We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fan-frickin-tastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hula's Island Grill

Hula's Island Grill
622 Lighthouse Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-1008
831-655-4852
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 281 Restaurants in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $21
Cuisines: American, Hawaiian, Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
136 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Fan-frickin-tastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

This place was so good that we came here twice over the course of a long weekend. The poke (raw tuna yumminess) and the ceviche (served with fried wontons) were absolutely amazing. I am dreaming of them right now. The jerk pork ribs were wonderful, the tiki drinks were great, and we loved the liliko'i (passionfruit) pie. The atmosphere was fun and the service was very good. I am so glad I gave this place a shot.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Katlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
USA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food, friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Stopped in on a Saturday, just as they were opening for lunch, to get take-out. Love the cute tiki decor -- nice atmosphere. We ordered the coconut shrimp rolls, the Hula burger and the Big Sur veggie burger with sweet potato fries, and everything was fabulous! The veggie burger reminded me of the one that is served at Nepenthe (hence the name I suppose) -- one of those amazing burgers that even a carnivore would like. Chatted with the barkeep while I waited for the order -- friendly staff. He told me that there is a Hula's in Phoenix (apparently has been for a few years now, unbeknownst to me) -- I'll be visiting there soon!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PDAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Another satisfied customer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Great fresh fish-of-the-day, super cocktails and specialty beer, good service and pumping vibe.
Be warned the Spicy Edamame are straight outta a Pacific volcano!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank trekker1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Heated patio, hot food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We came to Hula's with friends, sat on the heated patio. It was chilly and we appreciated the gratis blankets offered out there. The food was great, but be advised, nearly all is spicy hot. We enjoyed fish wontons with wasabi cream sauce and shrimp eggrolls as appetizers. I had the Jawaiian Jerk Chicken. It was very good. Like most of what we had, there was serious spice. The chicken, under some awesome sauce was a little overdone and dry, but as a whole the meal was excellent. Everyone else seamed to enjoy their food, too. I tried the artisan Lime soda. Was a very good alternate to a cocktail. The men had beer. Everyone had good fun. We were too stuffed for dessert. Portions were quite large. I would go again if in the area to try some of the other flavors.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Everellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Neat.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Good place but everything the 3 of us ordered was seasoned in a way so strange that it wasn't very good overall. The coconut-encrusted fish was good (but ginseng coleslaw side not so much) and the mashed potatoes and sweet potato fries were great however.

Too expensive to go back and try more weird-seasoned stuff :p

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rebmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hula's Island Grill also viewed

Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Hula's Island Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing