We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“yes, yes, yes!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loose Noodle Pasta House

Loose Noodle Pasta House
538 Lighthouse Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-1423
831-641-0130
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #86 of 267 Restaurants in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
CA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“yes, yes, yes!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

I asked our hotel for a dinner suggestion and she did not hesitate when she said, "Loose Noodle". We went and found free parking on a side street. The prices were great, the food was great and the waiter, Treston, was the best we have had in a long time! The restaurant itself is small and very nice inside, nice linens,
dishes, candlelight. The menu had many choices and the prices were surprisingly cheap! Treston was the only waiter when we went and it was quite crowded. He handled all of the tables very nicely and was very attentive to everyone's needs. If you are hungry and looking for a nice Italian place to eat- head to Loose Noodle- you won't be disappointed!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    50
    19
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Carmel, California
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“And old standby that keeps getting better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

The Loose Noodle on Lighthouse Avenue in New Monterey has been around for 10 years or longer, had multiple owners but only a modest number of menu changes, and somehow improves over time while keeping prices low. Six of us had dinner there last week and enjoyed the entire experience...excellent pasta (especially the raviolis and beef tortellini), chicken and shrimp. Service was prompt but inconspicuous, a pleasure all around.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central coast California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great place for Italian pasta and more!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Four of us arrived without reservations one evening before a local half-marathon race. There was a special Runners Menu only that night for those wanting to carb up. There were several pasta-based selections but all were hearty in size and delicious. Scampi, in particular, was copious - not just a few shrimp on top. The low $15.95 fixed price included a soup or salad - the salad was a not some pre-made bag of chopped iceberg, but rather a large tasty portion of arugula, spring greens and other items. The wine selection is limited but what they have is very good and the feature a house chianti that is popular. Service is attentive and friendly but not obtrusive. We will be back to try out their regular menu soon.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Friendly, helpful service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I had spoken with the hostess previously to set up a catering option for a wedding rehearsal dinner. They were prompt with emailing information and very helpful since this was done long-distance. Upon arrival in Monterey, we stopped in and had lunch in order to check it out. (Good variety of options on a reasonably-priced lunch menu.) The chicken alfredo was very tasty; the ravioli with marinara was OK, but the real attraction was the service. The dishes we ordered for catering more than met our expectations. The lasagna was delicious and the sausage penne was good. The portions were very generous and plenty of additional sauces were included. All in all, it was a good experience and I would definitely return on any subsequent visit. For dining in, the restaurant atmosphere is very pleasant; white tablecloths and a quiet setting are a plus, and the location on a main street makes it very easy to find.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Very good wine!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Got recommendation by a friend and so we made a reservation for dinner. The atmosphere is romantic, clean, the service is great but I am not impressed with the pasta I had (shrimp scampi). However the wine and the bruschetta tasted very good!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loose Noodle Pasta House also viewed

Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
 
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Loose Noodle Pasta House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loose Noodle Pasta House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.