We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Views, Great Rooms, Great Location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay to your Saves list
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Portola Plaza, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 54 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
SageVoyager
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Views, Great Rooms, Great Location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

We were not sure what to expect, having booked online - I've learned the hard way pictures can be deceiving. However, the Portola was even better than the photos. The rooms were very large. We were two adults and two older teens and these were rooms that had so much space in them we didn't mind hanging out there. The beds were soft and comfortable, as well! The location was excellent. We were away from Cannery Row, so you didn't get all the crowds in our courtyard which made things more peaceful. However, a leisurely walk to Cannery Row was about 10 minutes along the water. The Wharf was 2 minutes away. Kayaking 5 minutes. All walking distance! Our hotel was surrounded by fine dining restaurants and the restaurant on sight was more than satisfactory and yummy. We sat outside around the open pit fireplace drinking wine and chatted with other hotel guests. Plenty to do for the older teens, too. Several clubs within walking distance. Friends stayed at the "other high-end hotel nearby" and were less than pleased with it. I'll definitely be coming back to the Portola. Two thumbs up!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    765
    529
    206
    105
    44
See reviews for
440
568
59
282
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
SLC
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2009

The hotel has a great location. The service was great. Everyone was very friendly and the lobby is beautiful. The rooms are nicely furnished. with nice individual touches. However, there is no A/C and it can get hot. We had an upgraded room that had a "city view",which was not a vew at all, that were suppose to be their quiet rooms but our room was still extremely noisy. We were on a walkway and you could hear conversations of people walking by on the walkway below. i could hear the music from the room next door. It was hot and there was no A/C, so we needed to open the door for a breeze but the noise level was horrible even with the patio door shut. They need to invest in some better insulation and glass. That was the only bad thing about the hotel. It was a great value. We paid $149.00 for the room and that included breakfast. It was a nice breakfast. We also liked the bar.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2009

We booked the whale watching package - About $100 went to the whale watching tour, which left $200 for the room. Check-in and check-out was a dream, as were all the staff. The room itself was decent, but I thought I had carefully checked to see if there was free internet. For $200, one would think that they wouldn't nickel & dime you on the internet but apparently, all that gets is the room and free cookies.

That night, we heard no noise from our adjacent neighbors but throughout the night, we could hear doors closing and slams reverberating from upstairs. My partner barely slept, waking at 2, 3, & 5. Had this been a $100-$150 room, I'd have expected that but at $200 a night I really expected more. If the prices come down, I could recommend this place but at their current rates, not at all.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2009

We stayed on July 12th and had a great time. It is a very nice location and the staff was awesome. The accommodations are nice but dated and with no air conditioning it was hot until the breeze kicked in and we opened the windows and it chilled off very quickly. The best part is Peter B's for happy hour. I highly recommend the nachos, you can turn them into dinner for 2 for $4.50. The long islands are overrated for $5 but for $3, the margaritas packed a punch...over and over again! ;-) The best part of the bed is the pillows and overall I found the inside to be on the high side of average. I plan on staying there over and over again. If you're looking for a good breakfast spot, try the Italian cafe next to the hotel. We tried one of the small eateries on the wharf and were highly disappointed. I recommend self parking...it's cheaper and the garage is so close. On your way down, stop at Phil's Fish Market (google it)...it is incredible, especially the cioppino!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2009

stay away from the brewery , the food was very salty

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fresno ca.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2009

this is the best hotel in monterey area. we could not find one thing wrong during our stay,
we have stayed around and will not venture any further. the portola is our hotel !
from the friendly staff to the food and drink, to the views, to the beautiful comfortable rooms, its all here!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2009

Got a great deal at the Portola through priceline for $80 a night over the 4th of July. Extremely friendly front desk staff, and even upgraded us when we checked in. Great location to the wharf in Monterey, and only about 1/2 mile down a nice paved walking trail to the aquarium and Cannery Row. Very clean rooms...no air conditioning not a problem at all with nice cool sea breeze. Check out Mr. B's brewery, as they have half off appetizers during happy hour each day, and a great place to meet the locals.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay

Address: 2 Portola Plaza, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Monterey
#2 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#3 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#5 Business Hotel in Monterey
#6 Family Hotel in Monterey
#8 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Portola Hotel & Spa reflects the captivating spirit of a rich, historical setting surrounded by everything that the Monterey Peninsula has to offer. Your stay at the Portola Hotel begins with warm homemade chocolate chip cookies, provided at check-in. As the only Silver LEED(R)-EB certified hotel on the central coast of California, the hotel boasts 379 guestrooms and suites, an award winning full service day spa, two on site eateries, a craft brewery and more! Portola Hotel & Spa is one of California's premier family-friendly destinations offering easy access to Monterey's favorite attractions. The hotel is also pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portola Hotel And Spa At Monterey Bay
Portola Hotel Monterey Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.