We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Monterey, CA” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Knights Inn Carmel Hill

Save Saved
You added Knights Inn Carmel Hill to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelocity Orbitz.com
and 7 more sites!
Knights Inn Carmel Hill
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1374 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940 (Formerly Carmel Hill Lodge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 53 hotels in Monterey
San Mateo, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Monterey, CA”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We found this motel on Trip Advisor with pretty good reviews. The room was clean, except for inside bathroom door jam.The staff was friendly. The wifi was terrible. They offer a continental breakfast. I am not picky when it comes to things like that, but coffee and orange juice were not good at all. The towels were very nice size. The shower handle was loose, attention to small details makes a difference.

Room Tip: Room 112 or 212 is on the end. Across from shopping mall, close to Fisherman's wharf
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    81
    55
    19
    12
See reviews for
31
92
21
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dixon, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This hotel was good for a quick 2 night stay as we did but the management was poor. We had a bottle of wine stolen from our room and the cleaning staff said it was empty so they threw it away. We told them no it was not but they insisted it was. The office staff said it wasn't their problem and that we had to take it up with the cleaning staff. I'm sorry but if you run a business then you should be responsible for your staff and people you employ there. It's unfortunate that this happened because now I will not be back. It is very convenient to the activities that we had lined up while in monterey, and the room was clean and the price was right. Stealing is not though. I suggest if you stay there keep anything you don't want stolen in a safe place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The colourful bed linen is the thing we remember from the Carmel Hill Lodge. The rooms were clean and comfortable, with massive TVs and WiFi, with the rooms set back from the busy road by the car park and small pool. The in room extras were inconsistent between the rooms - we had two rooms, one came with bottled water and some snacks, the other didn't. The breakfast room is tiny, had a small continental selection and was available later than advertised on the day we were there. Good value, and close enough to the main attractions in Monterrey.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed for one night at the Knights Inn. The room was a very good size and clean. It had a good fridge and microwave. We had a King size bed and our companions had 2 Queen size beds and both rooms were very comfortable. Only problems wee no stopper for the sinks in either room which meant wasting water when shaving. Also the WiFi only worked for a short time when we arrived and we couldn't connect for the rest of the stay. Didn't have time touse the pool which looked nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.E. Tasmania
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We had booked 2 rooms with king size bed over the internet. Upon arrival, there was only 1 room with a king size bed and a double room available. Our other family members had the room with the king size bed and we took the double room. It had not been serviced, but that was soon resolved and we were given another room.

The rooms are quite nice, but there was no plug for the sink for my husband to have a shave,

There was no facilities to make a drink in the room, but it did have a fridge.

The 'breakfast' leaves a lot to be desired, but it was included in the price. It has free internet, but this only worked for about half an hour, then would not work again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uithoorn
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

The staff was very friendly. The rooms on the ground level are quite dark during the daytime. Nice neighbourhood for walks and lots of things to do nearby the sea. Breakfast wasn't really good, but across the street, there are plenty of shops to get something good to eat. All in all a nice place to stay for 1 or 2 nights.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Very Nice Hotel with big rooms and near a big shopping . Small and very confortable with flowers around the rooms, pool and parking. Excellent hotel with cheap rates. Located between Carmel town and Monterrey is a excellent option for to stay with the family.

Room Tip: All rooms are good but the rooms with two beds are more confortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Knights Inn Carmel Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Carmel Hill

Also Known As:
Knights Inn Carmel Hill Hotel
Knights Inn Carmel Hill Hotel Monterey
Knights Inn Monterey
Monterey Knights Inn
Address: 1374 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940 (Formerly Carmel Hill Lodge)
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 53 hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Knights Inn Carmel Hill 1.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Knights Inn Carmel Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knights Inn Carmel Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.