We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful exhibits” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stevenson House

Stevenson House
Monterey State Historic Park, 530 Houston St., Monterey, CA
831/649-7118
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 56 attractions in Monterey
Type: Historic Sites
Attraction Details
San Francisco, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“wonderful exhibits”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Some of the best Stevenson items outside of Scotland. The docents are eager to share their knowledge. You can almost imagine how it was when he lived in Monterey.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    4
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Carmel, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“RLS stayed here !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The Stevenson House was a rooming house when Robert Louis Stevenson, the Scottish author, visited Monterey in 1879. He needed a place to stay and used one of the upstairs rooms for a short stay. Years later his heirs donated a fabulous personal artifacts collection the the State with the express wish that it be displayed in the house he had called home. A visit here will allow you to rediscover RLS and the wonderful stories he wrote. The personal possessions displayed here have traveled with him from his childhood home in Scotland to distant Samoa. A place not to miss.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carpinteria, California
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Wow, Surprise Find For Us!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

My hubby and & I drove up to Monterey to spend four days in town to celebrate our 11th wedding anniversary this year. We discovered that down the street from where we dined for breakfast was the Stevenson House.

Neither of us knew that Robert Louis Stevenson had lived in Monterey for three and a half months in 1879 until our recent visit! Unfortunately, the Stevenson House itself wasn't open the day we visited, but the gardens were open at the back of the building and they were in exquisite form. Spring has sprung and many beautiful flowers were in bloom. Birds were singing and chirping. Several benches were available to sit on and enjoy the peaceful surroundings. I'm so glad we stopped by as this historical landmark was a far cry more peaceful than the hustle and bustle of Cannery Row and The Monterey Bay Aquarium.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Interesting and atmospheric”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Sadly when we visited, only the garden was open, but this didn't spoil our enjoyment. It was a pleasure to sit on a bench surrounded by plants and shrubs, soaking up the peace and quiet. Peering through the windows allowed a glimpse of the interior and furniture - we'd like to visit again.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Classic Monterey History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

It's called "Stevenson House" because Robert Louis Stevenson stayed there (it's original name was "French House Hotel". Best time to go is during "Christmas in the Adobes": period clothing, an invaluable 1860s Monterey experience and a town clothed in its history.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stevenson House also viewed

Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
 
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Stevenson House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stevenson House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Stevenson House to your Saves list