We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious dinner in a cozy room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tarpy's Roadhouse

Tarpy's Roadhouse
2999 Salinas Hwy, Monterey, CA 93940
831-647-1444
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Tarpy's Roadhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 261 Restaurants in Monterey
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Canyon Del Rey
Transit: Monterey Salinas Transit bus line stops in front of the restaurant.
Monterey, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Delicious dinner in a cozy room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

One of my favorite restaurants. The roadhouse offers cozy dining spaces, like eating at home. The service is efficient and friendly, even when they're busy.

Warm sourdough Italian for starters is delicious. The other entrees were perfectly cooked and seasoned. We had lamb and salmon at our table.

Reasonably priced too. Definitely coming back!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie E, Manager at Tarpy's Roadhouse, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
We are so happy to be one of your favorite restaurants! Thank you for posting the wonderful food pictures. We sincerely hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    71
    21
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great place to have a meeting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

This is the second time I've held a client meeting there for 20 or more. The rooms are very nice, the wait staff is great and our clients have always been very happy with the food. A great experience for them and an easy one for us.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie E, Manager at Tarpy's Roadhouse, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for the great review. We are so happy that you enjoy having meetings at our restaurant- our various dining rooms make it easy to accommodate different group sizes. We sincerely hope you visit us again and thank you for the wonderful recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Tasty Tarpy's Roadhouse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Friendly place to dine; professional but congenial. The place was packed the night we visited, and they were busier than "a long-tailed cat in a room full of rockin' chairs" but the service was good, from bus persons to waiter we were attended to. The wine list is sufficient and we enjoyed several tasty selections. Our table was full - nine guests - and everyone seemed to enjoy their dinner selections. I had the salmon entry with rice pilaf and asked for the asparagus as a veggie and it was cooked to perfection.

The real attraction of this place is its colorful history, which is posted on the wall inside the small reception area. At first blush, my take was "just another restaurant." It never occurred to me that what I was seeing was not all there was to this place. I checked out the website later and realized there are several "rooms" in which to dine. We were seated just inside and to the left of the reception/bar area. There was a door to the outside that needed to be opened due to the stuffiness in the room - probably because it was so crowded. To me, the outside belied the quality of the food on the inside. Good meal, good experience, tasty offerings.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie E, Manager at Tarpy's Roadhouse, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Thank you for the excellent review! We are so happy that you and your guests enjoyed dining with us and that you enjoyed your salmon entrée. We are proud to have such a wonderfully colorful history and we are happy that you took the time to read about it. We sincerely thank you for your review and hope you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Delicious Menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Wow, a great restaurant, nice setting and most of all, delicious food all prepared and served beautifully.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie E, Manager at Tarpy's Roadhouse, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Thank you for the great review. We are so happy that you enjoyed the wonderful setting as well as the delicious food. We hope you visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Fantastic food in a really cool atmosphere with great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I visti Tarpey's whenever in the Monterey area. Always a great meal with excellent service. They have an amazing wine list, as well.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie E, Manager at Tarpy's Roadhouse, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
We are so glad that you visit us whenever you're in the area for delicious food and our great wine list. We thank you for the wonderful review and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tarpy's Roadhouse also viewed

Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
 
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Tarpy's Roadhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tarpy's Roadhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.