We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Monterey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay to your Saves list
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Portola Plaza, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for Two
Ranked #8 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersGold level
Vancouver BC
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Monterey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Location is great, Walking distance to Fisherman's Wharf. Rooms are very clean and spacious. Bed was quite comfortable.. The breakfast buffet was excellent and much better when items were ordered from the kitchen, the french toast was so good we had it on consecutive days.
The best activity around the hotel is to rent a bicycle and take the trail to Pacific Grove. This is the Mecca of bicycle rides. Tripadvisor has it right about the the best activities, Point Lobos,,17 Mile Drive, and the Carmel scenic walkway should not be missed..
The pool area is quite small and quite noisy, not a place to relax. I found the Wi-fi in the rooms quite spotty but much better in the lobby.. I would most certainly come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    700
    491
    193
    101
    44
See reviews for
409
527
56
261
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

We got a good deal which included breakfast. Wifi was not included in the price which was the only time we experienced this. Breakfast was good. We really enjoyed renting bikes and cycling round the penisnsula. Service was average, and the bed was uncomfortable, and parking expensive

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

This hotel is in a good location on a main street with many shops and resturants. It is also not far from fishermans wharf. The hotel itself was good with big comfortable rooms, a resturant and a great outdoor pool and hot tub. the beds were very comfortable and the hotel was very clean and spacious. parking was expensive though. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

My husband and I spent 4 days at the Portola, it was amazing. You can't ask for a better location. The room was great and the service was excellent. We have never experienced better massages in all our travels. You have to schedule a massage, it's a must. We love seafood, however we don't eat it often, but these 4 days were an exception. The food was Great! If you're thinking of visiting Monterey, you have to stay at the Portola.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

not near the aquarium but close to downtown and some local joints. we walked a lot from the lobby to our room. we must have been really, really far away. bartender didn't make a good mule was a waste of money. but can't beat the hotel for the money.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

We paid in excess of $300 for one night in this hotel. For that money one expects a decent room and that is what we got (big comfortable bed, pleasant bathroom etc.). However, we were very disappointed to find that pretty much all amenities cost extra, including those that are normally included as a matter of course. In particular, not included in the price of the room were: (1) in-room wifi; (2) breakfast; (3) parking ($17 a night extra!); and (iii) use of the spa (even just the steam room). The last of these three was particularly galling, given the name of the hotel.

The buffet breakfast, which we ended up paying for, was very nice though.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortolaHotelSpa, Manager at Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Hi Conwaysontou,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about the Portola Hotel & Spa on TripAdvisor. We were pleased to hear you had an opportunity to dine in Jacks Restaurant for breakfast and you enjoyed the brunch selections. We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback and we hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
Portola Hotel & Spa Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

We blocked out 20 rooms for a wedding party at The Portola Hotel & Spa, and had the best time ever. They completely exceeded our expectations in every way. From the beginning of the process to our guests arriving, the entire staff was great. Beyond the great service, the hotel is perfect in every way. It is close to all attractions in Monterey. You are directly across from the wharf. Almost all our guests had a view of the ocean. Plus the beds are extremely comfortable. We found the rooms to be spacious and quiet.

In addition, the spa is first class. We've been all over the world and can honestly say that the spa at Portola Hotel is one of the best we've experienced. We had several massages, facials, mani-pedi and all were top-notch.

We can't say enough good things about this hotel, all of our guests loved their stay and keep talking about how perfect it was. We'd highly recommend booking for a personal stay or large group - you can't go wrong. They impressed us two New Yorkers...that's saying a lot!

Room Tip: - Rooms on higher floor for better view. - Ask for a balcony room, if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay

Address: 2 Portola Plaza, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Monterey
#3 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#3 Business Hotel in Monterey
#3 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#7 Family Hotel in Monterey
#10 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Portola Hotel & Spa reflects the captivating spirit of a rich, historical setting surrounded by everything that the Monterey Peninsula has to offer. Your stay at the Portola Hotel begins with warm homemade chocolate chip cookies, provided at check-in. As the only Silver LEED(R)-EB certified hotel on the central coast of California, the hotel boasts 379 guestrooms and suites, an award winning full service day spa, two on site eateries, a craft brewery and more! Portola Hotel & Spa is one of California's premier family-friendly destinations offering easy access to Monterey's favorite attractions. The hotel is also pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portola Hotel And Spa At Monterey Bay
Portola Hotel Monterey Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.