We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable, close to the pier, and a delicious breakfast bufett” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay

Save Saved
You added Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Portola Plaza, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for Two Package
Ranked #6 of 53 hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersGold level
Sandy, Utah
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very comfortable, close to the pier, and a delicious breakfast bufett”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

The Portola is a large conference type of hotel. We requested the handicap room because it was cheaper. I'm not sure if all of the rooms are as big as the handicap room, but ours had quite a bit of extra space. If your a coffee or tea drinker they had a Kuerig machine with all of the fixings. We asked if they had herb tea or hot chocolate which they didn't, but they were nice enough to bring to our room four of what they thought was herb tea. I appreciated the effort they made. Close to shopping, the pier/beach and pretty much anything else you might like. We paid extra for the breakfast buffet, which had a nice selection of fruit, cheese, pastries, juices, a great omelette bar, sausages, etc. Both my husband and I said we'd love to stay here again. I would whole heartedly recommend it!l

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,291 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    594
    416
    151
    92
    38
See reviews for
352
438
49
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Excellent hotel, great location and facilities and the room was fantastic. All of the staff we spoke to to ere helpful and friendly but the Reception / Front desk staff deserve a special mention, rally went out of their way to make sure we had a great stay

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

The hotel room was updated, newly painted and decorated. The bathroom was beautiful, with tile and marble and glass. The staff was responsive (our coffee pot didn't work, and was quickly fixed) and polite. But our room, 353, was over a brew pub with the patio for the pub right below our balcony, so noisy until 11pm. I did inquire about getting another room, which the staff was happy to look into. We didn't move as the other room was too far away and it the patio scene died down due to weather. Still, only take that location if you are a heavy sleeper.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms near the brew pub.
See more room tips
Green Features: They have signs around the room on how to save water on sheets, towels etc.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Love this place. Nice linens, wonderful amenities and great location. How much more can you ask for? Oh, and to top it off, the food is excellent whether you want a bar type menu or the dining room.
Staff is accommodating and attentive. I will be going back for a longer stay this time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Stayed in room 444 it didn't have the greatest view but we were thrilled with the Keurig selections and the toiletries were nice! They have the fancy waters on the desk, but really should just switch those out for Kirkland brand and give it out as complimentary waters instead of $4.00 a bottle. The pool was a bit far from our room but was nice and warm, tiny but nobody was using it when we were there so it didn't matter. If you want to come here for the spa and pool ask for a room near those facilities. The two restaurants were great, Peter B's was energetic and fun to hangout casually as they had a lot of TV's with sports going at once. Jacks was a bit fancier but the prices were fair the customer service from check in to check out was fabulous. The location is great we walked to the Aquarium, it was about a mile I would say but a gorgeous scenic walk. Great value, for the location!

Room Tip: ask for an upgrade if they have availability i am sure they would accomodate
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London,UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We just stopped here for one night whilst driving the pacific highway.
Arrived early and they let us check in early. We stayed with a travelzoo offer of breakfast (with mimosas - but we were driving so did not try!) breakfast choice was great.
The rooms are nicely furnished and the bathroom is lovely, the towels are wonderful and soft.

The hotel has a 'pub' which had free popcorn and a good choice of beers.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Our satisfaction with this hotel decreased the further we stepped from the impressive entrance. The rooms are decent but the layout is very odd. It is necessary to walk elsewhere to the pool, and official website pics of the pool area are misleading in my opinion. It is small, closed-in, and not inviting. I do not think this is a bad hotel, but it is an odd mix of upscale and economy. I personally would recommend others either go to a true luxury hotel or save the cash and go to a discount chain.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay

Also Known As:
Portola Hotel And Spa At Monterey Bay
Portola Hotel Monterey
Portola Hotel Monterey Bay
Address: 2 Portola Plaza, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Monterey
#6 Family Hotel in Monterey
#6 Business Hotel in Monterey
#9 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portola Hotel & Spa is located on the waterfront Monterey. Just steps away from historic Fisherman’s Wharf and the Monterey Bay, the hotel offers 379 nautically inspired guest rooms and suites, two onsite eateries, a full service day spa and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.