We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good breakfast and nice folks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Monterey Cafe

Old Monterey Cafe
489 Alvarado St, Monterey, CA 93940-2722
831-646-1021
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 225 Restaurants in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Santa Paula, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good breakfast and nice folks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

They advertised themselves as the best breakfast of Monterey. We haven't tried all the restaurants but would say that the breakfast was pretty good. Nice welcome when we came in. You can tell a lot about happy employees in a restaurant. Must try if you are looking for a traditional breakfast menu.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    61
    14
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
south florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great portions and good prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Ordered the California Benedict, eggs benedict with avocado, very good. The wife had the banana pancakes, 3 huge pancakes that couldn't be finished. If you can't find parking on the street in front there is a small parking lot behind the restaurant that has parking and there is a back entrance. Good local spot.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia Area
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Friendly, reasonably priced good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Unassuming local spot in downtown Old Monterey. Nice menu choices for breakfast - had a delicious omelet and good coffee. Was more of a local spot than a tourist place - which is exactly what we were looking for. Food was very reasonable - I would definitely return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California, USA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Old Monterey Cafe is located in downtown Monterey. Breakfast is always good at the restaurant! Every time I have eaten at this cafe, it never disappoints! It offers the standard mix of breakfast items at an affordable price. The service is always good and friendly. The only downside is that it does not offer many gluten free options.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good. Not outstanding. ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Had lunch here recently. Food was good. Pretty basic, I had a BLT and it was as good as a BLT can be. Fries were same as you would guy frozen at a supermarket. My partner had an omelette. The serving size was large and he enjoyed it. We give it a 6 out of 10. Decent but nothing special.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Monterey Cafe also viewed

Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
 
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Old Monterey Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Monterey Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.