA, Ohio
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A holy place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Interesting place to visit and observe relics of the saints. We missed the celebration they have there once a year, wish it could have been at a time when we could have participated. Interesting though,

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavernier, Florida
Top Contributor
301 reviews 301 reviews
122 attraction reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Well you have to pay, and it is a historical site so we went. It is a beautiful old mission that could use some repairs. The art work and furnishings were beautiful and the flowers and trees were in bloom too.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, Tennessee, United States
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Neat place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This place has a lot of good reviews. It is hard to describe. It is very large and has a lot of history behind it. We really learned a lot about this place and what they accomplished in history.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“history again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

You don't have to be religious or Catholic to appreciate this building. Time has stood still and waits for the next traveler. If it's a peaceful place you want to visit, this is it.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mission Basilica also viewed

 
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Mission Basilica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mission Basilica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.