We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Knights Inn Carmel Hill

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Knights Inn Carmel Hill to your Saves list
Knights Inn Carmel Hill
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1374 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940 (Formerly Carmel Hill Lodge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
Dixon, California
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hotel stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This hotel was good for a quick 2 night stay as we did but the management was poor. We had a bottle of wine stolen from our room and the cleaning staff said it was empty so they threw it away. We told them no it was not but they insisted it was. The office staff said it wasn't their problem and that we had to take it up with the cleaning staff. I'm sorry but if you run a business then you should be responsible for your staff and people you employ there. It's unfortunate that this happened because now I will not be back. It is very convenient to the activities that we had lined up while in monterey, and the room was clean and the price was right. Stealing is not though. I suggest if you stay there keep anything you don't want stolen in a safe place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    78
    59
    21
    16
See reviews for
36
104
22
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The colourful bed linen is the thing we remember from the Carmel Hill Lodge. The rooms were clean and comfortable, with massive TVs and WiFi, with the rooms set back from the busy road by the car park and small pool. The in room extras were inconsistent between the rooms - we had two rooms, one came with bottled water and some snacks, the other didn't. The breakfast room is tiny, had a small continental selection and was available later than advertised on the day we were there. Good value, and close enough to the main attractions in Monterrey.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed for one night at the Knights Inn. The room was a very good size and clean. It had a good fridge and microwave. We had a King size bed and our companions had 2 Queen size beds and both rooms were very comfortable. Only problems wee no stopper for the sinks in either room which meant wasting water when shaving. Also the WiFi only worked for a short time when we arrived and we couldn't connect for the rest of the stay. Didn't have time touse the pool which looked nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.E. Tasmania
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We had booked 2 rooms with king size bed over the internet. Upon arrival, there was only 1 room with a king size bed and a double room available. Our other family members had the room with the king size bed and we took the double room. It had not been serviced, but that was soon resolved and we were given another room.

The rooms are quite nice, but there was no plug for the sink for my husband to have a shave,

There was no facilities to make a drink in the room, but it did have a fridge.

The 'breakfast' leaves a lot to be desired, but it was included in the price. It has free internet, but this only worked for about half an hour, then would not work again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uithoorn
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

The staff was very friendly. The rooms on the ground level are quite dark during the daytime. Nice neighbourhood for walks and lots of things to do nearby the sea. Breakfast wasn't really good, but across the street, there are plenty of shops to get something good to eat. All in all a nice place to stay for 1 or 2 nights.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Very Nice Hotel with big rooms and near a big shopping . Small and very confortable with flowers around the rooms, pool and parking. Excellent hotel with cheap rates. Located between Carmel town and Monterrey is a excellent option for to stay with the family.

Room Tip: All rooms are good but the rooms with two beds are more confortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kakegawa-shi, Shizuoka, Japan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

I booked online day-of for a whopping $54 a night for a non-smoking king bed room. No fridge, microwave, or coffee maker in room; but bed was comfy, room was clean, & free breakfast was as you'd expect. Super convenient location. I'd gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Knights Inn Carmel Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Carmel Hill

Address: 1374 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940 (Formerly Carmel Hill Lodge)
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Knights Inn Carmel Hill 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Otel, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Knights Inn Carmel Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knights Inn Carmel Hill Hotel Monterey
Knights Inn Monterey
Monterey Knights Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knights Inn Carmel Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.