We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Knights Inn Carmel Hill

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Knights Inn Carmel Hill to your Saves list
Knights Inn Carmel Hill
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1374 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940 (Formerly Carmel Hill Lodge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
1 review
“Good stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Very polite. Bed is very comfortable! Free breakfast & walking distance next to the shopping center & not far from the aquarium which is where we went. Only bad thing was the air conditioner smelled a LITTLE funky.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    76
    59
    21
    16
See reviews for
36
102
22
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Murrieta, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

About what you would expect for the price. The rooms where kept up, all though beds and blankets were old. The outside of the hotel was quite pleasant, and the free breakfast (cereal, muffins and coffee) was a nice surprise. The only real complaint, was do to the moist seaside air the front doors to each room are badly warped. So in the morning (4am typically), when the seagulls come to sit and scream on your porch, you can hear it very clearly.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northridge, CA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

I was pleasantly surprised with this hotel. Price was great and the hotel was very clean. Bathroom was relatively recently updated. It is in a good location and it is a great value. Continental breakfast was provided too. We didn't have any hotel reservations anywhere and this was a great stop.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Rolled into town late afternoon was able to get a room here. First impressions - very clean, spacious, had microwave, mini fridge and stated that it included breakfast. Is a great location across from the mall and was well cared for. Beds were hard and the breakfast (if you can call it that) was lame. A tiny hallway with cereal and a muffin with no space to eat. Okay in a pinch.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Canada Flintridge, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We stopped by here for one night during our road trip up the California coast. We checked in and were impressed at the size of the room. We had a microwave and a fridge (although the fridge wasn't that cold). The shower also didn't get very hot. The bath wasn't working so we asked the front desk to come help. He didn't speak much English and didn't know what to do about the bath so he just left after looking at it. Then the power went out sometime while we were sleeping so we couldn't charge our phones, use the air conditioner/heater, use Wi-fi, or shower because I couldn't blow dry my hair after. It was also obviously dark in the room. We called the front desk, and they said no problem, but the power never came back. The people were very nice, but not very helpful. I'm so glad that I only stayed for one evening.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

I was under the mistaken impression that my room would have a microwave and a refrigerator since I did request it. When I asked I was told there was going to have a fee. didn't like that at all!! . So my review is ok.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

We took a trip on Valentine's Day weekend 2014 and the price per night was higher accordingly. This was better than the usual Knights Inn. We rented a room for two nights on the second floor and we could hear the footsteps in the morning as they traveled down the stairs. The bathroom was decent with their bar soaps and in-vinyl packets conditioning shampoo. For the price we paid I expected a little more but since we booked so close the holiday weekend, our selection was limited. Overall, I would rate this motel as just...ok.

Room Tip: I would recommend a room on the bottom floor. This is a motel where the door to the rooms face the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Knights Inn Carmel Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Carmel Hill

Address: 1374 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940 (Formerly Carmel Hill Lodge)
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Knights Inn Carmel Hill 1.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Knights Inn Carmel Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knights Inn Carmel Hill Hotel Monterey
Knights Inn Monterey
Monterey Knights Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knights Inn Carmel Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.