We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pretty good with moderate expecations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Knights Inn Carmel Hill

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Knights Inn Carmel Hill to your Saves list
Knights Inn Carmel Hill
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1374 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940 (Formerly Carmel Hill Lodge)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #45 of 54 Hotels in Monterey
San Jose, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“pretty good with moderate expecations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I've stayed in a bunch of these types of places as we dive Monterey frequently. I'd break it down like this:

Pros: Great bed - we had a very comfortable king bed that was much better than average for this type of motel. Quiet despite being on a busy street. The windows shut, this place is very peaceful. We slept GREAT and we are picky. Also, the location is handy for just about anything. You can walk to fisherman's wharf in 15/20 mins at a moderate pace, though it's uphill on the return. Access to shops, movie theater, restaurants and roads(especially Hwy 1) is fantastic. Everything was pretty clean for us. Free internet actually WORKED without any issue and it was pretty good speed as i had to work remotely for a few hours. Last, but not least, the price is very good.

Cons: Parking lot is tiny if you have a large vehicle. Breakfast was less than what others in the area will give you, not terrible though. Basically, you're getting cereal with bad coffee and super sweet orange juice. It's loud if you leave the window open for fresh air as a ton of traffic goes by from the mall across the street and folks accessing the highway nearby.

Everything else.....room size, front desk, small pool, maid service, TV/cable....was average.

Hopefully, you understand you are not getting a business class hotel. So don't expect that and you will be pretty pleased overall I believe. It's great for a night or three when you just need a good place to sleep while you site see.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    83
    67
    23
    16
See reviews for
40
112
26
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Great location for heading out south on a day trip to Big Sur or Monterey Bay area. Qucik and easy continental breakfast. This roadside motel is on busy Munras Avenue across from a Mall with a grocery store. We found that to be a plus for next day picnic along Highway 1. Free parking and a pool. The staff friendly, rooms average and clean. Great price. Quick drive to Cannery Row, Monterey Aquarium and the 17-Mile drive. A couple of restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontana
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I had never stayed at Knights Inn before-my husband had back east and wasnt impressed- but decided to give a try but would not stay at another one again. I was not impressed with the front desk staff person who checked us in. the room was ok but nothing spectacular. took a shower and the towels seemed abit rough and strong bleach smell. breakfast wasnt much. disappointed in staying here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I had to pass through Monterey and made a reservation here. Glad I did as they appeared full when I arrived on a Sunday evening just after 9pm.

The location was perfect coming into Monterey from the North and wanting to head south on the PCH.

The room was very adequate for the price. The bathroom was superior for a place of this class.

I left before breakfast which the owner said would be ready by 7am so no comment.

The rate was excellent for this area, actually excellent period.

I would recommend this motel to anyone.

Room Tip: Looks like a reservation would be important. My room was the first on the ground floor in the NW cor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birr, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights while on a 3 weeks holiday in California. In terms of quality and value for money this was the best deal we got. The room was large and clean. There was a microwave and fridge in the room, large, comfortable bed and couch. There was no noise from adjoining or overhead rooms on either night of our stay. Staff at reception were friendly and helpful. We did not have breakfast here as there was a wholefoodsmarket just accross the road where we availed of a healthier option. There was also an excellent pizza place - California Pizza, also across the road where we dined on one of the evenings. The location is about 30 minutes walk to downtown Monterey, all on footpaths and downhill. I would certainly stay at this Inn again if I'm in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Very accommodating management. A great location 3 minutes by car from Monterey Bay and a modest room rate. Room and grounds were clean and well-appointed while not palatial. A dynamite combination which will make me a repeat guest. The only negative was noise from the second-floor room directly above mine, with people walking . . .walking . . walking. Not enough noise to interfere with sleep, but what was all of the walking about? Located on "motel row" on the west side of Munras, a divided highway, immediately across the road from Delmonte Mall. That makes it tricky to drive north on Munras into Monterey left turns and u-turns are not allowed -- the trick is to drive south on Munras, turn right at the first opportunity, then turn right again at the first opportunity onto Pacific, which takes you straight to the heart of Monterey with little traffic (but watch out for joggers and dog-walkers).

Room Tip: There was substantial noise from people walking around in the second floor room directly above my ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This place was both clean and cheap, but was on a main thoroughfare, which was noisy. A plus was the major mall across the street with a Starbucks, a Whole Foods and other main stores. Easy to locate but not within walking distance of any of Monterey's attractions.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Knights Inn Carmel Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Carmel Hill

Address: 1374 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940 (Formerly Carmel Hill Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 54 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Knights Inn Carmel Hill 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your Knights Inn Carmel Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knights Inn Carmel Hill Hotel Monterey
Knights Inn Monterey
Monterey Knights Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knights Inn Carmel Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.