We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel, made our family feel very welcome” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay to your Saves list
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Portola Plaza, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Special Offer
Breakfast for Two
Ranked #8 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersGold level
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very good hotel, made our family feel very welcome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

When we first arrived at the hotel, I was concerned that the rather grand surroundings may mean that our family (3 kids aged 8,6 and 1) may not be welcome. In reality, they could not have done more to make us welcome. The pirate treasure hunt was much enjoyed, as were the still-warm cookies! The staff in the restaurant in the evening were so friendly and accommodating that my husband and I were able to enjoy a delicious meal even with the kids in tow! The room we requested was accessible and perfectly met my disability requirements, and was still large enough for all of us to move about comfortably. The only thing that stops this from being an excellent review is that the breakfast served in the restaurant was incredibly busy and chaotic - too many people and nowhere near enough staff. Would certainly hope to visit again someday.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    672
    481
    188
    101
    41
See reviews for
403
505
56
252
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

My positive experience with the Portola Hotel began with booking. We need a wheel chair accessible room with a roll in shower. Typically, when booking on-line we cannot get the internet special, because there is no way to guarantee a roll in shower. So I called and was able to get the inter-net special pricing even over the phone. Big points in that alone. The room was small, but not too small for 4 of us. Very nicely decorated and the staff was fabulous. Very kind, helpful and welcoming. The hotel is smakc-dab in the middle of everything Monterey. We were able to park the car and walk wherever we wanted to go, which made our 3 days there very relaxing. Would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Hotel was recommended so I changed rez from the Munras Inn to this hotel. After staying at Inns and more cozy places on our trip up the coast this hotel seemed too large and impersonal. It was fine but the title "resort and spa" made it sound more special. We had a room with a view but it wasn't a spectacular one. They also add lots of fees and charge a lot for parking. They had a decent gym. Overall it was just ok, not bad but not memorable either. Next time we will choose a nice Inn and bypass the big hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Just came back from staying at this hotel. Great location but very COLD services. I really wondered why some of the review mentioned about the service before I got there and now I know. This hotel is totally catered for conference/banquet business rather than tour/pleasure. From the front desk to valet, all they see you as just another guest passing through. No attempt to help or make sure your request is met. very cookie cutter of I give you the service that is required but nothing beyond. I booked directly with the hotel site asked for higher floor quiet room if all possible due to extreme light sleeper. But I got 3rd floor where its facing the funny metal roof and people can walk through the area=no privacy and very noisy. Someone was walking the area 530am on both morning during our stay. I get its all based on the availability but no mention upon checking in, even after I requested this. I know it all depends on each employee but all of them seems very cold and it was just another job they are doing and nothing beyond. Which was very unfortunate and it showed in the overall hotel up keeping as well. Funny story about the valet guy who took our car, as we arrived we were going to meet with friends who are staying at Hotel Pacific and Hotel Abrego and we were wondering how to get there walking. The valet heard us, and went to the extend of hiding from us so he does not need to give us the direction and we heard him saying something like he is tired of people who does not know the way around. Funny ... I thought it was part of the job but I could be wrong.
I wont recommend this hotel unless you are part of conference and they can give you the higher floor of 5th or 6th. Great location but poor value.

Room Tip: Request higher floor 5th or 6th - Hotel has no AC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortolaHotelSpa, Manager at Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay, responded to this review, September 12, 2014
Hi sj O,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about the Portola Hotel & Spa on TripAdvisor. We value you as a guest and we want you to know that we greatly appreciate your feedback about your recent experience with the valet staff. We always make it a point to share guest feedback with our team to improve future guest experiences and it is from postings like your review that contribute to training efforts and team development. We do hope when you return to Monterey you will give the Portola Hotel & Spa another try.

Thank you again, for taking the time to post a review.

Sincerely,
Portola Hotel & Spa Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, Brazil
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

There is a whole block of the hotel that has NO ELEVATORS. My family had three rooms, and we had a 3 months old baby on a stroller. The front desk personnel was made aware of that, but failed to warn us that we were located on the block without elevator. When we requested to be changed to another block served with an elevator, the manager didn’t even bother to show up, just informed the only way to relocate us would be scattering us in three different floors, what would make the shifts to take care of the baby very difficult.
The rooms have no AC, and the noise from the street makes sleep difficult, since the windows have no noise isolation either. A very bad hotel experience.

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms on the 200 range. NO ELEVATORS, NOISY!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnforth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

An absolute pleasure. Excellent for kids. The pool was fantastic with a lovely warm hot tub (38c•) to relax after a long day out. Most of all the location is brilliant. Everywhere is within walking distance but also a free trolley bus service stops just across the street from the front door. This will take you all around town for free.
Yes, there are seagulls that scream but no more than you'd expect for a seaside resort. Rooms are spacious with coffee and fridge facilities. Beds are extremely comfortable with additional pillows for extra comfort. A perfect place for a short break.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

The room was nice and the hotel staff was very accommodating, but with no A/C in the rooms you have to keep the screen-door open to cool off the room. As a result you get to enjoy all of the other noisy guests at the hotel who also have their doors open. If you're coming from the east coast and want to go to bed early this can be an issue.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay

Address: 2 Portola Plaza, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Monterey
#3 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#4 Business Hotel in Monterey
#6 Family Hotel in Monterey
#8 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Portola Hotel & Spa reflects the captivating spirit of a rich, historical setting surrounded by everything that the Monterey Peninsula has to offer. Your stay at the Portola Hotel begins with warm homemade chocolate chip cookies, provided at check-in. As the only Silver LEED(R)-EB certified hotel on the central coast of California, the hotel boasts 379 guestrooms and suites, an award winning full service day spa, two on site eateries, a craft brewery and more! Portola Hotel & Spa is one of California's premier family-friendly destinations offering easy access to Monterey's favorite attractions. The hotel is also pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Otel, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portola Hotel And Spa At Monterey Bay
Portola Hotel Monterey Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.