We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Sur Marathon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay to your Saves list
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Portola Plaza, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 54 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Big Sur Marathon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Stayed here for Big Sur Marathon, perfect location. Very easy access to race Expo in the hotel, and just a short walk to catch the race bus on race morning. Concierge was outstanding, staff's customer service very accommodating.

Room Tip: Layout of the hotel a bit confusing, hard to find the room initially, many rooms quite a distance aw...
See more room tips
Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortolaHotelSpa, Manager at Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We were glad to hear the hotel location was a great fit for all of your Big Sur International Race Day needs and we hope you did well at the race!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely,
Portola Hotel & Spa Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    765
    526
    206
    105
    44
See reviews for
440
568
59
279
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oak Park, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

The hotel has a great location in Monterey especially if you are attending any car auctions. Stay away from the wharf is nothing but trashy and I would not recommend it at all even if the desk clerk gives you a free appetizer card. The rooms are nice and beds are very comfortable. The towels are plush and the amenities in the room are very nice too. The rooms are not air conditioned which usually is not an issue in Monterey but you should be aware. You can and do hear the seals barking by the marina which I happen to enjoy! The spa they have is nice too but it would be nice if they had more than one shower in the men's area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortolaHotelSpa, Manager at Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
MrsDouhy,

Thank you for taking the time to post a Portola Hotel & Spa review on TripAdvisor. We were delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and the sounds of the sea lions near the Monterey Wharf. We look forward to welcoming you back to Monterey soon!

Sincerely,
The Portola Hotel & Spa Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Stayed at The Portola recently and, despite the heat wave in Monterey, the hotel was comfortable - our room had a ceiling fan and windows opened to outside air. Easy access to restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortolaHotelSpa, Manager at Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
PoipuKapele,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review to the Portola Hotel & Spa TripAdvisor. We were thrilled to hear you had an opportunity to visit Monterey and enjoy the beautiful weather. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Peninsula soon!

Sincerely,
Portola Hotel & Spa Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

I LOVE the way the staff at this hotel is so accommodating, polite, helpful, all smiles and pleasant. It makes the stay worthy. My last check-in experience was nothing less than stellar customer service. I checked in a day later than what their records showed as my arrival date and no word as to who was to blame was uttered! I was taken care of in a cordial, professional and unfaltering manner by Chris (whom I incidentally gave a TA pin). His behavior was nothing but professional - as is everyone else who works there. I just had the pleasure of his service. Okay, okay - I know "over the top, right?" Nuff said.

Our room was comfortable, clean and the daily housekeeping service was efficient and appreciated. Always smiles - wherever you look.

I too was there for a conference - several days, the same smiling, helpful folks. What a great experience.

If you've never been to the Portola - try it, you'd like it. The cookie you get every evening (you need to ask for at the front desk) are warm and delicious. The hotel is centrally located - it should be it's part of the conference center. But it is within walking distance of so many places of interest.

The hotel's restaurant is non to shabby either. Quiet music (ala Frank Sinatra, et.al. era), dim lighting, friendly and efficient staff plus the food is pretty good too.

Been there, done that, will do it again - even if I'm not attending a conference.

Room Tip: Rooms away from Pacific Street which have traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California, United States
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

From check in with a yummy chocolate chip cookie, to the relaxing, heated pool and Jacuzzi, we had a great trip. The front desk staff are friendly and knowledgeable. This is a big property. Our first room was up the elevator a few floors and around a couple corners. We went back to the front desk and were easily moved across the courtyard to a beautiful 2nd story room right down from the elevator. The shutters opened to the courtyard and we enjoyed a drink while the cool breeze blew through the room. The one downside to that beautiful courtyard--drunk people yelling late at night. Even with the windows closed, for a couple of hours, there was screaming and cursing. Annoying, but not the hotel's fault. Parking is a little steep--$20 a night, or $17 if you self-park, but it's right on site and you can come in and out, so I guess for a beach town, not too bad. We loved our stay and plan to return in September.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCMO
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Pros:
1. Great location. Downtown Monterey on one side of the property, and a walking trail and the bay on the other side. You can take the walking trail all the way to Cannery Row and the Monterey Bay Aquarium.
2. Nice enough rooms. Nothing fancy, about like a slightly better than average Comfort Inn but nice enough.
3. Restaurants on property. We ate out but it would be nice to have the option to eat in the hotel.
4. Chocolate chip cookies upon check-in and daily if you ask for them.
5. Very friendly door and parking staff. They are happy to hold the door for you and say hi even if you are not using the valet service.
6. Convenient parking in a garage not too far from the main entrance.

Cons:
1. No free WIFI in the rooms. So strange that upscale hotels will charge for this basic service.
3. The pool is not at the main building and very small.

Monterey is a great place for a mini-vacation and I would definitely recommend staying at the Portola.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Bernardino, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

I recently attended a conference in Monterey and stayed at The Portola. The staff was excellent and I have nothing but praise for them. The hotel itself is a very different story.

The room was very hot all of the time and I heard this same theme from many other conference goers. There is no air conditioning (I understand that being at the water's edge) , but there is one ceiling fan. However it is placed at one end of the room and not in the middle. In our room when you had the fan on high speed, it makes ticking noise that kept you awake all night, so you had to turn it down to medium to make the noise go away. But doing that just kept the room hotter.

Heating ducts for other rooms are behind the walls and some people must have been cold and when the heat was on, the roar from the heater blowers came through loud and clear in the room, also making it difficult to sleep.

The sliding screen door to the private patio was broken and bent and would not close properly. The same was true for the sliding glass door. Almost impossible to lock it properly and secdurly. Both needed replacing.

Peters B's bar had good food and the price was acceptable, but the prices at Jacks' Restaurant are way to high. We had better food at much better pricing at Cibo Italian Restaurant directly across the street from the Portola.

Botton line is we have had much better rooms at half the price in many places. I realize that this is Monterey, but come on, it is very over priced.

Would NOT recommend this hotel ever.

Room Tip: I am not sure there are any good rooms
See more room tips
Green Features: They will change sheets abnd towles at your request or they will leave them at your request as well, to save water.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortolaHotelSpa, Manager at Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Ron C,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Portola Hotel & Spa on TripAdvisor. We value you as a guest and we want you to know that we greatly appreciate your feedback. We always make it a point to share guest feedback with our team to improve future guest experiences.

Thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Portola Hotel & Spa.

Sincerely,
Portola Hotel & Spa Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay

Address: 2 Portola Plaza, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Monterey
#2 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#3 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#5 Business Hotel in Monterey
#6 Family Hotel in Monterey
#8 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Portola Hotel & Spa reflects the captivating spirit of a rich, historical setting surrounded by everything that the Monterey Peninsula has to offer. Your stay at the Portola Hotel begins with warm homemade chocolate chip cookies, provided at check-in. As the only Silver LEED(R)-EB certified hotel on the central coast of California, the hotel boasts 379 guestrooms and suites, an award winning full service day spa, two on site eateries, a craft brewery and more! Portola Hotel & Spa is one of California's premier family-friendly destinations offering easy access to Monterey's favorite attractions. The hotel is also pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portola Hotel And Spa At Monterey Bay
Portola Hotel Monterey Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.