We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Knights Inn Carmel Hill

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Knights Inn Carmel Hill to your Saves list
Knights Inn Carmel Hill
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1374 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940 (Formerly Carmel Hill Lodge)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #45 of 54 Hotels in Monterey
Brisbane
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Average Stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

It was a pay for what you get hotel. The room was clean the bed was comfortable. The minimal breakfast was offered in a dodgy corner room that meant get your coffee and go as only 3 people would fit in at one time. The hotel was located on the highway and across from a shopping centre which had a wonderful whole food market which we had our breakfast at. As we wanted a downstairs room we had to upgrade and Staff told us the better room offered bigger bed flat screen TV, so we paid parked unpacked and TV was not flat screen but a rather older style. TV. I also found this a bit far from the town. I would not stay here again especially if I was stopping for more than one night.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    83
    67
    23
    16
See reviews for
40
112
26
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Stopped for one night on our road trip on the West Coast. We requested rooms on the upper floor as my friend is a light sleeper and it was no problem at all.
The rooms were airy and clean and the huge bed was comfortable. The TV might have been a little on the older side but it did the job.
The Inn is a about 10mins from Fisherman's Wharf but just across the road from a shopping mall and restaurants.
Breakfast was a buffet served in a very small room...bit of a squeeze when everyone breakfasts at the same time...but it was perfectly adequate; coffee, cereal and pastries. We took ours outside and sat by the pool as it was a beautiful morning.
Couldn't fault our stay...the staff were polite and overall it was good value for money.

Room Tip: Request a room on the top floor if you are a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

It is an older property, but very clean, nice big bed. Nice staff. Breakfast was pretty minimal. Very convenient location to downtown. movies & shopping right across the street. Water pressure was bad, big window in the bathroom didn't have a sturdy lock on it which made me nervous. The price was very good, but definitely not a high end kind of place.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Pros: - Location close to highway, shopping centre and Carmel
- Decent price

Cons: - Rooms are not kept in the best condition (broken faucet in shower, old tv with bad reception, microwave didn't work, old bedding, very uncomfortable foam-like extra blanket)
- The outside pool was filthy
- No shower pressure and no hot water in bathroom sink
- Very slow wifi internet
- VERY thin floors. The people below us said they could hear every step we took

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a working microwave and fridge, and make sure you are on the top floor to avoid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Very polite. Bed is very comfortable! Free breakfast & walking distance next to the shopping center & not far from the aquarium which is where we went. Only bad thing was the air conditioner smelled a LITTLE funky.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

About what you would expect for the price. The rooms where kept up, all though beds and blankets were old. The outside of the hotel was quite pleasant, and the free breakfast (cereal, muffins and coffee) was a nice surprise. The only real complaint, was do to the moist seaside air the front doors to each room are badly warped. So in the morning (4am typically), when the seagulls come to sit and scream on your porch, you can hear it very clearly.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northridge, CA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

I was pleasantly surprised with this hotel. Price was great and the hotel was very clean. Bathroom was relatively recently updated. It is in a good location and it is a great value. Continental breakfast was provided too. We didn't have any hotel reservations anywhere and this was a great stop.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Knights Inn Carmel Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Carmel Hill

Address: 1374 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940 (Formerly Carmel Hill Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 54 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Knights Inn Carmel Hill 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and EasyToBook so you can book your Knights Inn Carmel Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knights Inn Carmel Hill Hotel Monterey
Knights Inn Monterey
Monterey Knights Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knights Inn Carmel Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.