We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My wife says, "The best restaurant meal I've ever had"!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monterey Fish House

Monterey Fish House
2114 Del Monte Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-3712
831-373-4647
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 259 Restaurants in Monterey
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Inyokern,CA
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“My wife says, "The best restaurant meal I've ever had"!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We finally broke down and made a 5pm reservation at Monterey's Fish House. While we did not need the reservation I'm sure glad we went. They exceeded my expectations by a wide margin. The wait staff was very good and helped us with our menu choices. I had the artichoke, seafood and linguini special and my wife made her own special. She ordered Alaskan Halibut and scampi with vegies, pasta and pesto. No problem with special orders here! And, you better be HUNGRY. I could not eat all the seafood and choke hearts and the halibut was in a doggie box also. Emm, late night snacks.

Prices are what they are and you get what you pay for. The wine list is full and priced right as far as we were concerened. You get your monies worth and then some here.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    400
    197
    57
    24
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“freshest of fish, well prepared / poisson frais bien préparé”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Expected a very casual restaurant from others' comments, but in fact it has white table clothes (with a glass topper) and a nice, beach cottage feel despite being an old store front on a somewhat commercial street.
The food, however, lived up to everyone's rave reviews. If you have a massive appetite, get one of the pasta & seafood dishes - my sicilian pasta dish had enormous sweet mussels, clams, three large pieces of fish, shrimp, and scallops. I couldn't even finish the fish, let alone the homemade linguine it came with. My husband's halibut came in a more reasonable portion size, but it was no less fresh and delicious. Service is professional, wine prices very reasonable. A must-dine location in Monterey.
Le meilleur restaurant de poisson de Monterey, sans question. Atmosphère relax (ambiance maison de plage), prix plus qu'abordables (le vin est vraiment bon marché), et du poisson frais, préparé simplement et bien. Les plats avec pâtes sont énormes, ceux du poisson "seul" de taille plus raisonnable, mais le tout est délicieux. A ne pas manquer.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Shared Dinner with Strangers”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I visited this restaurant today due to ratings with Trip Advisor as #7 in Monterey. The restaurant is small, over priced, and does not care about customers. My wife and I both ordered halibut, it was good, but over priced at $31.00. This was a full $10 above anything else on the menu, we made the mistake of not asking what the evening specials cost. Additionally, after making a reservation for dinner, we were seated at essentially the same table as two guests who arrived 20 minutes later while their were multiple empty table open at 9:30 on a Wednesday night.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Exactly what I like in a meal . . .”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

After a long road trek to Monterey, we happened upon the Monterey Fish House. Each of the three of us ordered one of the night's specials. Grilled salmon for me, grilled halibut for my friend, crab cake and scallops combo for my husband. Really large portions, incredibly helpful and efficient service, tasty grilled veggies and pasta on the side. Straightforward preparation, lively atmosphere, awesome servers, fresh, fresh, fresh tasting food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Easily One of the Top Five Meals in my Life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We've lived in New Orleans where we were spoiled by great seafood restaurants. Monterey Fish House offered a unique flavor, though, and easily rivaled the N.O. cuisine. I had the Snapper with vegetables, and both had a wonderful smoky flavor from the oak grill. I had hoped that the bread might be more akin to some of the great San Francisco sour dough since were were in such close proximity. The Creme Broule was superb. We gladly sacrificed a potential view of the ocean at one of the touristy places near Cannery Row for this smaller out-of-the-way gem.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monterey Fish House also viewed

 
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Monterey Fish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monterey Fish House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.