We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre food & expensive” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Fin Cafe & Billiards

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Blue Fin Cafe & Billiards
685 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940
(831) 375-7000
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #189 of 259 Restaurants in Monterey
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, Californian
Restaurant details
Sacramento, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Mediocre food & expensive”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We love playing pool & thought it would be fun to play a few games. We had some dinner while we played. The fee to rent a table was incredibly expensive & the food was awful. We will not be back.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    6
    5
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morgan Hill, California
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Lunch and Billiards”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I was a little leary of what the food might be like when we entered the restaurant. All I saw was a bar and pool tables. The bartender said "sit at any table" so we sat at a high table next to the window and pool tables. We were surprised that our food was pretty good. My husband had Fish & Chips and I had a Chicken sandwich. We asked how much to play pool and the bartender/waiter said it's free if you spend $20 on food and beverages. We did, so we played pool for an hour. It was fun.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathedral City, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“good food and drinks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

good place to relax eat and drink. friendly people and outside balcony seating for smokers which is rare

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victorville, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great view of Cannery Row”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We were handed a coupon for a free appetizer for the Blue Fin upstairs above Johnny Rockets. We decided to try it. Who doesn't like free food? We played pool and had bleu cheese burger, chicken parm sandwich, and Monterey Chicken sandwich. We chose hot wings for our free appetizer. The place pretty cool. Nice view of Cannery Row and Ocean, played pool and server was great. There were only a few customers but it was after lunch before dinner so it was the slow time. I would highly recommend. They had 14 beers on tap. Unfortunately the only bad thing was the bathroom. It was dirty and wrecked with a broken door on one stall and plugged toilet in handicapped stall. No paper towels to dry hands and dirty floors. No employees apparently do the'r sidework to clean it daily. Other than that it was a great find and we will be back, but not go in restroom.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, Utah
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Pretty Nice View Of Cannery Row And The Ocean”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

I went on a Tuesday afternoon for lunch. My girlfriend and I had went up and down the cannery row looking for somewhere to eat lunch. We wanted something quick and cheap and this place satisfied those. We were drawn in by the free appetizer coupon an employee was handing out outside and the view of the ocean. The view of the water isn't very large but not too bad either. The place was very empty when we went but you could tell it was a locals hangout in the evening. The food was very bar like (it is a bar after all) but it was quick and cheap. Probably wouldn't go back but no complaints either. Service was average.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Fin Cafe & Billiards also viewed

Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
 
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Blue Fin Cafe & Billiards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Fin Cafe & Billiards, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.