We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks again, Tripadvisor” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hula's Island Grill

Hula's Island Grill
622 Lighthouse Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-1008
831-655-4852
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 259 Restaurants in Monterey
Price range: $9 - $21
Cuisines: Caribbean, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Thanks again, Tripadvisor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

Great meal, comfortable setting. Potstickers, sashito peppers, fish tacos and crab cakes. All were great.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    299
    156
    44
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“great food, nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Loved the food, enjoyed the atmosphere. Kids had a burger and ribs. My wife had fish and I had meat (pork with jerk sauce): everybody was happy...

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tour_contact
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Came here with a group of various ages for dinner. What a great place. The drinks were good (and large), the service was really friendly and the food excellent. The quality of fish was excellent. I also had the jalapeno bacon mac and cheese which was outrageous both in terms of taste and calorie count. It was also pretty good value. I would really recommend it if you are looking for somewhere in Monterey

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“So Good We Ate There Two Days in a Row”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

So many of Monterey's restaurants are part of a chain or are really expensive. We discovered Hula's within walking distance of our hotel, and it was neither of these! What a fun, family-friendly restaurant concept! The walls of the restaurant are covered with woven palm mats and Hawaiian artwork. The food is Hawaiian-influenced, with many fruity tropical drinks on the menu. The wait staff and the hostess were extremely friendly and really helped us navigate the menu. The jerk sauce is REALLY spicy but delicious! The crab curry was also very spicy and flavorful. We ate here both nights we spent in Monterey and will definitely recommend it to friends and family. We even bought t-shirts so we'll always remember this place!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Top of the List”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Spent one week touring from San Fran to San Luis Obispo taking in the sights and culinary delights of the region. Of the many eateries we visited this was one of, if not, the best. All five dishes our family ordered were fabulous however the pan seared Hapu was the overwhelming winner. The decor was lively and the staff was very friendly. If you're in the area do not miss this one!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hula's Island Grill also viewed

 
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Hula's Island Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hula's Island Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.