We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hula's Island Grill

Hula's Island Grill
622 Lighthouse Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-1008
831-655-4852
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 226 Restaurants in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $21
Cuisines: Caribbean, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Thousand Oaks, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Great Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We were in Monterey 2 nights and both nights we ate here. That's how much we loved it. A must try is the Jamaican Jerk sauce on anything (fish, chicken or tofu) The staff was friendly too.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    364
    185
    52
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Fan-frickin-tastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

This place was so good that we came here twice over the course of a long weekend. The poke (raw tuna yumminess) and the ceviche (served with fried wontons) were absolutely amazing. I am dreaming of them right now. The jerk pork ribs were wonderful, the tiki drinks were great, and we loved the liliko'i (passionfruit) pie. The atmosphere was fun and the service was very good. I am so glad I gave this place a shot.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food, friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Stopped in on a Saturday, just as they were opening for lunch, to get take-out. Love the cute tiki decor -- nice atmosphere. We ordered the coconut shrimp rolls, the Hula burger and the Big Sur veggie burger with sweet potato fries, and everything was fabulous! The veggie burger reminded me of the one that is served at Nepenthe (hence the name I suppose) -- one of those amazing burgers that even a carnivore would like. Chatted with the barkeep while I waited for the order -- friendly staff. He told me that there is a Hula's in Phoenix (apparently has been for a few years now, unbeknownst to me) -- I'll be visiting there soon!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Another satisfied customer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Great fresh fish-of-the-day, super cocktails and specialty beer, good service and pumping vibe.
Be warned the Spicy Edamame are straight outta a Pacific volcano!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Heated patio, hot food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We came to Hula's with friends, sat on the heated patio. It was chilly and we appreciated the gratis blankets offered out there. The food was great, but be advised, nearly all is spicy hot. We enjoyed fish wontons with wasabi cream sauce and shrimp eggrolls as appetizers. I had the Jawaiian Jerk Chicken. It was very good. Like most of what we had, there was serious spice. The chicken, under some awesome sauce was a little overdone and dry, but as a whole the meal was excellent. Everyone else seamed to enjoy their food, too. I tried the artisan Lime soda. Was a very good alternate to a cocktail. The men had beer. Everyone had good fun. We were too stuffed for dessert. Portions were quite large. I would go again if in the area to try some of the other flavors.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hula's Island Grill also viewed

Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
 
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Hula's Island Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hula's Island Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.