We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great owners, oh and different name.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Lagoon Inn

Save Saved
You added Blue Lagoon Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Blue Lagoon Inn
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2362 North Fremont Street, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 13 Monterey B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great owners, oh and different name.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

you may search the address and find fireplace inn. you're there. location isnt great, NEED A CAR. but all in all it served its purpose. very clean. very spacious. staff were really friendly. theres a chinese restaurant and 711 across the road.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    22
    13
    13
    25
See reviews for
11
23
8
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dresden, Germany
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

good place w/ reasonable rates, friendly and clean

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Rooms are Clean and roomy, have microwave, refrigerator, television ,free wifi, clock radio, ice bucket, and glasses. Not available iron, ironing board, luggage stand, hair dryer, or Kleenex. A definite plus was the gas fireplace in each room. there was a continental breakfast in the office but no eating area, no pool or fitness room.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

I needed a place to stay and this motel had a room available while all others did not. After staying I can see why. The property was tidy yet the room appeared OK but when looked at closer it was a mess. Quite a bit of debris was found under the bed and around the walls, from bottle caps to hair balls you name it. I found that 2 light bulbs were out that the maid completly ignored. The manager was also no help. When I ask him for a receipt for my stay he denied me saying I booked online and he could not give me one, "go deal with Expedia" he said. I actually booked through Hotels.com. There was a refrigerator in the room that was loud and I eventually turned off, it would have been nice to use it. Beware also that the motel's name is being changed to "The Fireplace Inn" and there is a makeshift sign saying "Formally the Blue Lagoon"

Stay away from this one until they make soem changes.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shore of Montreal
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

The blue Lagoon as changed name.

It now call the Fire Side inn.

Rooms are olds and smalls, the bathroom pluming is hard to work but does what it have to do.
The general cleanliness is average and the gas heaters are noisy. BUT, I stayed there 3 nights for 45$ tx inc during the week for a room whit 2 beds. So I guess i could not ask for a brand new room. We slept well. Just for you know the "breakfast" is cut muffins, coffee and OJ. WiFi worked great.

Would recommend it only if your on a budget or your cheap .... Just like me :)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

I booked a night at the hotel in advance way back in june 2010 but had to cancel the booking about a week before it was due. The hotel went ahead and took the payment from my credit card even though i was within the cancellation period. Much worse than this, it is now 7 months later and I still have not been unable to get a refund, in spite of maybe 10 emails to the owner as well as the same number of calls from Venere (the booking site), there have been several promises to refund 'soon' but nothing has happened. Clearly the owner (Mike) is hoping I'll give up - how dishonest and untrustworthy is that?!

So take care - try not to book in advance, better still, go somewhere else where the service is better and honest.

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castro Valley, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

had a terrible experience at the blue lagoon.
it started off ok... for the price, i was actually expecting the place to be crappier than it first appeared. but that soon changed.
-first complaint - the management was INCREDIBLY rude. actually accused me of lying about there being cockroaches in the bathroom
-which leads me to my next complaint - yes, there were COCKROACHES in the bathroom!!! grosssssssss!!
-the bathroom sink was so clogged up that it took about 5 minutes for the water to drain, which is disgusting especially when you have multiple people brushing their teeth... you get the picture.
-the walls are paper thin.... you can hear everything... including people getting up at the crack of dawn and slamming doors, their luggage against walls, talking, etc.
-not to mention that there is a crack under the door in which car exhaust vented in and nearly suffocated us. (hmm... maybe how the cockroaches found their way in too...!)

bottom line, unless you are hard up on money, i would stay somewhere else. don't continue to support management who tells you you're lying when you make a complaint about their hotel. (on top of refusing to offer any kind of compensation/discount!)

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Blue Lagoon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Lagoon Inn

Address: 2362 North Fremont Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Blue Lagoon Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HostelBookers and Despegar.com so you can book your Blue Lagoon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Lagoon Hotel Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Lagoon Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.