We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and numerous gluten free options.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hula's Island Grill

Hula's Island Grill
622 Lighthouse Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-1008
831-655-4852
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 259 Restaurants in Monterey
Price range: $9 - $21
Cuisines: Caribbean, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
south carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent and numerous gluten free options.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Great food, awesome pineapple wine and great staff! Found this gem on Trip Advisor based on gluten free search. Wish we'd found it sooner in our trip as we would have returned.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    299
    156
    44
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good eats”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Went here due to Trip Advisor reviews.
Our food was great! Pan grilled fish, shrimp tacos, banana ice cream dessert special.... Yum!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great, great, great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Just back from a great evening at Hula's. We turned up without a reservation, were warned of a 20 minute wait, but within 10 were seated with great service in the meantime. We took the specials and really enjoyed both the food and the drinks. Wonderful atmosphere and tasty, tasty food. Great for a Friday night of fun. Thanks, guys!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fun place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We had a great time as a family at Hula's. We were asked to sit down outside patio. It was very spacious and relaxing. With a standing lamp, it wasn't cold either. Great flavorful food and service.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Great food and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We overate and enjoyed every bite of it at this fun local restaurant. Spicy Edamame, Fish Ceviche, and the Key Lime pie were my personal favorites. And they make a delicious Long Island as well.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hula's Island Grill also viewed

 
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Hula's Island Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hula's Island Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.