We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, Truly Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay to your Saves list
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Portola Plaza, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 54 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Napa
1 review
“Fantastic, Truly Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

The service our company as a whole experienced was over and above the best I have ever received from any venue in the 20 years I have been an Event Planner.

The rooms were beautiful, comfortable and housekeeping always kept my room clean. As soon as I left the room was clean before my return.

The location was number one!!! Although we were there to attend a conference I booked one afternoon for their leisure such as the Spa on the Plaza, Whale Watching, Bike Tour, Kayak Tour etc. My clients never had to use their vehicles because every activity was within walking distance. The fitness center, pool, jacuzzi, restaurants and lounge were extra amenities that made their stay even more pleasurable.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    765
    527
    206
    105
    44
See reviews for
440
568
59
280
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Elk Grove, Ca
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2010

This was my first trip to Monterey. I initially was going to stay at the Monterey Plaza but then Travel Zoo had a great deal on this " 4 star" hotel. I am definately glad I got the discount becuase I would have been upset if I would have pain full price. Pros: the hotel was in a great location, just a short walk from Fisherman's Wharf, there were very nice galleries accessible from the hotel lobby. Cons: Upon pulling in it took a bit for the valet to even acknowledge us, there is some sort of construction going on in the lobby and the lobby is full of flies, one fly was in our room, we had to have the shower curtain changes because it was filthy, cookies upon arrival? well we had to ask for that, aquarium tickets? well when we asked for those the lady at the front desk said no then she said she would look and she found some (now why couldn't she just have looked in the first place). I travel a lot and this hotel certainly did not meet my expectations and I would have been quite upset if I would have paid full price.

Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2010

First off, absolutely loved Monterrey, and that impression was enhanced by the Portola Hotel. Large impressive lobby and friendly staff, lead to a large room with very comfortable beds and balcony to enjoy the warm weather.

The hotel is 5 minutes from Fishermans Wharf and 15 mins walk from Cannery Rowe (and its a nice walk along the bay taking in the views and the local sealions) The hotel has a few bars and restauranys and the only one we tried was Peter B`s brewpub. It was lively and the staff were great, offering us free tasters of the local beers (so we could go back home and tell our friends what a `kick-a**` place this was.

Only real drawback was the steep $17 dollar a night parking fee. The first time on our whole California Road trip we`d been required to pay.

Combine thes pro`s with the very good rate from Expedia and its a winner all round.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2010

I went here for the Winter Simulation Conference. It was wonderful. I loved the location of the hotel. I was able to walk to great restaurants and to the famous aquarium. The hotel is very close to nice and safe walking trails along the waterfront. The waterfront offered some very nice seafood options.

The fitness center got the job done.

We didn't experience any issues with any of the conference sessions/rooms.

I arrived before Christmas and the lobby was BEAUTIFULLY decorated. The rooms were nicely decorated.

Don't eat at the hotel's restaurant. I had the portabella mushroom garden burger and it was terrible. Good thing the company was paying!

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h0tel_buyer
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2010

This hotel is a wonderful location. You can literally fall out the back door, walk through a courtyard area, and you are the wharf. There are tons of restaurants and shopping. If you make three laps you can basically fill up on the samples of clam chowder! The hotel itself has beautifully appointed rooms. If I had to find a downside, if you get a room in a bad location it can be quite a walk from the front desk. All in all a really wonderful place to stay in Monterey Bay.

Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BATON ROUGE, LA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2010

Everything about this hotel is excellent. Went for business, but plan to return with the family.....

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno,, Ca
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2010

Nice hotel, location and rooms but noisy. I could hear the person in next rrom cough and hear them turn the faucet on or the toilet flush. I booked on hotwire and got a good price but I would not stay there again if it were my choice

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay

Address: 2 Portola Plaza, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Monterey
#2 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#3 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#5 Business Hotel in Monterey
#6 Family Hotel in Monterey
#8 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Portola Hotel & Spa reflects the captivating spirit of a rich, historical setting surrounded by everything that the Monterey Peninsula has to offer. Your stay at the Portola Hotel begins with warm homemade chocolate chip cookies, provided at check-in. As the only Silver LEED(R)-EB certified hotel on the central coast of California, the hotel boasts 379 guestrooms and suites, an award winning full service day spa, two on site eateries, a craft brewery and more! Portola Hotel & Spa is one of California's premier family-friendly destinations offering easy access to Monterey's favorite attractions. The hotel is also pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portola Hotel And Spa At Monterey Bay
Portola Hotel Monterey Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.